We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing place to stay & use for arranging tours”
Review of Windy Hill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Windy Hill Resort
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in San Ignacio
Reviewed 23 January 2014

The owners & managers of Windy Hill were great. They really provided great service and at least gave the appearance of caring about their guests. The grounds very quiet and well kept. It is a little ways out of town (5 mins by cab) but not an issue at all as there is little to do in town - probably only worth spending an evening in town for dinner and wandering around. The real reasons to visit are to relax and do some of the "adventure" tours.

We booked tours through the hotel for both Tikal and the ATM cave. Prices are comparable to those in town - they seemed to the same from all operators. The guides provided by Windy Hill were much more knowledgeable and thorough than those leading other groups. Our driver to Tikal was Carlos and he did a great job getting us through immigration in Guatemala quickly. Luis was our guide for Tikal and he walked us around the ruins expounding upon things related to the site ranging from Mayan history to new age cosmological beliefs for about 6 hours. If interested in ziplining, we found you can do it through the jungle at Tikal for much less than in Belize. Ian was our guide for the ATM cave and he spoke in great depth about the cave and artifacts within. All spoke great English.

As for any downsides, as mentioned by the some of the other reviewers, the menu of the restaurant on site is not extensive but I found the food enjoyable. The pool is a lounging pool and not too big, if that is a requirement. And also it is maybe not quite high end as the name "resort" perhaps implies though I think for the price of rooms and in comparison to other hotels in the area, the accommodations are very good. I would recommend this to others and stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
There are newer reviews for Windy Hill Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

We arrived late and left early, so we weren't able to experience this setting as much as we would have liked, but our few hours of experience was delightful. It was so nice to wake up with the birds and to the sound of rain on our cabana. The cabanas were beautiful. We loved the rustic feel to the mini cabins. Our beds were comfy. It was a bit humid in our rooms, but the fans worked just fine (also AC). The infinity pool was beautiful, even though we didn't have time to use it.

As I mentioned, we arrived after 6 p.m. unannounced and were given great service and a room right away. A staff member was radioed and ran up the hill to turn our porch light on before we arrived to the door. The next morning, checkout was seamless. The front desk staffers filled up our water bottles for us and allowed us to use their computer in the back to check in for our flight.

The is a beautiful jungle oasis. We wished we had been able to stay longer to enjoy it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Outdoorslover30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed at Windy Hill two nights in January 2014. The cabins are rustic and charming. We booked a cave canoeing excursion and the guide was friendly and knowledgable. The pool is small but well kept and the grounds are lovely.

Unfortunately, the restaurant is sub par. The food is mediocre. The bar is also lacking. They need more training in making drinks because I don't think hey have a grasp of even popular drinks like margaritas and daquiries.

I'd stay at the hotel but eat off site.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tricyko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Windy Hill is a very nice place to stay, has a great location, the staff is very friendly and helpful. Close enough to town (can take a quick cab ride to town for $4-5 US), but far enough to be quiet and have a secluded feel to it. We stayed in a Standard Room and it was very basic (no AC, small TV, etc), but was spacious, clean and comfortable. The heat/humidity might be an issue during the summer, but was no problem during our stay (Dec 22-26). Beautiful garden and tasty food. Don't forget the bug spray!

Room Tip: The Standard Room is great value if you're OK with no AC.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed here in november for 3 days as part of a trip around Belize / Guatemala and this was a perfect location to see the area around san ignacio. The grounds were beautifully kept, the room itself was fantastic - it was secluded, with great views from the veranda and even had cable tv! The owners were very friendly and gave us advice on where to visit while in san ignacio - and even gave us lifts into town if they werent busy. would definately stay again if i was back in that part of the world

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Terry and Jean-Paul are great hosts. They planned our stay and tours, keeping everything flexible. Guides they arranged and quality of tours (ATM cave, Caracol Mayan ruins, Barton Creek canoe trip) were top quality adventures. Our cottage was quiet and comfortable, a short walk to the pool and the thatched roof restaurant. Staff was courteous and friendly, we knew everyone by name. Transfers between WH and Belize City were easy and on time. The town of San Ignacio is nearby with a few very good restaurants. Saturday's market is a must!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank dbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Windy Hill is a very nice place to stay and visit the proposed activities. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are big and comfortable. It are authentic bungalows with rocking chairs on the front terrace. The bathroom is simply composed but all essentials are needed: warm water, shower, bath and toilet. They clean every day. If you want a hairdryer you can ask one at the staff and they share it with you. (Just a bit old ;) )
The swimingpool is nice and good maintained. Nice view on fare away hills. A lot of different kind of birds and butterflies dance around you.

The restaurant is simple. The food is ok. We loved the mayan soup :)

We don't recommend to walk to the city. We did it and it's a bit adventurous. It s better to take a cab that is the same rate where ever you go (10 belizian dollar). We liked the fact that the hotel is not located near the city because San ignacio is not the sexiest city in the world.

The tours are well organised. We also checked the rates in the city and at windy hill they were less expensive then anywhere else.

Room Tip: The bungalow with view on the swimmingpool.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrincipessaLili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
1.6 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
819 reviews
2.4 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
635 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
282 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarissa Falls Resort
Clarissa Falls Resort
#1 of 2 in San Jose Succotz
125 reviews
1.5 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#6 of 14 in San Ignacio
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windy Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windy Hill Resort

Address: Graceland Ranch | Mile 2 1/2 Benque Viejo Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
#7 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range: £82 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windy Hill Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jungle Rivers, Maya Temples, Gentle Mountain Breezes...Service Extraordinaire! Located in the foothills of the Maya Mountains, the most diverse and beautiful area of Belize, Windy Hill Resort & Tour Company provides all the modern conveniences in a lush tropical setting and just minutes away from the archaeological sites and other popular attractions in Belize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Windy Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windy Hill Hotel San Ignacio
Windy Hill San Ignacio
Windy Hill Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing