We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what I expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maya Mountain Lodge
Ranked #6 of 32 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not what I expected!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Well, I'll make this review short and sweet. We booked 4 nights here and didn't make it more than a couple hours. From the exterior this place seemed like it would be very nice. After we sat down on the bed, almost immediately bugs started jumping/crawling on us. Even after spraying and entire bottle of bug spray on the bed, they continued to crawl on us. I do understand that this is a jungle and bugs are everywhere, however bugs in the bed are just unacceptable. I'm not sure if they were "bed bugs" or not, and I was not interested in finding out. They did offer us a different room to stay in, but after our experience we kindly declined.

-S&S

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank S_S_traveling_abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartMickler, Owner at Maya Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
We regret that this reviewer’s expectations were not met, yet, sometimes this is almost impossible. It happens occasionally that individuals have needs different from each other and, without consulting, one person books a jungle lodge when the other person wanted a town luxury hotel. We received an apology from one of them when they checked out explaining that they understood too late that they needed something similar to what they are used to. That person further said that the cancellation was their fault and they did not expect a refund. They went directly to a luxury hotel in town.

We are in the jungle so we take several measures to prevent insects from entering the rooms. We have screened windows and fumigate when necessary. Our housekeepers do a wonderful job of keeping the rooms clean and very attractive. Our room inspectors are highly experienced and capable.

This cottage was inspected a couple of hours prior to the guest arrival, as per our policy, and there were no bugs on the bed or in the room. After the guests checked out, our maintenance personnel did a thorough inspection of the room and didn't find any bugs or insects in the entire room. Nevertheless, according to “best practices”, we fumigated that room entirely and installed a new mattress so that other guests reading this review can rest assured that there are no bug infestations of any kind in our lovely rooms and cottages

We know that we can exceed the expectations of almost all of our guests. Both the owners and staff look forward to doing just that in years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    119
    25
    11
    10
See reviews for
101
185
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

My girlfriend and I spent three nights at Maya Mountain. We arrived in the afternoon and ended up eating at the resort. The food was good, however, you will find a lot more value when you go into San Ignacio. We rented one of the rooms in the larger lodge. Room was clean, and had AC and a fan. However, if the AC was on and the windows were closed, the windows would rattle. Therefore, it was kind of a choice between leaving the AC on with the windows open or turning the AC off and being warm at night.
We did two tours: ATM and Barton Creek Canoeing. You have to do ATM as it is something I will remember for a long time. You are going to get very wet so dress appropriately. Unfortunately, cameras are not allowed, otherwise I would have taken a million shots. You will be walking through water up to your neck through caves, climbing limestone rocks and seeing artifacts from the Mayan era. Those that are older can do it (our group had an average age of around 60 apart from my gf and I) but if you have any issues getting out of bed in the morning, be aware.
Canoeing was fun, though we thought we would be doing the canoeing. The guide handled the grunt of the work, was very informative on how the caves were created and used by the Mayans. For those who cannot handle ATM, I would recommend this. Went swimming at Big Rock. Beautiful. If you do this, I suggest getting a guide. The roads are awful around there and getting a flat would not be fun.
Overall stay at the lodge was a nice escape from the city and was close enough to San Ignacio to not feel secluded. Staff was extremely friendly. Breakfast was always well done. Ask for the mango jam. Deck outside our room was very peaceful and made for a nice place to relax in the evenings.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turlock, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We booked a room for Maya Mountain Lodge after visiting the Cayes to do Tikal and ATM excursions. The accommodations give you a feeling of being in the jungle, and it is a great escape from the busy world we live in. The staff was great and took care of our requests. We really liked Elmer! The people that stayed in the rooms around us were amazing, and we ended up having a great time bonding in the common area. Tikal is a day trip, and ATM is a MUST!!! Both excursions were booked with the Maya Mountain Lodge and we had no issues. The guides were amazing. We only ate one of the meals they offered for dinner it was a bit pricey for the portions, but the tres leeches cake was great! Beds were a little uncomfortable because my husband and I are both tall so they felt like they were going to break. Bring your own alcohol because they do not have a bar, or any alcohol for sale. So hit the store before you check in.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Grace F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Excellent personnel. They were very friendly and helpful. Set you up for trips daily and made sure all was fine each day. We paid for the meal package and had great food for every meal. Nice central area that was open air where meals were served. Everyone gathered here and shared stories about the days adventure. Always had tea out. plenty of bottled water for free for water bottle filling. Hot showers and great water pressure! Rooms were cleaned daily with fresh linen. Provided round trip airport shuttle which was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukesha
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

I was one of 24 that visited this lovely place. My room was very comfortable even sharing it with a fellow traveler. The thatched roofs made the rooms feel spacious and authentic. The meals were well prepared and our hosts bent over backwards to make sure we had everything we needed. There is a pool on the premise but since it was pretty chilly at this time of year we didn't use it but it looks nice and clean. Our hosts also took care of booking our trip into Guatemala and Mike's Place cave canoe trip. As with all travel we had a few little glitches with the mud on the roads to get to some of the places but again we went near the rainy season but nothing that would prevent me from staying there again and it added to the adventure. The hammock on the porch of our bungalow was just was needed at the end of the day. They do not serve alcohol here but there are shops nearby to purchase it. The lodge will be happy to keep your beer cold for you. Some rooms have frig's.

Room Tip: For families they have larger rooms and some of the rooms have a twin bed and a full size bed. You w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kariken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

A little out of the town in Santa Elena on a side road to the left up a hill off western road before turning right for the bridge detour if your heading west on western road into Santa Elena.

Grounds are nice and well cared for giving the place a jungle feel.
The parking was plentiful while we stayed though I could see how space inside the hotel parking area could be limited if it were to full up.

Check in was easy and the host was friendly he even walked us up to our room so we wouldn't get lost. Beware they will try to sell their typically overpriced tours and meals to you on the walk to your room.

The pool is small and was quite chilly in January. But the way it's enclosed by the jungle is nice. And it seemed very clean.

There's a nice shared hammock table space with other patrons and makes it easy to meet other people outside of the rooms.

The room. Well it needs a little tlc. My advice fix your ceiling. Paint it so guests don't see old water damage or mold. In the bathroom find a way to ventilate so there's not old mold at the ceiling or use mold killer. It just brings the place down a notch when you see a rotten looking ceiling. Instead of a basic light bulb try slapping some sort of cover over it. With a little effort this place might be worth what guests pay.

The room was clean. Linens though basic and thin but were clean. I did wonder how often the extra blanket and bed cover may get washed though. I never spotted a single bug here.

Basic cheap rooms have no TV but do come with ac, ours had a fan and two wall outlets. All worked well. They supply filtered water in pitchers and a bubbler.

Now the bed.... Ah the bed. If 2 people are trying to sleep in the double bed in room 3 good luck. It's the creakiest bed I've ever encountered and you start to wonder if you will wake up on the floor. I imagine someone will soon. The pillows are like sleeping on lumpy oatmeal and you may feel an occasional spring in your back. So my advice is don't take room 3 if there's two of you. And my advice to the owner is do something about your bed frame and the mattress and pillows.

Overall this hotel has a nice grounds and with some simple little improvements by the owner it could be great for the price. But after 2 night of the talking bed and bad sleep and looking at a dumpy moldy ceiling my sleeping hours will be spent elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amber1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bart1919, Owner at Maya Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
We thank the reviewer for sharing where deficiencies existed. The managers and owners have listened and corrected those deficiencies. The bed has been replaced, the new (3 weeks old) orthopedic mattress was, to our surprise, defective and was returned for a new mattress. The sun is finally out and we have been able to paint. We had record rains in Belize just before we filled up for Christmas and New Years. Thankfully the major rains are behind us and we look forward to a lot of sun. New pillows, towels and sheets have been purchased. This room just got a makeover thanks to our reviewer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

My twelve year old son and I spent three nights here and couldn't have been more pleased with this peaceful mountain retreat. Nestled a mile away from the main highway it was a peaceful place where you could hear the sounds of the jungle, rather than noise from the people.

The staff were all excellent. My son is a vegetarian and they took care of him creating special meals that were unbelievable. The lodge booked all of our necessary adventures with a smile. We loved Tikal in Guatemala, river tubing (plan this around large cruise ships if you can) and canoeing in Barton Creek Cave. We would have liked to have done the adventurous ATM cave tour, but the river was too high. Everyone that was able to go before us recommended it.

If you like the sort of place where you become instant friends with all of the other guests, eat dinner with the owners each night and all of the staff make you feel right at home - this is the place for you.

One note - there are no TVs at all here, which is what we wanted but if you need to have them you'll need to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra to get your own hut. They have thatched roofs that make it feel like you are mil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
1.2 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
2.5 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#6 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.7 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Cahal Pech Village Resort
#8 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Mountain Lodge

Property: Maya Mountain Lodge
Address: 3/4 Mile Cristo Rey Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Maya Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maya Mountain Lodge is a small family run eco-jungle lodge located 3/4 Mls. On the Cristo Rey Road, only five minutes from downtown San Ignacio, Belize. Offering 15 air conditioned units varying from family cottages equipped with kitchenettes to our standard rooms. We also have economy rooms for the budget conscious. Weekly and monthly rates are available for up to 70% discount. We are famous for our dining service which features cultural meals of the different ethnic groups in Belize. Dining reservations are recommended. We also offer cooking courses when booked in advance. We have a tour desk which provides safe, reliable tours of high quality and which are fun as well as educational. There is a pool, nature trails, tropical gardens,conference room, spa, and free WiFi. Our Wellness Center provides spa, educational courses, wellness cooking classes, yoga, and alternative healing referrals. Hiking, birding, and both guided and self tours of organic and tropical gardens available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maya Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Mountain Hotel San Ignacio
Maya Mountain Lodge Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing