We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Ignacio Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Redcliffe, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

San Ignacio Resort Hotel was a fabulous place to stay. I was there for 3 nights and really enjoyed my private courtyard and wonderful grounds. I took a tour through the Iguana Farm with Bert, the guide. He was very helpful and made sure I was introduced to the various Iguanas! Great fun.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieP7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    696
    175
    27
    7
    2
See reviews for
226
359
44
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria Heights, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

The Grounds are beautiful, the rooms nicely decorated and roomy including a personal patio. Service i 5 star and the Green Iguana tour should NOT be missed. You get to hold the iguana's while learning about them. The arranged a trip to TIKAL for us, another tour you should not miss. I will be telling everyone I know about the San Ignacio resort Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foster, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We were not thrilled with the stay as it was not a real Belizian experience but a typical American one. Food was not good and for the price of the room and food, we were pretty disappointed. Pool was great except for kids breaking glass in it. Rooms are nice though. Green Iguana Project was the star and highly recommend that. Front desk staff was nice but wait staff was not hospitable at all. There were a few star employees and I wish I remembered their names. We will not go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetbinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

we stayed at your hotel resort on our first trip to belize. we were very happy with the desk staff. everyone was so helpfull. very good food and very clean. thankyou so much we look forward to seeing you again on our next visit to belize.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guitarto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Washington, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We just got back from our first trip to Belize. Our time at this hotel was wonderful, the staff amazing especially the front desk. From the minute we arrived we felt like welcome guests. There was some construction going on while we were there, starting around 7:00 a.m. The work was near the dining room area except for one morning when it was outside our patio. SInce we were going on excursions we were awake around then anyway and it didn't really matter.
Breakfast on the terrace was quite a treat, just a beautiful setting and again the staff so attentive. This was a wonderful start to our vacation and I would come back here without questions!!

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, you want a room that doesn't face the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffreyBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMac
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

I spent 5 terrific nights at the San Ignacio Resort Hotel and the staff treated me like royalty. I wanted to believe it was just me, but by noticing the interaction with other guests, it's clear "exceptional service" is the norm. I came to this part of the country to enjoy the Mayan sites (many!) and active excursions (don't miss ATM!) which the hotel was able to help arrange through their in-house tour department. As this was my first trip to Belize, I did look into staying at other hotels but wanted something more accessible to town that could offer a degree of personal comfort for a solo traveller. San Ignacio Resort Hotel fit the bill perfectly. My room (Regal Room) was quite nice and the bed very comfortable. When I wasn't touring around, I spent time at the pool reading my book with cocktail in hand. Now who can beat a $4.50 US mai tai – that actually had alcohol in it! Ohhh yes, I will definitely be back! Thank you San Ignacio Resort Hotel!

Room Tip: I was quite happy with my Regal Room on the Spa/poolside of the hotel. Included a balcony area with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank essmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

I had a wonderful time at the San Ignacio Resort Hotel! The customer service was the best I've ever seen anywhere. The front desk staff was exceptional. They always greeted me by name as I passed by the lobby - this shows a huge commitment to making guests feel at home. I also really appreciated the intro tour when I checked in.
My room with terrace was terrific. The bed was huge, the bedding was ample and comfortable, the TV had a ton of channels, and the bathroom was five star.
The restaurant was excellent in every way. The food was awesome and it came quickly. For dinner I had liver twice (can't get that at home!), shrimp cocktail, and the ceviche at least twice. The Belizean breakfast was wonderful as well. Carlos and Vanessa were amazing with their friendly, enthusiastic service at breakfast, dinner and room service.
When I return to San Ignacio I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
0.9 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
2.7 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.7 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#6 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Ignacio Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Ignacio Resort Hotel

Property: San Ignacio Resort Hotel
Address: # 18 Buena Vista St, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Spa Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Ignacio Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open to guests since 1976, San Ignacio Resort Hotel provides unsurpassed levels of luxury and Belizean hospitality. The Resort has been awarded with the title "Hotel of the Year 2012" and "Hospitality Award 2015" by the Belize Tourism Board. Perched on a hillside located within a 17-acre private estate, 72 miles west of Belize City, gives the Resort its unique name of "the only jungle in town". A short walk puts you in downtown San Ignacio or in the middle of Belize's ancient Maya temples known as Cahal Pech. The Hotel offers various amenities where visitors can relax and enjoy amazing views of Belize. In addition, it is home to the award-wining Green Iguana Conservation Project, located on-site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your San Ignacio Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ignacio Hotel San Ignacio
San Ignacio Resort Hotel Belize

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing