We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Rain forest Bungalo”
Review of Windy Hill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windy Hill Resort
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Rain forest Bungalo”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This was the best resort, walked in without Reservation, got the best room by the best pool ever. They arranged most amazing ATM cave trip ever and Horse back riding, We also went to the Mayan ruins right down the way and they offer guided trips to Guatemala which others at the resort did and were amazed by.

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing no bad spot We were lucky enough to be right in front of the pool which i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe7408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    103
    39
    15
    7
See reviews for
83
132
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I stayed in San Ignacio for four nights and Windy Hills was the perfect place for me and my two friends. The cabins were wonderful and in a beautiful setting. We only spent one day round the pool (recovering from our adventure at ATM cave and a day's horse riding) but it was the perfect place to relax as it is very peaceful, although this may be because August is a slow month for tourists in Belize.

We ate dinner in the hotel a couple of times; once in the restaurant which was delicious but slightly expensive for us as we were on a budget. The second time we took advantage of the cheaper alternative of eating in the bar and shared a huge plate of chicken nachos and some chicken wings. For the other two dinners we took a taxi ($10 BZD) to the town and ate at two restaurants which had been recommended by locals: Erva's and Hannah's. Both were excellent and it allowed us to have a bit of variety as well as saving a bit of money. However, it would not be essential to make such trips into town. There was a good selection for breakfast at Windy Hills as well.

The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, particularly barman Tony who gave us some great recommendations for our further travels to the Cayes.

4 days was about right for our group due to the nature of the trip; we wanted to explore as much as possible and only had two weeks in Belize. However, I could have easily spent a week there if I was having a lazy, relaxing holiday. You can also organise a number of tours from this point as well. We booked ours before we went but I'm pretty sure Windy Hills are able to organise them for you too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lw128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We brought a group of 45 people to work at Santa Elena Primary School and then relaxed in the evenings at Windy Hill. I give them 10 stars for service, lodging, and food. The staff was more than helpful and went above and beyond what was expected of them. Terry and John Paul, the managers, are fantastic people who will do anything to make your experience the best! We have become friends with them and many of the rest of the staff as well. We are returning in 2014 with another group of 45 people. Where will we stay? Windy Hill, no question about that!

Room Tip: A/C is a must to get a good nights rest. Windy Hills has plenty of A/C cottages, but make sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deacon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We are a family of six who stayed at Windy Hills. What a great place to stay! The beds were incredibly comfortable. I was worried about our safety when we left; no need to worry. I never felt more safe than being there (security guards at night even). The food was phenomenal: freshly picked fruits; everything made from scratch; incredible desserts. There is air conditioning, yet we found that if we only turned our air conditioning on for 1/2 hour at night, we were good for the rest of the night (this was in June) because of the oscillating fans on the ceiling. Very clean cottages. Front porch hammock to watch the stars at night. The staff was so nice. I felt like they were more of a part of our large group as opposed to working there. We cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: If you want a great view, reserve a room at the top of the hill. Looking for something closer? Cab...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I stayed at Windy Hill Resort about two years ago and was so impressed by this place! When we brought a group of 45 people to Belize on a mission trip this June, there wasn't even a question of where to stay....It was Windy Hill, of course! The Resort is safe, the food is incredible and safe, and the service is unsurpassed by any other. The staff went out of their way to make all of us feel welcome and saw to our every need. And did I mention how incredible the food is? The cabins are clean and cool at night (air conditioning), and the pooI was clean and refreshing after a long day of working on our mission projects. The grounds were beautiful and well maintained. I give Windy Hill nothing but the highest rating, and I would highly recommend this resort to anyone while traveling to Belize!

Room Tip: We had 45 people staying here from our group, and all of the cottages were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed at Windy Hill with others from our church. The staff bent over backwards for our every need. The cabins are SO clean. The food is so good. I would love to stay there again. Thank you so much!

Room Tip: All the cabins are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy0422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I stayed at the Windy Hills resort while on a trip to Belize. Before arriving, I was afraid about getting sick from the food, what kind of cabins we would have, etc. Windy Hills put my mind at ease. The food was amazing, and prepared well. I never became ill. The cabins were also very comfortable and clean. The air conditioning unit was always working. They also had security guards walking around at night, just in case. I would highly recommend this resort :).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
1.6 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
2.4 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#9 of 33 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#6 of 13 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.5 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 13 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windy Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windy Hill Resort

Property: Windy Hill Resort
Address: Graceland Ranch | Mile 2 1/2 Benque Viejo Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
#6 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Windy Hill Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jungle Rivers, Maya Temples, Gentle Mountain Breezes...Service Extraordinaire! Located in the foothills of the Maya Mountains, the most diverse and beautiful area of Belize, Windy Hill Resort & Tour Company provides all the modern conveniences in a lush tropical setting and just minutes away from the archaeological sites and other popular attractions in Belize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Windy Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windy Hill Hotel San Ignacio
Windy Hill San Ignacio
Windy Hill Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing