We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil, breezy location with great service and stunning views ”
Review of Windy Hill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windy Hill Resort
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in San Ignacio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tranquil, breezy location with great service and stunning views ”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

This was the first place we stayed on arrival in Central America and we are so glad that it was!
The staff made us feel incredibly welcome and bent over backwards to ensure that we were satisfied.

The grounds are lovely, very secluded on a hill (hence the name), with multiple cabins. There is an outdoor infinity pool which is great for relaxing and sunbathing during the day with fabulous views and a welcome breeze.

The rooms are very clean and spacious with warm showers. They are cleaned daily and towels provided. Each has a nice terrace with a couple of chairs and a hammock.

The place was very quiet when we were there which meant it felt a tad eerie however we felt comfortable even if it was just us in the restaurant on an evening! The restaurant and bar staff are very efficient and friendly.

The food was lovely and service was good, although we tended to eat out more than in the hotel so didn't experience all there was to offer.

This is an ideal place to stay if you want peace and quiet however not if you want a buzzing atmosphere. The views are amazing and service and accommodation is great. As two young girls we felt secure and safe staying at Windy Hill.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Bewsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    104
    39
    15
    7
See reviews for
83
133
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed for three nights and enjoyed our stay at Windy Hill Resort. The location is beautiful, overlooking rolling green hills and perched on a hill to take advantage of the cooler breezes. My favorite part of the resort is the infinity swimming pool- gazing at the beautiful views while flocks of birds fly overhead- I was always so reluctant to leave the refreshing water at all! The customer service is wonderful, especially Raggi and Benny, who went out of their way to accommodate us. The restaurant and beer prices were really steep, and I wish they offered a more diverse menu selection for breakfast. The cabana was very spacious and I liked the generous spacing of the cabins sprinkled throughout the property, giving everybody privacy and the chance to unwind. The plantation shutters effectively blocked out the light, except for three small triangle windows on our back door, so the bright light shining through those windows early in the morning woke us up earlier than we would have done. The porch outside the cabana was where our group spent the bulk of our hotel time (other than the pool). One of the best moments was staying dry and entertained during a heavy tropical rain shower. The porch was great for hanging out and enjoying the cool breezes blowing through the Windy Hills!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sanfrantravelnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We really enjoyed our relaxing stay at Windy Hill. The cabins are spacious, clean, and spaced apart well. Wifi, cable tv, and a pool. We had no trouble using the shower and getting warm water. The staff was SUPER, helpful, polite, professional, friendly. The grounds are charming and the medicinal trail in the back of the property is interesting. We toured it with Steve, who showed us a family of howler monkeys. The location can't be beat!

We ate our breakfasts there all but one day. $8US each gave us a tasty full breakfast. Did not have any buffet or eat any other meals here. Sure you can go to town to get less food, less service for less money but I regretted the one day I did that.

We set up our own tours but they do offer tours.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Windy Hill in July 2014 for four nights. There were two families, four adults, five children (ages 9-13). First of all, the pool is great. We even saw parrots and toucans fly past. The service is exceptional. Truly. The people couldn't be nicer and they were very accommodating to our needs (even upgrading us to rooms with AC upon check in.) While the food is good, it's a little on the pricey side and there's not a lot of diversity on the menu (especially with concern to Belizean fare.) the grounds are amazing and well-kept and the location is just far enough outside of San Ignacio to feel like you're away from it all - without really being too far from everything. We would stay at Windy Hill again and I'd give it 4.5 stars if I could.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah GA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Our group stayed at Windy Hill for a week and enjoyed our time there immensely. The setting is delightful-beautiful grounds and wildlife sightings everyday. Our accommodations, cabins with air, tv, wi-if, were very comfortable. We also enjoyed the pool every afternoon.
But, the staff is the highlight of this resort. They welcomed us warmly and took care of our every need. The office staff were always available and their recommendations for activities in the area were a big help. The restaurant staff is excellent and worked to serve our large group as quickly as possible. The food was wonderful! Ricky, the bartender, is an artist. You must try his Piña Colada!!
I recommend Windy Hill to families, singles or groups. You'll enjoy staying there while exploring San Ignacio and the beautiful surrounding area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Savannah2t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed at Windy Hill after cancelling our stay at a higher end resort which we found to be too isolated from town. We were very impressed with Windy Hill. While this is not a high end resort, it has everything you need. We had an air conditioned deluxe cabin with in-room wifi and a TV (rare in Belize!) The staff were very accomodating and the food at the resort was tasty. Benny at the front desk was extremely helpful The taxi into town is only $5 US (at our last resort it had been $25). The pool was fairly large, but not the fanciest and was missing some tiles (as well, the water was quite murky-but there were lots of kids using it all the time). The resort is closer to town, so not really in the jungle at all, but still fairly lush and we saw some cool birds.
I would certainly stay at Windy Hill again. It has all the basics and is a good base for exploring the general area.

Room Tip: Stay in a room with A/C!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Einsteincat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I had a wonderful time at the Windy Hill Resort. My group used this resort as a “Home Base” for the following activities Cave tubing, Zip Line, Tikal, and the ATM cave. The property was well maintained and all the staff was very friendly. We had the “American food plan” which included breakfast and Dinner. The food was OK. The wait staff was fantastic. I had Amon as a waiter. I wanted a Mango which was in season and he brought me two from town the next day. He would not take any money for them. I found the cleaning staff to the front desk as accommodating. Do not depend on the internet. It only worked 20% of the time but when it worked it worked well. I don’t think that it was a Windy Hill issue but a Belize issue. The guides that they provided for the day trips were fantastic. I really liked staying here… the feel was simple clean and relaxing. I will return to this resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jpeterw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
1.6 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
790 reviews
2.4 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
620 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 13 in San Ignacio
951 reviews
1.9 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#9 of 33 in San Ignacio
638 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#6 of 13 in San Ignacio
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windy Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windy Hill Resort

Property: Windy Hill Resort
Address: Graceland Ranch | Mile 2 1/2 Benque Viejo Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
#6 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Windy Hill Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jungle Rivers, Maya Temples, Gentle Mountain Breezes...Service Extraordinaire! Located in the foothills of the Maya Mountains, the most diverse and beautiful area of Belize, Windy Hill Resort & Tour Company provides all the modern conveniences in a lush tropical setting and just minutes away from the archaeological sites and other popular attractions in Belize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Windy Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windy Hill Hotel San Ignacio
Windy Hill San Ignacio
Windy Hill Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing