We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Junge Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
Ranked #2 of 31 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Junge Paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2009

What an amazing place. It is worth the two hour transfer from the airport. The hotel sent a private car for us. Our driver was there waiting when we arrived and he was very friendly and informative. We travelled with our children (6 and 8)

The weather was hot but a wonderful change from 44 degrees and raining.

The staff at check in were great--so friendly. They walked us to the bar area for lunch and showed us our room. We stayed in a cottage and it was simple but elegant . There was no a/c in the cottages or anywhere but the ceiling fans helped at night. The outdoor shower was more refereshing than showering inside plus hearing the birds was wonderful. THe entire hotel is sumbersed in the jungle without disrupting it. Beautiful trails lit up at night with small lanterns.

Nature sounds were abounding thorughout our stay. We saw the spoder monkeys, amazing birds, iguanas and night creep crawlers. They even gave us butterfly cocoons that would hatch on our last day for us to set free.

Amir at the bar was exceptional and fun to talk to . Felt like the staff made efforts to get know us and were always more than helpful.

There were so many ctivities to choose from we could not do them all in our three night stay. We went to see the local ruins which were fabulous. Some are still not excavated and our guide was so well educated on the Mayans, etc jsut perfect . Our entire family loved it!

The resort offers a package that includes all meals, activities, even the horseback riding and two tours. We also went tour which involved kayaking in caves which was incredible.

The food was fresh and tasty and offered plenty of choice. They offered pretty much anything to our children or small portions of the adult meals offered.

We were pleasanlty surprised that they had installed a fsalt water pool in December. We spent late afternoons just hanging out. It was so refreshing and peaceful!

We canoed upstream to the botanical gardens nearby.

This resort has somehting for everyone! My kids loved it and want to go back.l They even commented on how much thye liked the service there compared to our next hotel on Ambergis Caye.
I
t was awe inspiring. We loved it. Also loved Belize and its people. I see why so many American give up corporate America to live in a true paradise!

If you are going to explore the local town it is a bit of a hike by cab and pricey. The hotel offers canoes into paddle to town which takes several hours . They will pick you up and bring you back . The cab fare is high but they will let you go on their service truck if you are up for sitting in a cargo vehicle with the staff. We did not go into town and enjoed our two tours and the all the property had to offer.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    971
    139
    40
    11
    7
See reviews for
402
492
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2009

My son and I stayed at the camp. The staff could not have been nicer, the food was great, and the price was definitely right. It was also nice having access to the facilities at Chaa Creek for much less. But it was too much like camping for me. Serious gastro problems set in for me within a day of checking in (which I had not experienced at the other resort we stayed at - I advise not listening to their claim that the water is potable), and it was absolute misery having to run all the way up the hill to the bathrooms constantly, especially in the middle of the night. They refused to accomodate my request to move to the resort because they were full, and I finally ended up eating the cost of the room and moving elsewhere. When I told the staff at the resort about my gastro problems, their only advice was that I could buy Kaopectate at the gift shop.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JBlake015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
295 reviews
292 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2009

The Lodge at Chaa Creek - located in a rainforest in W Belize, close to the Guatemalan border - is one of the best hotel experiences we have had and we were sorry to leave after our three night stay. The current property is the evolution of a 20 year + project of its British-American owners – originally a rooming house for backpackers, it has morphed into a luxurious and environmentally sensitive complex, with a large pool, beautiful rooms and a range of activity options: guided walks in the forest, butterflies, visits to nearby Maya sites, river trips etc.

Our spacious room was half of a casita, elegant and well equipped (shower only and - thankfully - no TV). We had an oversized deck looking onto the river and the rainforest, with nothing else in view. But only 50 metres away there is a well stocked bar and an atmospheric restaurant (with a limited but adequate menu based essentially on locally sourced products). The staff are uniformly friendly and competent and the general ambience is one of calm excellence and unforced hospitality.

The only irritant was the painfully slow internet service (there is free central WiFi and two guest pcs) – but, hey, we’re in the jungle!

We took only the half day forest tour. There are some major Mayan sites which can be visited in day trips (Tikal marginal for this, in our view), but we see The Lodge less as a base and more as a destination in which to wind down.

The Lodge is no longer low-budget but neither is it a Four Seasons and it might not appeal to travellers who require 24 hour room service or need to have their bags unpacked by a butler. But we thought it a good balance between these extremes.

The Lodge is an exceptional property, world class, and we strongly recommend it to all travellers, especially honeymooners and families with children.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globaltraveller200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
258 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2009

We just got back from a 4 Night Trip to Chaa Creek (4/2 to 4/6) with our two children (ages 5 and 11) and loved the location and rooms. We stayed the first 2 nights in a Garden Jacuzzi and Garden Suite ( whole unit) which was very impressive. Tastefully decorated, screened in, no locks as mentioned in other reviews - did remind us a little bit of our stay in South Africa many years ago. We had this iguana living "next" to us, a great place if you do love nature. The last 2 nights we did stay in # 1 with great views and a wonderful deck. We loved the hammock and the peacefulness of the resort, being remote but still accessible for activities.

Having travelled extensively to many beautiful and luxurious places we had however extremely mixed feelings about the tours: also we did enjoy all of them (TIKAL, ATM - an ABSOLUTE highlight for me and my son, especially going with our wonderful guide Emilio Gomaz who has been leading several TV teams) we were very unhappy with the steep mark up and additional "inflated" charges for the CHAA Creek tours.

Not only would we pay for the tour the tour prices (e.g. TIKAL $ 275) we were charged "imaginary" fees which did not actually apply: border crossing for a party of 4 x $ 65= US $ 260.00 whilst there was actually no border crossing fee for the kids (they still charged US $ 65/kid) and the "real" Visa fee is only US $ 15.00/ adult, add inflated fees for the crossing of the car of $ 25.00, $ 40.00 for a very basic lunch in Guatemala etc

Same mark ups were built into all their tours like Barton Creek CAVE which was okay but absolutely not worth the money spend - besides US $ 145.00 for the tour you are charged US $ 25.00 add park entrance fees (x 4) although kids are not paying entrance fees and adults are charged US $ 10.00 only instead of charged US $ 25 . We were disappointed with the fact being told these are entrance fees which they clearly were not. Even after addressing the issue the management was relunctant in adjusting them to the actually paid entrance fees. We strongly feel that they should increase the cost of the packages if CHAA Expeditions feels to do so and take the risk of not being positioned competitively with other tour operators in the area. Inflating fees and charging not actual "entrance" and/or cross border and VISA fees did make us feel like been taken for a ride and not a good reflection of a high-end resort.

Our trip to Tikal was very interesting also our guide was not really motivated in walking us around to the many different sites explaining a lot of detail - part of the reason could have been being Saturday (and he wanted to be back with his family) and it being very hot - about 103 degrees. He lead us to the main temple site allowing us some time there by ourselves but seemed to be in an extreme rush to get back after we had spent about 3 hours there.
The CHAA Creek website did promote Kids under 5 eating for free ~ however, upon check out all meals were charged but they were adjusted after complaining.

We did enjoy the location and the beautiful and tastefully decorated rooms; overall service was friendly and professional, the restaurant food was good ( not outstanding) and service attentive. They added a new beautiful pool which does have certain safety issues ~ they obviously do know about it and they are working on improving the safety. We liked the place and were glad to have stayed there but wished the tour costs would be more reasonable and fair.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel2Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2009

We just got back from a 4 Night Trip to Chaa Creek (4/5 to 4/9) with our two children (ages 10 and 11) and absolutely loved the vacation. If you want an adventure vacation with a luxury and service then this place is it. This is our second time to Belize and the first trip was on a cruise.

Upon entering the property we were treated very warmly and had our bags wisked away to our room. We had Tree Top Suite #9 over looking the river. The room (luxury hut) is very spacious with no locks, no windows, and a hot tub on the outside deck. They do have a safe in every room so valuables and money are no problem. The service is great and the tour guides are the best in the business. Our trip to Tikal had Antonio as our guide. He has been sharing his knowledge of the area for over 20 years and it showed. Our tour was well planned and he was very informative on the excursion. Next we had Joe from the beginning of the trip (Belize Zoo) and for our half day trip to the "Stone Lady". He is absolutely great and extremely dedicated to providing background on the Maya people and culture. Next, we had Franciso for our tour of the ATM cave and he also was the best in the business for safely exploring a deep and wet cave. As a matter of fact, Andrew Zimern from the Travel Channel was in town and Franciso was his guide to the ATM cave. I can't wait to see the trip on TV sometime later this year. The ATM cave is a true Indiana Jones adventure crossing deep jungle, three river crossings and treking through a deep cave. Finally, our guide Robert topped off the trip with horseback rides to the Maya Farm and the Ruins on the property. He is very good with kids and provided safe and fun horseback rides. All of our trips were very early in the morning so this place is best for families that do not mind getting up early. The Tikal trip left at 7:15AM. All and all it was a very memorable trip of the Mayan area.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAGICK_HEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2009

My friend and I just returned from a week-long stay at the Chaa Creek Camp Casitas. In short, it was absolutely breathtaking. Both of us would return in a heartbeat! In the evening lanterns are lit, both in your room and scattered throughout the tiny jungle village, creating an otherworldly, almost magical atmosphere. The food is traditional, plentiful, and served with smiles... the dining area turned out to be a great meeting spot with other travelers from all over the world. Birds sang and monkeys roared, frogs offered an evening serenade and toucans a morning performance. The walk is not long through the jungle and along the medicine trail to the rest of the lodge, where the pool offers a wonderful respite to the afternoon heat. Trips are convenient and professionally coordinated. Belize is not for the faint of heart: tarantulas share the space, as do other assorted critters -- but it is their home too, and Chaa Creek has honored the land, animals and environment ethically and beautifully. Phenomenal resort -- we'll most definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruja13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
141 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2009

My wife and I spent three nights at The Lodge at Chaa Creek in mid-March of 2009. Except for one key area (discussed later), we had a wonderful stay and found the lodge to be better than expected. The grounds are very lovely, well kept, and quite evocative of the jungle world. The various cottages are well-separated and guests enjoy a quiet environment for the most part. The pool can get a bit noisy when children are around making relaxation quite difficult. We suggest that adults-only groups not visit around Spring Break!

Our room, #19, was fantastic. Very large with high ceilings and well ventilated with screens (there are no glass windows or air conditioning but we were very cool in the evening). The bathroom was gigantic with a double walk-in shower. We also had private patio off the bathroom with an outdoor shower. The décor of the entire suite was very Central American and lovely.

There are plenty of activities to keep one busy. We took the all-day tour to Tikal in Guatemala. This tour is a must. We also took the downstream canoe trip to San Ignacio. A great paddling trip and you get picked in town when you’re done. The spa at Chaa Creek was exquisite. Our treatments were exceptional and the spa environment is very nice.

We were somewhat disappointed with the food and beverage service. The dining and drinking environments are very nice but the food was inconsistent, ranging from excellent to very poor and everything in between. We seemed to have better luck with the fish and chicken dishes and not such good luck with lamb and pork. As far as the adult beverages are concerned, they were very very weak. Even when asking the bartender for a double shot in our drinks they were skimping. We noticed, as did others, that the bartenders would usually pour the liquor with their backs to the customer, hiding the process. Many of us suspect that the bartenders are under orders from management to under-pour the drinks.

Anyway, we still recommend Chaa Creek. Great facility and great location. By the way, the Concierge was fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
2.1 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.7 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
9.4 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
7.6 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Chaa Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Chaa Creek

Property: The Lodge at Chaa Creek
Address: Macal River, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Chaa Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 30 years Chaa Creek has been providing a comfortable base for exciting inland adventures for thousands of visitors, from explorers, scientists, filmmakers, research groups, students and people of all ages looking for intellectual and physical stimulation in Belize's vibrant rainforest - the heartland of the Maya. We also realise that any rewarding adventure is enhanced by comfortable accommodations and excellent food. Our 23 palm thatched cottage rooms ensure a good night's sleep and delightful mornings accompanied by the sing song of a rainforest waking up, and guests can choose a Complete Garden Suite, an Orchard and Spa Villa, Macal Cottage or Tree Top Suite, all equipped with a Jacuzzi for even extra comfort. As one example, under our Chaa Creek Cares program, 10% of all accommodation revenue goes straight into environmental and social programs, and in supporting Green and community groups. We sleep better, and you will too, knowing that your stay at Chaa Creek has a positive effect on Belize and our very special pristine natural environment. Families share some of life's most cherished moments - and memories - during a Belize family vacation. And to guarantee a family vacation that everyone will enjoy, multi award winning Chaa Creek is the only Belize destination you'll need. Our affordable, all inclusive family friendly adventure holidays are absolutely stress free and bring everyone closer together through sharing a variety of amazing adventures along with quiet moments to reconnect - all in a stunning rainforest setting. Nature and romance bloom year round in the stunning beauty of Belize. Our all-inclusive romantic vacation packages allow lovers of all ages to immerse themselves in nature and each other. An exquisite rainforest filled with colourful tropical birds, canoe trips down the meandering Macal river with the misty Maya mountains in the background, unwinding together in your private Jacuzzi surrounded by a tropical garden, couples massages, candlelit dinners and sharing once-in-a-lifetime experiences create the perfect conditions for love to flower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Lodge at Chaa Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Chaa Creek Hotel San Ignacio
Hotel At Chaa Creek
At Chaa Creek Hotel
Chaa Creek
The Lodge At Chaa Creek Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing