We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
Ranked #2 of 33 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great resort”
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We had a wonderful time at Chaa Creek. Although elegant and sophisticated, it is very family friendly and relaxed. Children stay in your room for free and their meals are half price which makes it reasonable. The rooms and grounds are immaculate and the pool is the prettiest I have ever seen. I tend to be "community pool" phobic but couldn't wait to dive into this one each day. We couldn't believe a jungle lodge could be so spotless, not to mention virtually bug free (I think it is slightly different at the Chaa Creek "Camp" which is for those who choose to rough it - but still have access to the many resort amenities - so don't confuse the reviews). We went to Belize loaded down with DEET and didn't need it at all at Chaa Creek. The mosquitos are 100 times worse in our backyard in Virginia. Overall the staff was very friendly and helpful - the concierges were great. The food was generally good with a few moments of brilliance. The breakfasts were our favorites. Amazing local fruits and meats. The naturalists were very good. My kids learned more about butterflies in the 45 minutes they spent at the nature center than they did in weeks of studying them in school. I got the "coma" at the spa and it was the best massage I ever had. It was 90 minutes on a secluded deck with a cool breeze and the true sounds of nature (birds, howler monkeys, etc.), not the taped ones I am used to hearing in a stuffy, enclosed therapy room in the U.S. There was even a beautiful bowl of flowers on the floor under the face rest to see on the few occasions I opened my eyes. The massage therapist was very skilled.

Overall, I highly recommend Chaa Creek to anyone wanting to visit the Cayo District of Belize.

(In response to the previous review, the phone center isn't consistent. I did get an unenthusiastic response on my first try and almost decided not to bother again. However, my second call was returned promptly with a professional, friendly voice. Don't give up if you aren't satisfied on your first call)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachchairVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    989
    140
    40
    11
    7
See reviews for
407
500
33
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
US
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

I have called this lodge twice during their hours,and left my name and number,but no one calls back.I guess they do not return calls to the U.S.I really was interested in staying here.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ridgefieldus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

A recent visit to Chaa Creek inspired me to join TA and post a review. Not like CC needs another rave, but it deserves one. It's a fantastic resort where the owners and staff get every detail right. Service is incredibly friendly, unobtrusive, and superb. The location is great for day trips (to Tikal in Guatemala, caves, etc.), but the resort grounds are so wonderful it's hard to leave. Food was very good, and the open-air dining pavilion was beautiful. The new infinity pool was terrific. The cottages aren't air-conditioned, but so well-designed with high ceilings and big ceiling fans it wasn't an issue for us (we were there during the hot season). It's probably not a great place if you have trouble walking -- there is a bit of climbing involved on the paths between cottages, restaurant, spa, etc. At night the lamps come on and the place is magical. Be sure to chat with one of the owners, Mick Fleming, if he's around. He's a very friendly guy. He and his wife are a great story (they started an eco-lodge before there really was such a thing). There are oftentimes great deals on luxury link for this resort (that's what we did and it worked out great).

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoundZ09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2009

Many of the reviews for this place say it all - beautiful accommodations, fabulous staff, great food (come hungry!) but for anyone that is interested in horseback riding this place offers a treat for you. Granted, one often gets stuck in the "walk" rides with rank beginners but if you ask for an advanced ride and are good enough to participate with the wranglers, you will have a great adventure. We rode through beautiful scenery, were blessed with an archeology student wrangler that showed us the Mayan ruins and was able to provide all the historical significance as well.
Make sure you visit the caves, Chaa Creek will arrange for your transport but this is an excursion not to be missed. There is talk that the site will probably not be open to the public much longer! Yes, you must get wet, swim a short distance (dog paddle will suffice) but the creepiness of the dark, skeletons, is overshadowed by the awesome crystallized stalagtites & mites. Try to go for the earliest tour so that you can experience the full impact of these Mayan ceremonial sacrificial sites, it doesn't work so well when there are a number of tours clambering over the rocks and shining their headlamps on all the walls. If the Belize tourist board has directed their efforts to cleaning up the entrance area (disgusting outhouses!) you will agree the cost of entrance is well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tatsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn,NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2009

This spring was my second trip to Belize and to Chaa creek. There have been a ton of renovations since 2007! The new pool is an amazing bonus. The sun gets hot mid day, and it is a refreshing way to cool off. I stayed at the jungle camp, very exposed to the elements but clean, and comfortable. Still, make sure you check your bed for scorpions and keep your bags zipped. The creepy crawlies abound. There isn't electricity in the camp, however the lamps are lit at dusk, and it is easy to navigate. Overall, the place is so lush and green. A rare gem of nature at her best. The rain forest is literally right up close around you. The place feels very safe, and the staff is very friendly. Still, it seems a tad expensive for being in Belize.

The internet is very slow, and often not running....

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKseetheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2009

The Resort: other than the rocky road in, Chaa Creek's location is incredible. Set in the mountains, you are surrounded by well-kept grounds, jungle, and wildlife. Iguanas, howler monkeys, and birds of all kinds roam the grounds and woods. They offer 365 acres of well marked trails that can be guided or explored on your own. They also have a bike shop (guided or unguided) and canoes to take into town or just leisurely paddle down the river. Breakfast and lunch offer a variety of well-priced and great tasting food. Dinner, however is different. The food tastes great and is much of it is freshly picked from their farm. The dining, although you may dress casual, is very fancy and the staff makes sure everything is perfect. Every dinner is a four course meal comprised of soup, salad, main dish, and dessert, though you can decline some portions. While the food is outstanding, dinner is very limited. There is only one type of salad, one type of soup, and 3 main courses (one of which is vegetarian), which change every night. If you are a picky eater, beware. The rooms are spacious and the shower is huge, but rooms are NOT air-conditioned, so it can be hot and humid. They have fans which worked well and nights are a lot more comfortable so most of our nights were fairly relaxing. While the shower was nice, the plumbing was awful; the water was either boiling hot or ice cold, so I spent most of my time showering while the water changed between the two. I am not sure if this is typical of all of the showers or not, and I did not report it to anyone so I can't really complain about it. They recently added an infinity pool which overlooks part of the resort and it is a great addition. They also have a business center offering wifi and 2 computers (though the computers were slow). The staff is very friendly and are very helpful.
Inland Tours: the service for tours was unbelievable. They offer a wide variety of tours and are extremely accommodating with them. Unlike some resorts (ie Hamanasi), if you want to do something, they will make it happen regardless of how many people want to go. They will also tailor your trips however you like (unless it is through another place like Caves Branch for example). They try to pair you with the same driver/guide which was a nice touch.
The guides: not only are they extremely friendly, they have a passion for nature and adventure and will make sure you see and experience the best possible trip. Many of the guides are birding experts and spotted dozens of different species. The guides for the ruins seem to know every single fact about the sites and history so you will learn a lot. What was also nice was how they were not just like a guide the whole time; they will have everyday conversations about anything and are genuinely social people, not an act to please the guests. When they see you around the resort they will stop to have a chat with you and ask about what other animals you have encountered.
Overall, Chaa Creek was a incredible visit. My only complaints are with the lack of AC in such a hot and humid country and the set menu for dinner (which tastes great, but it's just bad if you are picky, but that isn't too much of the resort's fault). The rooms, resort, tour offerings, onsite offerings, and staff were absolutely perfect and I recommend it to anybody and everybody. I plan to stay here again on my next visit to Belize, and like many of the guests, would recommend this place for honeymooners. I also highly recommend taking a trip to Tikal (also do the zipline), Caves Branch, and doing the horseback trails, birding, and night walk on the resort. Get to know the guides, and don't be afraid to make requests as they really want you to enjoy what they love so much. Chaa Creek is a bit pricey but it is because of their superior service.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slpmomo
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2009

Chaa Creek was the most amazing place ever. It was in the middle of the jungle but still had all the modern amenities. So many activities on site to do. We mountain biked to the ruins. Definitely needed a few more days to really enjoy what Chaa has to offer!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slpmomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
2.1 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
790 reviews
0.7 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
620 reviews
9.4 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
240 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
684 reviews
3.2 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 13 in San Ignacio
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Chaa Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Chaa Creek

Property: The Lodge at Chaa Creek
Address: Macal River, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Chaa Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 30 years Chaa Creek has been providing a comfortable base for exciting inland adventures for thousands of visitors, from explorers, scientists, filmmakers, research groups, students and people of all ages looking for intellectual and physical stimulation in Belize's vibrant rainforest - the heartland of the Maya. We also realise that any rewarding adventure is enhanced by comfortable accommodations and excellent food. Our 23 palm thatched cottage rooms ensure a good night's sleep and delightful mornings accompanied by the sing song of a rainforest waking up, and guests can choose a Complete Garden Suite, an Orchard and Spa Villa, Macal Cottage or Tree Top Suite, all equipped with a Jacuzzi for even extra comfort. As one example, under our Chaa Creek Cares program, 10% of all accommodation revenue goes straight into environmental and social programs, and in supporting Green and community groups. We sleep better, and you will too, knowing that your stay at Chaa Creek has a positive effect on Belize and our very special pristine natural environment. Families share some of life's most cherished moments - and memories - during a Belize family vacation. And to guarantee a family vacation that everyone will enjoy, multi award winning Chaa Creek is the only Belize destination you'll need. Our affordable, all inclusive family friendly adventure holidays are absolutely stress free and bring everyone closer together through sharing a variety of amazing adventures along with quiet moments to reconnect - all in a stunning rainforest setting. Nature and romance bloom year round in the stunning beauty of Belize. Our all-inclusive romantic vacation packages allow lovers of all ages to immerse themselves in nature and each other. An exquisite rainforest filled with colourful tropical birds, canoe trips down the meandering Macal river with the misty Maya mountains in the background, unwinding together in your private Jacuzzi surrounded by a tropical garden, couples massages, candlelit dinners and sharing once-in-a-lifetime experiences create the perfect conditions for love to flower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Lodge at Chaa Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Chaa Creek Hotel San Ignacio
Hotel At Chaa Creek
At Chaa Creek Hotel
Chaa Creek
The Lodge At Chaa Creek Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing