We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely afternoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely afternoon”
Reviewed 12 January 2013

One can pay 12 BLZ $ and hang out at the pool. What a deal! The pool was refreshing and towels are provided. There is a changing room that is clean and convenient. There was no pool side service. I decided to stay for dinner for a treat. The price was more than what I have been paying but the food was very good and the amount of food was so much I have lunch for tomorrow. The staff was very attentive and answered questions about the menu with good knowledge.

This is where the royals chose to stay for their recent visit to Belize.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank draePDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    745
    182
    28
    7
    2
See reviews for
245
376
48
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

The staff was professional. The place was clean. The bathrooms are a blessing. The restaurant food was delicious. The iguana farm tour is a must see! Unfortunately the butterfly tour isn't there anymore contrary to what the guide book said.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Each time I have the great fortune to stay at the SIRH, I am even more impressed. The staff are so friendly and helpful. They are always asking, "Miss, is there anything you need?" The food is the best ever! My favorite is Cayo Bollo, followed by the Mediterranean Salad and a wonderful Coconut pie....

Service is impeccable and that view - need I say more.


The SIRH is my FAVORITE home away from home.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennMorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

We booked the Master Suite for 5 days over Xmas. The room itself is very nice and the decor / furnishings are of a high standard. The bed is excellent with a superb large top quality mattress. There is a hot tub on the balcony which would be great if it didn't take nearly an hour to fill and the jets were able to push through the water with any sense of pressure. It really wasn't useable.
There is a serious problem with the water in the Master Suite. It ranged from being non existent to working for a few minutes only. In 5 days we were unable to shower without the water stopping. We reported it to reception 3 times who sent a maintenance man who turned it on and declared it worked. There was one hushed murmuring of a water pressure issue from the front desk so obviously they are aware of an issue.
The restaurant food is just ok but everything seems to be frozen and then overcooked. Breakfast and lunch is better than dinner. The time taken to serve meals is a big issue. For example, breakfast starts from 7am but this in reality means the time at which tables are set rather than orders taken. This doesn't work for the morning tours that start at either 7:30am or 8am as it takes the kitchen no less than 30 mins to serve up any meal. Dinner service is incredibly slow and we waited 45 mins for 2 drinks and the meals can take up to 1 hour to appear even though there are no more than 12 tables when full. The food is at best tepid and it is not helped by the plates being cold. The best tables are on the balcony but you need to reserve these in advance. We were not told about this on checkin but when we did reserve a table it was given to someone else.
We paid for a package which included excursions, breakfast, dinner and packed lunch on excursions. Upon checkin at the hotel we were given meal vouchers and were missing 3 which took 30 mins to resolve. The idea of vouchers gave the stay of a budget hotel but $3600 USD for 5 nights is hardly budget. You had to sheepishly hand over the vouchers and were then told what you could or couldn't 't have from the menu.
On a positive note the tours are very good. Zip lining, cave tubing, ATM cave , Xunantunich / Cahal Pech, Caracol were excellent. The drivers and guides (Ted and Cruz) were very good.
Bird / iguana watching at breakfast or Kinkajou / opossum watching at dinner is not to be missed as they appear in the big palm tree right beside the balcony dining area.
We would recommend this hotel but the Management need to resolve the issues outlined above.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KV1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We loved Mary and Lacey at the front desk! These two just totally made our trip! We dropped the ball when it came to planning our trip through Belize but they saved the day. They helped us find places to stay, helped us explore and find a reputable touring company, and more importantly, they made us feel at home at San Ignacio Hotel. We will tell everyone to go visit them if they're ever in Belize. Thank you two so much! Consuelo was equally awesome helping us out as we chose to save money by hand-washing our own clothes in the shower. She brought us a bucket (saved the day!) and then even offered to dry our stuff for free when we were done. Overall, we brought home with us only good memories of this place.

Room Tip: I don't exactly remember the same of the room we got, maybe the Deluxe King? - with the super ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aztec, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We have stayed at this place several times, all have been great, this may have been even better. Rooms are very nice, very clean. The iguana part of the property is excellent, they have knowledgeable guides to take you around and is part of the hotel so does not cost extra. This trip we enjoyed to terrace for afternoon cocktails and a early dinner from the Running W which is the in house restaurant and also the main supplier of beef in Belize. My daughter had the filet mignon, I had the Porterhouse, both of which was excellent.

The views from the restaurant terrace is of the jungle, the swimming pool below. The wait staff is very friendly, excellent service and all of them have a excellent sense of humor, as do almost all Belizeans.

This is the place to stay in San Ignacio area, especially if you want a nice resort at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

This hotel looks wonderful as soon as you arrive and then we were given a welcome drink - rum punch - delicious! The art works in the lobby are spectacular and colourful wildlife scenes. Our room went out to a patio onto a tropical garden and we could hear birds in the morning. The ceiling fan gave just the right amount of cool air movement. Meals could be taken overlooking the pool and jungle in the hotel's 'backyard', which we walked through on our way to the iguana sanctuary the next morning. A real highlight was seeing the green iguanas and the large males displaying a bright orange colour. Everything was perfect at this hotel, from the welcome to the cup of tea after dinner to the friendly service staff (speaking English of course) and the smooth departure in the morning after the iguana tour.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanleeCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
3.0 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
806 reviews
2.7 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
624 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
278 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
686 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#6 of 13 in San Ignacio
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Ignacio Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Ignacio Resort Hotel

Property: San Ignacio Resort Hotel
Address: # 18 Buena Vista St, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Spa Hotel in San Ignacio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Ignacio Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open to guests since 1976, San Ignacio Resort Hotel provides unsurpassed levels of luxury and Belizean hospitality. The Resort has been awarded with the title HOTEL OF THE YEAR 2016/2012, RESTAURANT OF THE YEAR 2016, and HOSPITALITY AWARD 2015 by the Belize Tourism Board. Perched on a hillside located within a 17-acre private estate, 72 miles west of Belize City, gives the Resort its unique name of "the only jungle in town". A short walk puts you in downtown San Ignacio or in the middle of Belize's ancient Maya temples known as Cahal Pech. The Hotel offers various amenities where visitors can relax and enjoy amazing views of Belize. In addition, it is home to the award-wining Green Iguana Conservation Project, located on-site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your San Ignacio Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ignacio Hotel San Ignacio
San Ignacio Resort Hotel Belize

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing