We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eco-luxury and Relaxation in Every Detail”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Chaa Creek is nearly perfect. The location of the resort is one of the most beautiful in Belize and the organization runs tightly with every detail considered and every interaction easy and pleasant. The owners and staff take care to balance authentic luxury (without pretense) and outdoor adventure. Do yourself a favor and stay at Chaa Creek to recharge and reconnect with the world.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Lane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

670 - 676 of 1,243 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights at this resort. The rooms were so pretty and comfortable. We are a family of 5 and we had plenty of space in a two story cabin. We enjoyed hiking on the property and photographing the flowers and wildlife. There were howler monkeys in the mango tree right outside our door that we loved watching. The staff was so friendly and helpful.
The only thing that wasn't great was the food. It was all good, but for the price, it should have been GREAT. Luckily, it's an easy drive to town, and everything we ate there was really good.

Room Tip: If you have a big family, ask for villa number 22. The monkeys hang out right outside the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexasTravelGirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We spent five nights at the Lodge at Chaa Creek and would definitely recommend it. The setting is beautiful, the rooms are large and comfortable, and the staff is helpful and super friendly. Absolutely everyone who works there seemed genuinely concerned about making us happy. There is a nice balance between having plenty to do and being in a nice place to just relax and enjoy. The lodge offers a number of excursions such as canoeing, hiking, and touring Mayan archeological sites; all the ones we did exceeded our expectations. The guides were very informative and helpful. Getting to know them was a bonus. The trip to Tikal, the Mayan city over the Guatemala border, is not to be missed. There is also a nice pool, and guests can take canoes on the river with or without a guide.

The restaurant offers a different menu every night, with fresh bread, soup, salad, a choice of entree and dessert. The staff is attentive, and they were happy to oblige special requests.

We were on a multi-generational trip that included my 12-year old son and my 73-year old mother, and there was something for everyone. We all loved it and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

While traveling in Belize with a group, we held a meeting at The Lodge of Chaa creek. The conference room was nicely appointed, but a bit warm. Though there was great ventilation, I can't imagine having to meet or a day when it was warmer. We met in the a.m. through noon. The food in the restaurant was awesome! We had chicken and veggie burritos! The dessert was lemon merengue and everyone loved it! Some of us had spa service and those were great also!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank AkademiksTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We (my husband, 8 yr old son and I) stayed three nights at Chaa Creek in July. From first arrival, the place and people exceeded our expectations. We stayed in one of the cottages (#17). It was convenient to the pool and restaurant. The room was spacious with a lovely bath and outdoor shower. We loved sitting in the hammocks on the porch, especially after a busy day touring.

The people and service were exceptional -very warm, hospitable. We enjoyed every tour (did Mayan ruins, cave tubing and iguana farm). Everyone made sure we had everything we needed. The staff at Chaa Creek are amazing!! We also enjoyed the onsite activities - wonderful pool, night creatures walk, morning bird watching. There is so much to do at the resort which I think is a big plus. Make sure to allow time to enjoy all that the resort has to offer. The restaurant served delicious food, we loved the breakfasts with great coffee!

I could go on...I did a lot of research before I choose Chaa Creek for our inland stay in Belize. (Afterwards we spent time on Ambergris Caye). Read tons of reviews etc. Chaa Creek has a lot of excellent reviews and the reviews are right on! Chaa Creek has done an amazing job creating a place where you are pampered with resort comforts in the midst of unspoilt rainforest and in complete harmony with the surroundings.

One more thing...being in the rainforest I expected bugs. Yet, we were not bothered/bitten by bugs at all. Never used insect repellent. The birds took care of the bugs! I also was nervous about big spiders. ( I did not participate in the night creature walk, but my husband and son did and loved it). I never saw a spider and we did not have any bugs in our room. I would not have been surprised if I did, it is the rainforest! But I was glad that I did not :)

I highly recommend Chaa Creek! It was a memorable time for our family.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Squirl828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The cabins are absolutely beautiful, food was delicious, and the staff was warm and thoughtful. Perfect if you love nature. Butterfly preserves, canoeing, waterfalls and the Tikal ruins nearby. Our next hotel paled in comparison.

Room Tip: I loved the tree top suite-- especially perfect if you are a jacuzzi lover.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Grace H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Staying at Chaa Creek was like living with all the birds of the jungle and whatever else is in there in the middle of the night. It was a wonderful experience and I loved it. The spa was so relaxing and looking out at the view while getting a manicure was heavenly and then the facial was more than expected, such great treatment. The room was spectacular and the view off the deck even more amazing. I am definitely going back and staying longer next time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
2.1 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#3 of 14 in San Ignacio
851 reviews
0.7 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
641 reviews
9.4 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
143 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
409 reviews
1 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Chaa Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Chaa Creek

Address: Macal River, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#2 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Spa Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range: £368 - £493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Chaa Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guests say they appreciate Chaa Creek’s eco-friendly blend of pristine nature and a casually luxurious built environment, and enjoy the flexibility and choice we offer in accommodations, amenities, meals, tours and expeditions. Our wide range of accommodations allow guests to select lodgings that range from the rustic charm of the Macal River Camp to the unparalleled luxury of the new Ix Chel Luxury Rainforest Villas, whose stunning views, private Jacuzzis, plunge pools and amenities such as the attention of a personal butler have set new standards for excellence in a pristine natural environment. In addition, our infrastructure and nationwide network of colleagues enable us to offer a range of comprehensive, hassle-free tours and all-inclusive Belize vacation packages that cater to all ages, interests and levels of fitness. For example, our close relationships with premier Belizean reef and island resorts at Ambergris Caye, Placencia and other Caribbean vacation spots allow us ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your The Lodge at Chaa Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Chaa Creek Hotel San Ignacio
Hotel At Chaa Creek
At Chaa Creek Hotel
Chaa Creek
The Lodge At Chaa Creek Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing