We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Macal River Camp - great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Our family stayed at Chaa Creek's Macal River Camp for 2 nights. Beautiful place, great value! The river camp was actually further from the main resort that we thought, based on the website information, but it's a nice 10 minute walk along the river on a jungle trail. Definitely worth the walk to use the beautiful resort pool! We also didn't realize that we would eat our breakfast/dinners at the camp rather than the resort, which worked out fine since we wouldn't want to walk back to our cabin in the dark. The meals at the camp were prepared by the docent couple, Dosio and Francella and the food was fantastic! Plenty of birds/wildlife at the camp. A troop of howler monkeys spent the night in the tree over our cabin. We didn't get much sleep that night but now we have a great story to tell. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lurch5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

708 - 714 of 1,263 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

I visted the 7th of June in room number 17 and the experience was breath taking loved every part of my stay there,the tours ,relaxing at the pool and the service was very very excellent i didnt wanted to leave. Thanks for such a great family time it was eveything i needed. Will visit again soon. Ms. Smith and Mr. Arnold.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heavenlymarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My husband and I started our honeymoon vacation with a 3 night stay at The Lodge at Chaa Creek. I could not believe how beautiful this resort in the rainforest was. The room we stayed in was a wonderful retreat, despite the no air-conditioning. The fans sufficed :) The staff was incredible. Everyone was knowledgeable about anything and everything, they were very helpful and professional. The salt water pool was beautiful and felt amazing. The food was excellent. We wished we could have stayed longer, and we long to go back! Thank you Chaa Creek - we LOVED our experience entirely. :)

Room Tip: We were upgraded to the Garden Suite. It was the perfect location, slightly away from others and sha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

The staff at Chaa Creek are wonderful, actually everything about our trip was outstanding. Miguel who picked us up at the airport and took us on one of our day excursions was
excellent. We stayed in the
macal cottage, it suited us very well. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Awesome location. Could of stayed longer. If you do the ATM tour, ask for Hugh as your guide. Awesome experience. Canoe into town and hike the trails. Get up early. There are many birds on site and we heard howler monkeys everyday. Indoor showers were great but we also had an outdoor shower. Loved it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wade B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

From the time we got picked up at the airport to the day we left we felt very fortunate to have planned a trip to this little slice of Heaven !
It is a Eco Lodge that is run very well !
The food was over the top good...using local ingredients!
Our trips off property all went smooth and never had a worried moment.
Like a trip to Tikal was a wonderful experience to see the Mayan Ruins...a must!
Cheers to you all!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paradise142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This was our third trip to Chaa Creek and we have never been dissapointed. It is a stunning place and meticulously taken care of. The staff are friendly, prompt and there to help. We stay in the casitas at the Macal River Camp for a more rustic experience. The host and his family are wonderful. They provide great food and anything else you need to make your experience more comfortable. The restaurant and pool are first class. I recommend Chaa Creek to anyone looking for a great Rainforst Experience!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
2.1 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#3 of 14 in San Ignacio
857 reviews
0.7 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
649 reviews
9.4 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
146 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
424 reviews
7.6 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#3 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Chaa Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Chaa Creek

Address: Macal River, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#2 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Spa Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range: £354 - £475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Chaa Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guests say they appreciate Chaa Creek’s eco-friendly blend of pristine nature and a casually luxurious built environment, and enjoy the flexibility and choice we offer in accommodations, amenities, meals, tours and expeditions. Our wide range of accommodations allow guests to select lodgings that range from the rustic charm of the Macal River Camp to the unparalleled luxury of the new Ix Chel Luxury Rainforest Villas, whose stunning views, private Jacuzzis, plunge pools and amenities such as the attention of a personal butler have set new standards for excellence in a pristine natural environment. In addition, our infrastructure and nationwide network of colleagues enable us to offer a range of comprehensive, hassle-free tours and all-inclusive Belize vacation packages that cater to all ages, interests and levels of fitness. For example, our close relationships with premier Belizean reef and island resorts at Ambergris Caye, Placencia and other Caribbean vacation spots allow us ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Lodge at Chaa Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Chaa Creek Hotel San Ignacio
Hotel At Chaa Creek
At Chaa Creek Hotel
Chaa Creek
The Lodge At Chaa Creek Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing