We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly staff and great accommodations”
Review of Windy Hill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windy Hill Resort
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in San Ignacio
Weyburn, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super friendly staff and great accommodations”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We were at this resort from Jan. 25 - 30th, 2013 and the staff and accommodations were superb. The staff will do everything in their power to help make your stay as relaxing or exciting as you want it. When we arrived we had plans for a day trip to the Caracol Ruins but our desk clerk suggested we postpone the trip one day because of the weather. Not that the weather was going to be extremely bad just that there was a chance of rain for the day. We took him up on the suggestion and we were very happy with the outcome. We got to spend an unexpected day touring San Ignacio and Santa Elena and the next day completed out trip to the Ruins. Awe inspiring!!!! The pictures cannot do the resort or the ruins justice. Even with a little rain and cloud we still came away with wonderful tans. Thank you Windy Hills you helped to make the start of our Belizian adventure absolutely smooth and a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Our cabana was closest to the pool and we couldn't have been happier. The resort is very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    105
    40
    15
    7
See reviews for
83
135
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

On a recent trip to Belize we spent 3 days/nights at Windy Hill Resort. I was under the impression we'd be walking distance from the "downtown" area, but with the heat and humidity, we weren't keen on the walking idea. Instead, we opted for cab rides back and forth, which were about $5 USD each.

As for the actual grounds of Windy Hill, there is a front office, which also houses a small gift shop. This front area is where you'll be able to access wi-fi. Across a small road from the front office, you'll find a walkway that leads to the restaurant, the bar, the gym, the pool and the cabins.

To be honest, we didn't explore the grounds much, we were basically out and about all day and came back to the room to sleep. I can just say that the grounds are peaceful and there is a tropical feel to the property.

The structure we stayed in had 2 separate rooms. Our room was clean and simple. It included two full size beds with a ceiling fan over each bed. There was a nightstand between the beds and lights above the small headboards of each bed. There was also a TV across the room, which we watched at night. No phones, by the way, which is great! Near the bathroom there was a small closet where you could store your bags and hang a few items. The bathroom was very simple: toilet, sink, mirror over the sink and a shower. Nothing fancy by any means but definitely served its purpose.

Lucky for us, our neighbors (the room next door), were great! We shared a front porch with them, although, again, we didn't spend much time on the grounds. Each of the two rooms in the structure had a hammock in the front porch area, where you could relax if you wanted.

Don't forget to bring your insect repellent! We had no problems with bugs inside the room, other than a spider, but while using the wi-fi near the front office we were bitten repeatedly by little mosquitoes.

We had breakfast at the restaurant on the grounds once and the food was fine. For dinner, however, we opted to go into town to try different restaurants.

As for customer service, everyone who we dealt with at Windy Hill was absolutely fabulous!! I'd definitely go back!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lissy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placencia, Belize
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Windy Hill resort. Grounds we beautiful. Staff was very helpful with attractions directions. Restaurant and lounge were great. We really enjoyed talking to Amin and Richard the waiters at the restaurant.

Room Tip: we were in cabin 14 sleeps 5. I would stay closer to the pool next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noplanann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

After spending time diving on Turneffe Atoll and vegging on Caye Caulker, my g/f and I spent 2 nights at Windy Hill. We purchased the package containing all transport, food, and tours of Xunantunich and Tikal. From the moment we were picked up, we were impressed.

The wonderful experience all started when Windy Hill picked us up from the Caye Caulker Water Taxi terminal, and the 2 hour drive from there to the resort turned out to be a historical tour of Belize. Edgar, who picked us up and was also our guide for Xunantunich, pointed out everything along the way that related to Mayan and Belizian culture, including the "Sleeping Giant" mountain formation that looks like a giant Mayan sleeping facing East and West. We felt like the car ride was actually a bonus tour.

That afternoon the Xunantunich tour was spectacular with the help of Edgar, who was one of the best guides I've ever met. He was passionate not only about the culture, site, and history, but he was adamant that we understood it and really got our minds thinking. Even better, it was only us 2 on the tour, so it was literally our own private tour. Be sure to ask for him if you take this tour, you won't regret it.

The 2nd day was a day trip to Tikal, and it couldn't have been more smooth. We were transported across the border with ease, picked up our tour guide, and spent the entire mid morning to early afternoon immersed in Tikal. Even better once again, since February is the slower season, it turned out that the tour was only us 2 again, so we spent the entire day in Tikal on, once again, a private tour. This time with Joshua, a Guatemalan guide who had been doing this for 10 years, who also was passionate that we actually absorb the history and open our minds. We felt like we had traveled back in time. While there, we also saw howler and spider monkeys, coati, and wild turkeys.

While at the resort, all of the staff pampered us, especially Amin and Tony. Everyone was friendly, the food was really good, the bar was fun, and the bed was actually the most comfortable of the trip.

Secluded, amazing tours, and top notch hospitality. That's Windy Hill.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We had a group of 4 couples and rented cabins around the pool for 4 nights. We also arranged our tours (Caracol, ATM, Jaguar Cave tubing, and birdwatching) through Windy Hill. Upon arrival we were served fruit drinks and given a tour of our cabins. Every person on the staff, from the front desk to the people who cleaned the grounds and pool, was helpful and very friendly. We would get talks on the Mayan people by our waiters at dinner, local lore was pointed out by our various drivers and we wanted for nothing. If you're looking for a Radisson Hotel type of experience you will not get it. This is a very comfortable place but it is in Central America so don't expect a spa-like bathroom or any luxurious amenities besides a comfortable bed and plenty of good food. It wasn't very crowded so the Black Orchid dining room prepared food that we particularly liked if we asked in advance. They also prepared a generous lunch of sandwiches and cookies for our tours. The food is typical Belizian (which we all loved) but for a break we walked into San Ignacio one evening and enjoyed a great meal. The drivers and tour guides were incredibly knowledgeable and taught us much. I particularly enjoyed Emil on the ATM tour and we all loved the Caracol tour and birdwatching with Edgar. Edgar's son drove us to our next destination in Placencia and filled our ride with humorous and informative anecdotes about his country. The grounds are splendid, filled with many tropical plants and they're labeled! I would highly recommend this as a destination if you plant to travel near the Guatemalan border in Belize.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pajamann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

My family stayed at Windy Hill for 4 nights. They picked us up from the airport and arranged fabulous tours with wonderful guides. We spent a day in Tikal, toured the ATM cave and visited Xunantunich. Every guide was extremely knowledgeable about the history, culture, plants and animals. We made a stop at the Belize Zoo on our way back into Belize City. I'm so glad we did.

The cottage was beautiful, clean and comfortable. The mahogany furniture is so pretty! The food at the restaurant was delicious. Have the soup!!!! Any of the soups! The service was superb. The front desk was happy to arrange a quick ride into San Ignacio so we could walk around and visit the iguana conservation project at the hotel in town.

I really can't say enough good things about Windy Hill.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OutdoorsAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We've just returned from a 7 night stay at this resort. Our impressions overall are that this place is tranquil, safe, clean and a great chill spot. The rooms are large and spacious- we chose a room with no AC, but great ceiling fans. The room isn't 5 star- however you'll be more than comfortable- I would even say pampered with the minimal amenities offered.
The grounds are stunning- don't forget to take a hike on there private jungle path in the far end of the property, the Chiclero camp site is very cool to see too. We used the pool a lot, it has some breathtaking views- however didn't try the gym (it looked great though).
The restaurant was awesome- we caught a bit of a bug so the Chef and waiters were great about making food that would make us feel better,
Our favorite part of the resort was it's amazing location- 15-20 minutes walk to town and Cahal Pech ruin, 6 miles away from Xunantunich ruin, and 20 minutes from the Guatemalan border to see Tikal.
The staff was amazing from Jeffrey helping us with our donations, to Terry offering tour suggestions, to our incredible waiter who took time help us out when were feeling ill. They made a huge difference by being so genuinely helpful, and energetic.

Room Tip: Take a digital photo of the map before hiking the jungle trail as there are many different trails yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrenilineJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
1.6 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
806 reviews
2.4 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
624 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 13 in San Ignacio
964 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
686 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#6 of 13 in San Ignacio
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windy Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windy Hill Resort

Property: Windy Hill Resort
Address: Graceland Ranch | Mile 2 1/2 Benque Viejo Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
#6 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Windy Hill Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jungle Rivers, Maya Temples, Gentle Mountain Breezes...Service Extraordinaire! Located in the foothills of the Maya Mountains, the most diverse and beautiful area of Belize, Windy Hill Resort & Tour Company provides all the modern conveniences in a lush tropical setting and just minutes away from the archaeological sites and other popular attractions in Belize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Windy Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windy Hill Hotel San Ignacio
Windy Hill San Ignacio
Windy Hill Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing