We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place”
Review of Windy Hill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windy Hill Resort
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
las vegas, nv
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place”
Reviewed 5 February 2011

When looking for a place to stay in san ignatio, we came across the windy hill website. It is exactly what it states. nice cabins in a gorgeous setting, when traveling we like to go where there are not tons of people asking for silly things. The setting was great, the staff and service were excellent, the food awsome! The trips we took were all fantastic, barton creek cave, the atm cave, and chechem ha. The guides were excellent, friendly, knowlegable. It was everything we wanted and then some. We had a fantastic time! and i would recomend it to anyone. Kathy b

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkbethke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    103
    39
    15
    7
See reviews for
83
132
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

I spent five nights at Windy Hill Resort and the service was exceptional. The food at the restaurant was delicious. They were always willing to help us when we had questions regarding airport transfers and tours. I was aware that the water was not hot (but warm) prior to arriving, thus there were no surprises while we were there. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhlai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkridge, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Oh boy this place was a dump!!! Our stay here was awful and couldn't wait to leave!! The rooms were old and need upgrading badly, the so called shower was almost the worst, water wasn't hot at all, with no hot water in the sink. Where was the blow dryer? I didn't realize you had to bring your own iron! The so called restaurant was a joke, the waiter was also the bartender and he also brought us to the room to show how to rig up shower, close the blinds and turn on the lantern in the room. The list can go on and on but the bottom line is we got the heck out of there after 2 days of disappointment

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nursenatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lulupulupat, Manager at Windy Hill Resort, responded to this review, 10 January 2011
We are very sorry to hear that you had an awful stay with us. It would have been nice to know while you were still here and we would have done something to make you happy, perhaps upgrade you to an a/c deluxe cottage.

By your description of the room I know you stayed in one of our budget rooms. We have two types of rooms available and these rooms are usually used by budget travelers so they are not very fancy, but they are clean.

We have really nice deluxe a/c cottages that start at US$130.00 based on double occupancy.
I'm sure both options were offered to you at check in time. As a rule we show customers the two types of rooms available before they make a choice. It is unfortunate that what you chose based on your budget wasn't what you really wanted.

In regard to the blow dryer we do not keep blow dryers in our rooms but we do have blow dryers available at our front desk for guests to use. If you would have asked, a blow dryer would have been given to you.

I am really surprised about your comment in regard to our dining room and bar staff. We have never received any complaints about this before. As a matter of fact, all the comments we ever receive from this department are really great.

When we check in our guests we explain to them how the water heater works. The water is heated on demand and therefore we ask that you open the shower slowly at first and to let it run for a few seconds in order for the water to warm. We also show them how to turn on the lamps in the rooms and how to open and close the windows. I’m really shocked that anyone would not appreciate the instructions and familiarization.

Kindly contact us directly and we will do our best to make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

The grounds at Windy Hill are superb compared to the surrounding area, but the cabins made it feel more like an upscale campground than a 'resort'. That being said, the staff was over the top excellent and the service more than made up for our hopes in regards to the accommodations. But don't get us wrong....in the end, the rooms were sparkling clean and the area offered 4 days worth of adventure and you will not be disappointed at Windy Hill as long as you know what to expect.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blam2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2010

spent a week and a half at the windy hill resort and had an amazing time! the tours were extremely well organised and great fun. the rooms and resort itself were stunning and all the staff were extremely helpful, especially the receptionists and those who led our tours. thank you very much for a great holiday!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Windy Hill Resort is amazing. The people there are so friendly, polite and helpful. We made lots of friends and had so much fun on the tours especially caving and Tikal. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JB94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Located in a great spot just 5 min by taxi from town, we actually walked once to town and it took about 25 min downhill. Wouldnt recommend walking from town to the hotel since it is all uphill. The property is just 10 min from the Guatemala boarder and 5 min from a small mayan ruin as well. There isnt too much intown so I was glad i went with windy hill which was nice and spacious. We were upgraded to a deluxe cabin which was spacious, their tiny TV had tons of channels. The property itself is huge with a nice swimming pool, small gym, and beautifully landscaped. I cant speak for the meals since i never ate there, it was low season so there was only 1 other couple around, so we opted to eat in town everyday. Martha's guesthouse has a good food, as does Han Nah's which raise their own pigs and lamb.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudieNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
1.6 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
2.4 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#9 of 33 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#6 of 13 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.5 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 13 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windy Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windy Hill Resort

Property: Windy Hill Resort
Address: Graceland Ranch | Mile 2 1/2 Benque Viejo Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
#6 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Windy Hill Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jungle Rivers, Maya Temples, Gentle Mountain Breezes...Service Extraordinaire! Located in the foothills of the Maya Mountains, the most diverse and beautiful area of Belize, Windy Hill Resort & Tour Company provides all the modern conveniences in a lush tropical setting and just minutes away from the archaeological sites and other popular attractions in Belize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Windy Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windy Hill Hotel San Ignacio
Windy Hill San Ignacio
Windy Hill Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing