We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Awesome stay!”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We have been to San Ignacio hotel many times, and can only say that the experience each time is more rewarding. The people, the view, the solitude and beauty is what makes San Ignacio Resort Hotel an awesome place to stay. They were doing a major renovation at the time and were still the beautiful and pleasant place as always to enjoy. We can't wait to see the resort on our next trip!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    713
    180
    27
    7
    2
See reviews for
233
366
45
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The hotel is lovely, as are it's employees. During our 3-night stay at the hotel, we were most impressed by the attentive staff, many of whom work very long hours and remain cheerfully helpful. Paulita, owner/manager, was very solicitous when my husband was ill, and was prepared to provide any necessary assistance. Onil, the guest services manager, is very skilled in his role, and went well beyond the norm to coordinate last-minute tours for us. Ted, our driver and Tikal guide, was a warm and kind man who was the perfect introduction to Belizean people and culture. Eddie, who oversees the Iguana Project, is both knowledgeable and delightful, and obviously loves his work. And Aaron, restaurant server extraordinaire, became my hero when he was able to acquire for me the recipe for the hotel's excellent coconut pie! And they all function together like a well-oiled machine. Hats off to the family-owners/operators.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PegDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Our family had a wonderful stay, We booked a cave tubing trip for the first day and a Tikal tour the second day which did not allow us much time to see the town. We did ask about directions to the ice cream shop in town and were treated to a ride by the staff. Very good ice cream.

The resort was under some construction during our stay...the noise was not much of a bother, but felt like we were missing out as certain areas were closed off. Poolside was fabulous, we enjoyed an afternoon after our tubing trip.

Overall, the resort staff was top notch and the resort was well maintained.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dksmith2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel has everything you could ever ask for and then some! Amaris, we can't say enough kind words about this woman! She is the one who greeted us at the hotel and treated us as family from the moment we first called. After we had issues at another one of the San Ignacio ' s hotels we called the San Ignacio Resort Hotel and all of our problems just melted away. There is nothing this hotel can't handle, from early moring breakfast to lunch to dinners even a sprain ankle! During an evening walk to the city center I severely sprain my ankle. Amaris and staff did everything they could to make sure I was as comfortable as possible. Special thanks to Kristen as well.

From a trip that started out a little rough this place totally turned it around. I would recommend anyone and everyone to stay here. We can't say enough about the staff here. If we could rate this place any better we would. Thanks again, we will be definitely staying here again!

-Seth&Sarah

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank S_S_traveling_abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I stayed with my family at San Ignacio Resort for 3 nights. The hotel is in the town of San Ignacio. A few restaurants in the town are 10-15 min walk away from the hotel. The hotel has a nice terrace restaurant which looks at the swimming pool and the forest. If you are lucky, you can spot some toucans from the terrace. The pool is small but practical.

The rooms are comfortable and the nearby Iguana Project is worth a visit. The staff are nice and helpful. Especially the concierge person helped us a lot in arranging a tour to Tikal or creating our itinerary.

Overall we were happy for our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akrep81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahuarita, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had a marvelous time at this hotel. Our room was well appointed, with a beautiful, huge walk in shower and a patio that looked out to a lovely garden. The meals were excellent, with many choices and everything tasty. The staff were extremely helpful in every way. The back patio looks over the gorgeous pool and out into the jungle canopy. Each morning there are all sorts of exotic birds to view, right at eye level. A great stop off point in your exploration of the Maya ruins and culture.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamestown, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The staff was so friendly and welcoming. They knew us by first name and we felt very safe and comfortable. The hotel is undergoing some renovations so there was some hammering but very beautiful grounds and clean hotel. The meals were delicious and affordable. Very peaceful surroundings and relaxing area near a busy little town within walking distance. San Ignacio was safe for walking day and evening hours. Meals were delicious and affordable there as well. The tours from hotel were prearranged through Discovery Expeditions and everything we did was about 1 to 11/2 hours away on very bumpy, windy roads but made for the total jungle experience.

Room Tip: We never even looked for the spa area. And didn't need a fitness center as we walked and hiked d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdh20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
3.0 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
2.7 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.7 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#9 of 33 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#6 of 13 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Ignacio Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Ignacio Resort Hotel

Property: San Ignacio Resort Hotel
Address: # 18 Buena Vista St, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Spa Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Ignacio Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open to guests since 1976, San Ignacio Resort Hotel provides unsurpassed levels of luxury and Belizean hospitality. The Resort has been awarded with the title HOTEL OF THE YEAR 2016/2012, RESTAURANT OF THE YEAR 2016, and HOSPITALITY AWARD 2015 by the Belize Tourism Board. Perched on a hillside located within a 17-acre private estate, 72 miles west of Belize City, gives the Resort its unique name of "the only jungle in town". A short walk puts you in downtown San Ignacio or in the middle of Belize's ancient Maya temples known as Cahal Pech. The Hotel offers various amenities where visitors can relax and enjoy amazing views of Belize. In addition, it is home to the award-wining Green Iguana Conservation Project, located on-site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your San Ignacio Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ignacio Hotel San Ignacio
San Ignacio Resort Hotel Belize

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing