We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything but..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
Ranked #2 of 33 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Everything but..”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I can't say how much I loved my time at Cha Creek. Everyone was more than willing to help you and I almost felt like you got to know everyone who worked there. (In a good way) My only complaint and I know it's jungle and I should expect bugs. We stayed in the Spa Cabin room 24. Why not put bug nets over all the beds? The health department gives them out for free! Even if its just for the psyche. Well be back!With BUGNETS!

Room Tip: 24! Air conditioner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avitalmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    980
    139
    40
    11
    7
See reviews for
404
497
32
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We recently returned from a two week trip to Belize and I can honestly say that our week stay at the Lodge at Chaa Creek was our highlight. If I could give this place 6 stars I would. On arrival you notice the immaculate grounds, beautiful cottages and inviting infinity pool that lies in the center of the grounds. But make no mistake about it, this place starts with the the most gracious of hosts Mick, Lucy and their daughter Brynie whose passion for their property and commitment to their staff transcends the already rave reviews of this blissful property. You're not here long before you realize you are "Someplace Special. On property we saw Howler monkeys, Toucan's, tarantula's, and even an endangered Black Hawk Eagle. Visited the butterfly farm, did morning bird watching, scenic horse back riding and a creatures of the night tour. But it doesn't end there. Their food is marvelous from their fresh fruit and vegetables grown on property to their homemade coconut yogurt to creative and flavorful evening dinners beaming with local flavors. Even my wife who is in the hotel and food industry in SF was very impressed and gave you guys an A+ for food and service. But what sets this place apart is their staff. I can't say enough about their amazing staff. From Alice, Rosa & Anna Maria who greeted us warmly each morning to Shenny and Jesmin aka the "Awesome Girls" to all their warm and knowledgable guides: Whether it was Miguel who took us to Xunantunich, Hugh's passion at the amazing ATM, Robert's warm smile, wit and playfulness won the family over as we zip lined through the jungle or Selwin on the creature of the night tour; they were all very engaging and eager to share their knowledge of local Mayan history and culture while wearing warm genuine smile.

Chaa Creek, the Blaney's "Thank you" from the bottom of our heart for making our stay so memorable and special. We look forward to seeing you all again
~The Blaney's

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tammyb1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belize Cayes, Belize
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Chaa Creek is the most beautiful place, stunning views, excellent facilities, marvellous food, fascinating wildlife and exciting excursions. But the most outstanding feature is the staff. All are friendly, happy, helpful and knowledgeable. We were greeted each breakfast time by the smiling faces of Rosana, Alice and Maria. They couldn't have been more helpful. Misael catered for our every need, especially meals by the pool. The highlight was our last evening meal. Misael had discovered that it was our 39th wedding anniversary. He wanted to do something special so passed on the message. Denise arranged an outside table in front of the changing colours illuminating the waterfall from the infinity pool. Flowers, torches and candles surrounded us. Rosana had told the chef what we liked and the meal was superb. The chef is a genius. Thank you all so much. Margaret and Andy
PS Eric was an up and coming star - first met when carrying laundry - acted as wildlife guide helping me find iguanas and toucans etc + mended the safe

Room Tip: jungle noises amazing - monkeys, insects, birds rooms nearer bar/restaurant have good wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy_achra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

let me address some of the complainers out there:
BUGS? YES "you're in the JUNGLE" (as guns & roses said)
DIRT ROAD? YES you are in BELIZE, they only have 4 main paved roads in the whole country
NO PHONE/TV? this is an eco lodge in the jungle, stay home and watch TV (whoever posted that one is an idiot)
STAFF? during my stay they were the BEST, knew us by name, went out of their way to provide anything needed. Owners live there and are very hands on
PRICE? do your homework if you don't want sticker shock because you are cheap, you get what you pay for and everything they provide is TOP NOTCH (food, rooms, tours)

We stayed in the Orchard Villa (4 of us), which can probably sleep 8
The mango tree outside our front door attracted howler monkeys for lunch/dinner (very cool)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigwalt07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Magical. No electricity but kerosene lamps are lit in your cabin every night. The best food I had the entire time I was in Belize, shared with other campers. Epic bon fire nights. Like summer camp for adults with alcohol. Howler monkeys, scorpions, wolf spiders, stories to tell...

Room Tip: Camp Casitas! Any cabin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mashtonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Let me start by saying that I wanted to give the overall visit to Chaa Creek a 3 but the bar staff and spa totally redeemed this trip so I bumped it up to a 4. I will also admit that the facilities and staff are excellent and the pictures are accurate, BUT if you are looking for a fun girls trip and are city girls, you probably shouldn't come here.

The problem was that we had just left a slice of heaven called Victoria House in Ambergris Caye and just wasn't expecting what a departure the Chaa Creek experience would be (mostly not the fault of the resort itself). Main issues: lack of A/C, no wifi in rooms, bugs and other critters everywhere. Now granted, I know it's an eco-resort which explains the no A/C but it was really, really hot, sticky and humid and we just couldn't get cool enough to relax. The bugs I also get b/c we're in the middle of the jungle but we seemed to have more bugs than other rooms.

The good: The bar staff totally saved our evenings! Marcos, Jesus and Saul took pity on us city girls and made sure to entertain us with a lesson on their homemade rum infused drinks and shots on fire. Also, the bar had wifi so it became our evening sanctuary. The pool is pretty awesome admittedly and was a great way to cool down. But the best thing about Chaa Creek by far is its Spa. It's a bit of a hike up from the resort but gives you an awesome view of the jungle tree tops and it's high up enough for a nice breeze. We loved it so much that we spent the better part of 2 days there. And prices were not bad considering the quality of the treatments.

Net/net, if you know what you're getting yourself into and don't mind the heat, humidity and bugs and happen to be traveling as a family or couple, Chaa is probably what everyone says. If you're looking for a fun girls trip, this isn't it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jinnster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My family of 5 just got back from a wonderful stay at Chaa Creek. We only had 3 nights there and I wished we had planned on more. We were greeted by Ricky at the airport and he was with us for our stay. My family loved that we got a chance to get to know him and what a gem he is! He was full of knowledge every corner we took. He would pull over and pluck a plant from the jungle to teach us about it. The Lodge has your travel experience figured out! The concierge took care of all our last minute changes. The horseback riding trip was beautiful and it was nice to get them running. Allan was very helpful with the horses, friendly, and knowledgable . Marco, Saul, And Abrahim entertained my kids with jokes and riddles while my husband and I enjoyed a drink after dinner. The property is beautiful and so well maintained.
I was concerned about the a/c or lack of a/c, as we are from Texas and a/c is a must. Yes, it was warm, we were very sweaty from the daily activities and it would have been nice to cool down, but it was no way unbearable as other reviews have stated. We had fans and there are nice breezes through the villas. If you go outside the Summer months, I'm sure it'd be very nice. We had a family of Toucans in the tree outside our rooms, there were all sorts of things to discover on the night crawler tour, we saw monkeys - it was such a great experience!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ann o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
2.1 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
0.7 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
9.4 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
3.2 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 13 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Chaa Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Chaa Creek

Property: The Lodge at Chaa Creek
Address: Macal River, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Chaa Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 30 years Chaa Creek has been providing a comfortable base for exciting inland adventures for thousands of visitors, from explorers, scientists, filmmakers, research groups, students and people of all ages looking for intellectual and physical stimulation in Belize's vibrant rainforest - the heartland of the Maya. We also realise that any rewarding adventure is enhanced by comfortable accommodations and excellent food. Our 23 palm thatched cottage rooms ensure a good night's sleep and delightful mornings accompanied by the sing song of a rainforest waking up, and guests can choose a Complete Garden Suite, an Orchard and Spa Villa, Macal Cottage or Tree Top Suite, all equipped with a Jacuzzi for even extra comfort. As one example, under our Chaa Creek Cares program, 10% of all accommodation revenue goes straight into environmental and social programs, and in supporting Green and community groups. We sleep better, and you will too, knowing that your stay at Chaa Creek has a positive effect on Belize and our very special pristine natural environment. Families share some of life's most cherished moments - and memories - during a Belize family vacation. And to guarantee a family vacation that everyone will enjoy, multi award winning Chaa Creek is the only Belize destination you'll need. Our affordable, all inclusive family friendly adventure holidays are absolutely stress free and bring everyone closer together through sharing a variety of amazing adventures along with quiet moments to reconnect - all in a stunning rainforest setting. Nature and romance bloom year round in the stunning beauty of Belize. Our all-inclusive romantic vacation packages allow lovers of all ages to immerse themselves in nature and each other. An exquisite rainforest filled with colourful tropical birds, canoe trips down the meandering Macal river with the misty Maya mountains in the background, unwinding together in your private Jacuzzi surrounded by a tropical garden, couples massages, candlelit dinners and sharing once-in-a-lifetime experiences create the perfect conditions for love to flower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Lodge at Chaa Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Chaa Creek Hotel San Ignacio
Hotel At Chaa Creek
At Chaa Creek Hotel
Chaa Creek
The Lodge At Chaa Creek Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing