We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene, Beautiful, and Fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
Ranked #2 of 34 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Tx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Serene, Beautiful, and Fun”
Reviewed 29 April 2009

My husband & I spent a week at Chaa Creek and can't wait to return. It is worth the two hour drive into the interior of the country!

The staff is so pleasant and customer-service oriented. We were greeted at the airport by the driver that we arranged through the resort. He was helpful and informative on the drive to the resort. Upon arrival, our bags were taken to our room as we checked in. The front desk clerk personally showed us to our cottage and gave us a brief tour of the property.

Our cottage was what I describe as rustic luxury. Very nice, but don't forget you are in the middle of the rain forest! You will see geckos and ants and other critters. We loved hearing the sounds of the birds each morning waking us up and the private outdoor shower was amazing. There are hammocks for each cottage and we enjoyed our time in those!

The concierge is wonderful. Willing to help with any request. They arranged several activities for us and the arrangements were flawless. We spent a day at Mayan ruins at Tikal in Guatemala (highly reccomend this!), a day at the spa (outdoor massage was wonderful!) and cave tubing at Jaguar Paw (so cool and fun!). It is pricey to arrage it through the resort and I'm sure you can do the same things for cheaper, but it was worth the additional expense for the days off the property to be so well organized.

The staff makes an effort to get to know you and we really enjoyed our servers at dinner (Selbin and Salvador) as well as the bartenders (Saul & Amir). The food ranged from good to wonderful. They have a nice wine selection (except by the glass) and have a featured drink of the day that was always delicious.

The grounds are absolutely beautiful and the new pool is wonderful. I overheard a staff member saying that they plan to install a huge palapa poolside in the near future. That will be a great addition! It did get quite hot at times, but with the breezes and the ceiling fans, we were never truly uncomfortable. I can imagine the cooler months are heavenly!

There is so much to do, you will never get bored, but the best thing to do is relax! It is the best place I have ever been to go "unplug". No phones, no tvs, no cell phones! They do have computers for guests to use if your are desparate for internet access. :)

I had a ton of photos that I was going to upload, but unfortunately, I lost my camera on the flight home. That was the only bad thing about this trip. I guess we will have to go back so I can get more photos!

Get there as fast as you can...you won't regret it!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deedapar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    999
    141
    40
    11
    7
See reviews for
411
506
34
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Pedro, Belize
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2009

I arrived here with a migraine, the staff walked me to my room, laid me in my bed, checked me later, brought me food, and basically nursed me through it until I was able (thank god) to enjoy the spa. My time here was too short, I would love to return!

Loved the room, loved the grounds, loved the spa, loved the staff, loved the spa (think I said that twice?). This is my number #1 recommendation for jungle accommodations in Belize!

Stayed August 2007, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank MalibuStace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dcisme
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2009

Prepare for Paradise, people.
I was looking forward to my stay at Chaa Creek. And I am a pretty tough customer. I would have to say that Chaa Creek - and all that it offers (and doesn't) is as close to the perfect destination for a relaxing vacation as I've been.

The accommodations are enveloping and classy and down to earth all at once. I think I could live in #23 for a month and never miss the TV, phone or alarm clock. The beds are comfortable, the furniture is lovely, the bathrooms are awesome, and the open (but netted) thatched roof and screen-only windows and doors make for a perfect oasis.

The rest of the property is spectacular - again, classy and luxe without feeling pretentious in any way. The staff is, to a one, spectacular. With special shout-outs to Miguel, Maria and Denise...who are long time employees and know what it means to take care of guests. Everything is spotless, the activities are varied and well-timed for families, and you can do as much or as little exploring on the property (or off) as you like. The food was spectacular, with a perfect mix of local and not. And of course there is the spa - what's not to like about a semi-outdoor massage while listening to the birds and the breeze? Heaven.

There are very few suggestions, but here are some ideas:
- give people an option for food service in their cottage - maybe not all day, but definitely evening.
- utilize the pool more - maybe for a friday or sunday evening "cocktail hour" or something so guests can mingle. as a single traveler it was a little harder to connect with folks - especially families
- share more about the staff somehow. each of the staff members has an interesting story...
- offer travelers a carbon offset /philanthropic option on site, so that they can support the environmental work you are doing.

The two most powerful parts of Chaa Creek are:
1. the unsurpassed ability to feel like you are "out there" in nature while still safe and comfortable. The environmental programs they run are fabulous, and the attention to the eco-footprint of the property is special.
2. The community the Flemings have built. From the two of them in a shack 30 years ago - to the entire staff of ~120, it's a powerful statement about diversity, harmony and community. Besides the owners and one manager, the entire staff is Belizean. It's awesome to walk down the path and hear spanish, creole, english, and sometimes mayan dialects being spoken by the staff...
The Flemings have invested in their extended family, and the kids and teachers of San Ignacio/Cayo in a transformative way. Bravo.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dcisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2009

What an amazing place. It is worth the two hour transfer from the airport. The hotel sent a private car for us. Our driver was there waiting when we arrived and he was very friendly and informative. We travelled with our children (6 and 8)

The weather was hot but a wonderful change from 44 degrees and raining.

The staff at check in were great--so friendly. They walked us to the bar area for lunch and showed us our room. We stayed in a cottage and it was simple but elegant . There was no a/c in the cottages or anywhere but the ceiling fans helped at night. The outdoor shower was more refereshing than showering inside plus hearing the birds was wonderful. THe entire hotel is sumbersed in the jungle without disrupting it. Beautiful trails lit up at night with small lanterns.

Nature sounds were abounding thorughout our stay. We saw the spoder monkeys, amazing birds, iguanas and night creep crawlers. They even gave us butterfly cocoons that would hatch on our last day for us to set free.

Amir at the bar was exceptional and fun to talk to . Felt like the staff made efforts to get know us and were always more than helpful.

There were so many ctivities to choose from we could not do them all in our three night stay. We went to see the local ruins which were fabulous. Some are still not excavated and our guide was so well educated on the Mayans, etc jsut perfect . Our entire family loved it!

The resort offers a package that includes all meals, activities, even the horseback riding and two tours. We also went tour which involved kayaking in caves which was incredible.

The food was fresh and tasty and offered plenty of choice. They offered pretty much anything to our children or small portions of the adult meals offered.

We were pleasanlty surprised that they had installed a fsalt water pool in December. We spent late afternoons just hanging out. It was so refreshing and peaceful!

We canoed upstream to the botanical gardens nearby.

This resort has somehting for everyone! My kids loved it and want to go back.l They even commented on how much thye liked the service there compared to our next hotel on Ambergis Caye.
I
t was awe inspiring. We loved it. Also loved Belize and its people. I see why so many American give up corporate America to live in a true paradise!

If you are going to explore the local town it is a bit of a hike by cab and pricey. The hotel offers canoes into paddle to town which takes several hours . They will pick you up and bring you back . The cab fare is high but they will let you go on their service truck if you are up for sitting in a cargo vehicle with the staff. We did not go into town and enjoed our two tours and the all the property had to offer.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2009

My son and I stayed at the camp. The staff could not have been nicer, the food was great, and the price was definitely right. It was also nice having access to the facilities at Chaa Creek for much less. But it was too much like camping for me. Serious gastro problems set in for me within a day of checking in (which I had not experienced at the other resort we stayed at - I advise not listening to their claim that the water is potable), and it was absolute misery having to run all the way up the hill to the bathrooms constantly, especially in the middle of the night. They refused to accomodate my request to move to the resort because they were full, and I finally ended up eating the cost of the room and moving elsewhere. When I told the staff at the resort about my gastro problems, their only advice was that I could buy Kaopectate at the gift shop.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JBlake015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
297 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2009

The Lodge at Chaa Creek - located in a rainforest in W Belize, close to the Guatemalan border - is one of the best hotel experiences we have had and we were sorry to leave after our three night stay. The current property is the evolution of a 20 year + project of its British-American owners – originally a rooming house for backpackers, it has morphed into a luxurious and environmentally sensitive complex, with a large pool, beautiful rooms and a range of activity options: guided walks in the forest, butterflies, visits to nearby Maya sites, river trips etc.

Our spacious room was half of a casita, elegant and well equipped (shower only and - thankfully - no TV). We had an oversized deck looking onto the river and the rainforest, with nothing else in view. But only 50 metres away there is a well stocked bar and an atmospheric restaurant (with a limited but adequate menu based essentially on locally sourced products). The staff are uniformly friendly and competent and the general ambience is one of calm excellence and unforced hospitality.

The only irritant was the painfully slow internet service (there is free central WiFi and two guest pcs) – but, hey, we’re in the jungle!

We took only the half day forest tour. There are some major Mayan sites which can be visited in day trips (Tikal marginal for this, in our view), but we see The Lodge less as a base and more as a destination in which to wind down.

The Lodge is no longer low-budget but neither is it a Four Seasons and it might not appeal to travellers who require 24 hour room service or need to have their bags unpacked by a butler. But we thought it a good balance between these extremes.

The Lodge is an exceptional property, world class, and we strongly recommend it to all travellers, especially honeymooners and families with children.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globaltraveller200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2009

We just got back from a 4 Night Trip to Chaa Creek (4/2 to 4/6) with our two children (ages 5 and 11) and loved the location and rooms. We stayed the first 2 nights in a Garden Jacuzzi and Garden Suite ( whole unit) which was very impressive. Tastefully decorated, screened in, no locks as mentioned in other reviews - did remind us a little bit of our stay in South Africa many years ago. We had this iguana living "next" to us, a great place if you do love nature. The last 2 nights we did stay in # 1 with great views and a wonderful deck. We loved the hammock and the peacefulness of the resort, being remote but still accessible for activities.

Having travelled extensively to many beautiful and luxurious places we had however extremely mixed feelings about the tours: also we did enjoy all of them (TIKAL, ATM - an ABSOLUTE highlight for me and my son, especially going with our wonderful guide Emilio Gomaz who has been leading several TV teams) we were very unhappy with the steep mark up and additional "inflated" charges for the CHAA Creek tours.

Not only would we pay for the tour the tour prices (e.g. TIKAL $ 275) we were charged "imaginary" fees which did not actually apply: border crossing for a party of 4 x $ 65= US $ 260.00 whilst there was actually no border crossing fee for the kids (they still charged US $ 65/kid) and the "real" Visa fee is only US $ 15.00/ adult, add inflated fees for the crossing of the car of $ 25.00, $ 40.00 for a very basic lunch in Guatemala etc

Same mark ups were built into all their tours like Barton Creek CAVE which was okay but absolutely not worth the money spend - besides US $ 145.00 for the tour you are charged US $ 25.00 add park entrance fees (x 4) although kids are not paying entrance fees and adults are charged US $ 10.00 only instead of charged US $ 25 . We were disappointed with the fact being told these are entrance fees which they clearly were not. Even after addressing the issue the management was relunctant in adjusting them to the actually paid entrance fees. We strongly feel that they should increase the cost of the packages if CHAA Expeditions feels to do so and take the risk of not being positioned competitively with other tour operators in the area. Inflating fees and charging not actual "entrance" and/or cross border and VISA fees did make us feel like been taken for a ride and not a good reflection of a high-end resort.

Our trip to Tikal was very interesting also our guide was not really motivated in walking us around to the many different sites explaining a lot of detail - part of the reason could have been being Saturday (and he wanted to be back with his family) and it being very hot - about 103 degrees. He lead us to the main temple site allowing us some time there by ourselves but seemed to be in an extreme rush to get back after we had spent about 3 hours there.
The CHAA Creek website did promote Kids under 5 eating for free ~ however, upon check out all meals were charged but they were adjusted after complaining.

We did enjoy the location and the beautiful and tastefully decorated rooms; overall service was friendly and professional, the restaurant food was good ( not outstanding) and service attentive. They added a new beautiful pool which does have certain safety issues ~ they obviously do know about it and they are working on improving the safety. We liked the place and were glad to have stayed there but wished the tour costs would be more reasonable and fair.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel2Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
2.1 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
806 reviews
0.7 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
624 reviews
9.4 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
279 reviews
7.6 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
243 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#3 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Chaa Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Chaa Creek

Property: The Lodge at Chaa Creek
Address: Macal River, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Chaa Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 30 years Chaa Creek has been providing a comfortable base for exciting inland adventures for thousands of visitors, from explorers, scientists, filmmakers, research groups, students and people of all ages looking for intellectual and physical stimulation in Belize's vibrant rainforest - the heartland of the Maya. We also realise that any rewarding adventure is enhanced by comfortable accommodations and excellent food. Our 23 palm thatched cottage rooms ensure a good night's sleep and delightful mornings accompanied by the sing song of a rainforest waking up, and guests can choose a Complete Garden Suite, an Orchard and Spa Villa, Macal Cottage or Tree Top Suite, all equipped with a Jacuzzi for even extra comfort. As one example, under our Chaa Creek Cares program, 10% of all accommodation revenue goes straight into environmental and social programs, and in supporting Green and community groups. We sleep better, and you will too, knowing that your stay at Chaa Creek has a positive effect on Belize and our very special pristine natural environment. Families share some of life's most cherished moments - and memories - during a Belize family vacation. And to guarantee a family vacation that everyone will enjoy, multi award winning Chaa Creek is the only Belize destination you'll need. Our affordable, all inclusive family friendly adventure holidays are absolutely stress free and bring everyone closer together through sharing a variety of amazing adventures along with quiet moments to reconnect - all in a stunning rainforest setting. Nature and romance bloom year round in the stunning beauty of Belize. Our all-inclusive romantic vacation packages allow lovers of all ages to immerse themselves in nature and each other. An exquisite rainforest filled with colourful tropical birds, canoe trips down the meandering Macal river with the misty Maya mountains in the background, unwinding together in your private Jacuzzi surrounded by a tropical garden, couples massages, candlelit dinners and sharing once-in-a-lifetime experiences create the perfect conditions for love to flower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Lodge at Chaa Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Chaa Creek Hotel San Ignacio
Hotel At Chaa Creek
At Chaa Creek Hotel
Chaa Creek
The Lodge At Chaa Creek Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing