We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maya Mountain Lodge
Ranked #6 of 32 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great little spot!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed at Maya for the first 2 nights of our honeymoon because we wanted to see ATM before heading off to the beaches of San Pedro. The staff was very friendly before and during our stay and the food was incredible! The first night we had an Asian inspired meal and it was delicious! We assumed breakfast would be something small (ie blah American continental breakfasts) and simple but it was a nice large meal that got us ready for our trip to ATM. We brought back some chocolates and wine we purchased on our way back from the tour and they let us keep our items in the fridge so we didn't have to lug it back and forth between our room and the kitchen area. The rooms were small but comfortable. Since it's an eco-lodge, you aren't going to get full AC or a huge bathroom but it was very nice and the price was great! The hotel was at the top of a hill so walking to town wasn't an option but they were happy to call us a taxi for our dinner in town. All in all, it was a great place to start our Belizean adventure and honeymoon. Thank you!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmhira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    119
    25
    11
    10
See reviews for
101
185
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shokan, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Maya Mountain was our first stop on our first trip to Belize. A driver was waiting for us at the airport in Belize City and we got a guided tour all the way to the lodge. The excellent service never stopped. Everyone at Maya Mountain was friendly and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and fun. The cabana was clean and spacious with much appreciated a/c. Wifi was available, although it wasn't strong in the room. The pool was clean and refreshing. The dining area was very pleasant and the food...well, lets just say that we stopped eating anywhere else! We went on a couple of tours and the guides were outstanding. Ben Cruz was a very knowledgeable guide for the ATM cave and we absolutely loved Dora Ruano for our trip to Tikal. We felt like we were traveling with a friend instead of someone we hired.
We also liked the close proximity to the town of San Ignacio. It was a short cab ride, but we preferred to walk and felt safe doing so. The town has a great market on weekends if you are looking for gifts to bring home. We hope to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

My husband and I went for our honeymoon and everything was perfect! The staff was what really made the vacation special as I feel like we left with many new friends. Everyone was so friendly and accommodating, and they also will set up any trips you wish to go on. And let me say we never ate so good in our lives! There is so much to do in San Ignacio, Cayo, and we can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas, tx
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Maya Mountain Lodge is fantastic. I haven't traveled abroad in such a long time and had many questions. I emailed MML and they kept in speedy contact with their responses and suggestions before booking. They also provided us recipes after our stay. I traveled with a group of 4 adults. We got the cabana which was really spacious. The AC was great and there were extra fans. The staff was wonderful and treated us great. The pool was a refreshing bonus. The food is incredible and fulfilling with 5 courses. Our meals were served outside so you could bird watch. We had informed them that someone in our group preferred different foods and they made them something special everyday. They were really attentive. When we arrived we had informed Elmer which tours we were interested in and he created a perfect tour itinerary for us. They know the best times to go on the tours. The tour guides they paired with our group, Diego and Ben, were awesome, very knowledgeable, and paid attention to our group. The staff at MML is so friendly and accommodating. Elmer, Danny, and the rest of the staff thank you so much for everything.

Room Tip: the cabanas are private family units with an outside hammock and are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler-girl_2033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

My step son and I took a great hiking and exploring vacation together. We stayed at the Maya Mountain Lodge. Very personable and attentive service, food was excellent, rooms were clean, cool and spacious. The pool was also nice and available whenever you want! we got an inexpensive rental car at the airport and drove about 2 hrs (heads up on road bumps) and we were there. The lodge is close to everything from ruins to Pizza and beer all 5-10 minutes away by car or taxi. The Lodge has no alcohol available but...rum is Belize is as inexpensive as $7 USD and lots of little shops sell coke, beer and snacks and fruit. I may go back with my wife at some point as the lodge offers comfortable private bungalows. Great place and excellent value.

Room Tip: FYI There was no fitness center(not really a big surprise). Our two person room could have handled a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chet s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, USA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

I goofed my first review, yesterday with the rating by not rereading everything. The Lodge has 2 types of accommodations. Parrot's Perch (a stilt raised porch), has several smaller rooms for one or two persons, Free standing cabanas are more spacious. We've stayed in both on several visits lasting from one to two weeks. All rooms have AC & fans, with the perch having screened windows as well. The perch has porch hammocks, table and chairs, the cabanas have a patio with hammock. The grounds have plenty of trees for birds, with feeders at the dining area. Food is fantastic, plentiful, and varied. Vegetarians have no problem with special meals. The staff is friendly and helpful in all ways. There is a swimming pool, free wi-fi, free safe, and they'll arrange tours for you. The Parrot's Perch has a remodeled large room with a spacious bathroom, and bunks for kids. Room rates ranged from about $80 to $100 at the perch and $120 for a cabana when we visited most recently. I hope this rating of excellent finds its way to replace my mistake.

Room Tip: The perch might be better if you have kids with you. We did not, but saw a family with middle schoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElfinWoodsWarbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed in a room in the lodge in April. The hotel management and staff was very kind and accommodating throughout our stay. The rooms were adequate - quiet, air conditioned, hot water, clean. Meals were excellent and served outdoors. The pool was very refreshing. The value was excellent.

Room Tip: Next time, I will rent a private bungalow - would like to have a little more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
1.2 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
2.5 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#6 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.7 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Cahal Pech Village Resort
#8 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Mountain Lodge

Property: Maya Mountain Lodge
Address: 3/4 Mile Cristo Rey Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Maya Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maya Mountain Lodge is a small family run eco-jungle lodge located 3/4 Mls. On the Cristo Rey Road, only five minutes from downtown San Ignacio, Belize. Offering 15 air conditioned units varying from family cottages equipped with kitchenettes to our standard rooms. We also have economy rooms for the budget conscious. Weekly and monthly rates are available for up to 70% discount. We are famous for our dining service which features cultural meals of the different ethnic groups in Belize. Dining reservations are recommended. We also offer cooking courses when booked in advance. We have a tour desk which provides safe, reliable tours of high quality and which are fun as well as educational. There is a pool, nature trails, tropical gardens,conference room, spa, and free WiFi. Our Wellness Center provides spa, educational courses, wellness cooking classes, yoga, and alternative healing referrals. Hiking, birding, and both guided and self tours of organic and tropical gardens available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maya Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Mountain Hotel San Ignacio
Maya Mountain Lodge Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing