We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experinece”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Experinece”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Best place to stay in San Ignacio, no question about that. The accommodations were first rate, staff top notch. Our family spent four days here and 4 days in San Pedro in this our first trip to Belize. We weren’t here for more than an hour and I realized I should have allocated more days in San Ignacio. Went on several excursions: Mayan Temples, Zip Lines, Cave Tubing and Cave Canoeing and all were great. All in all though we wish we would have had more free time to see the town of San Ignacio. The time we spent in town we really enjoyed the shops, restaurants and people were all very friendly. Next time we will make sure we have at least one free day to explore town in more depth.

In terms of the hotel, we were very happy. This was our first trip to Belize and didn’t want to worry about hotel “problems” in the jungle. As soon as we walked in the door we know we made the correct hotel decision. They gave us a nice tour of the place and refreshing rum punch that hit the spot. If it was good enough for the Queen of England… It is enough for all comers. We highly recommend San Ignacio Hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NKAFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    716
    180
    27
    7
    2
See reviews for
234
367
46
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This resort sent a driver to pick us up at the airport. From the moment we stepped out the door of the airport, we were treated like special guests. The decor is inviting, everything is clean and lush and beautiful. What really sets this place apart, though, is the staff. Our driver, the front desk ladies, the concierge, the service staff, housekeeping... they all knew us by name and we were always warmly greeted with a smile. The Concierge in particular was very helpful. It was our first trip to Belize, and we had purchased through a travel agency, so were not sure at all what to expect. The concierge was there as we checked in, and let us know he wanted to meet with us to go over our itinerary but was careful never to intrude as we ate or relaxed. He made sure we knew timing, what to expect, reminded us of bug spray and sun screen and even made recommendations for dining. Because many of our tours left early, he advised us to pre-order breakfast, and it was always ready on time for us to be on our way. We indulged in a massage while staying here and it was magnificent as well. If you want to be pampered in beautiful surroundings by professional, warm staff, this is the place to go.

Room Tip: Garden room was very quiet and had beautiful outdoor and indoor living space
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLCarr99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival staff greeted us at the lobby, when mentioning the humidity they brought me a cool mint wash cloth (very refreshing). Room was clean and bed was nice. Room service cleaned nicely and left tropical flowers daily to accent the clean towels. Air conditioning worked well and was a relief to have with the humidity and heat. Staff was engaging and gave tips about how to get around town and details about tours. Food at the resort was great and priced well. Great place to come back to after a long day hiking or caving.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youngsville
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one week of peaceful bliss! Absolutely no complaints at all!! The staff was so very helpful and patient. Always a smile with a greeting. The room was spacious, bed very comfortable and balcony was amazing!! Menu has good variety, we also walked to town to sample many different foods. We enjoyed the beautiful pool after a long day of tours, such great service!! Have to thank the Tour Guides Ted and Cruz who were so very well informed, patient and willing to go the extra mile for us! The hotel is a short walk to town, but its located on a hill and quite a hike back up.Want to thank Emma for keeping our room comfy and clean! Job well Done to everyone at San Ignacio Hotel!! We will be back!

Room Tip: Choose the deluxe balcony room for the beautiful view and additional outdoor space! The A/C is a bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2014

we had our 35th wedding anniversary at san ignacio resort hotel, and loved it. the staff are amazing, fresh flowers on the bed every night (thanks Consuela!) they could not have been more accommodating. will be back for sure. nicest hotel in san ignacio

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at the San Ignacio Resort Hotel for four nights at the end of May, 2014. We were visiting the area with two adult children. The hotel is located in San Ignacio but is off the beaten path. It's a very easy walk into the heart of town. Our balcony rooms were quite comfortable and we enjoyed the hammocks on the balcony. The beds were comfortable, there was adequate space and the A/C worked well (important in the tropics). We found the staff to be attentive and wanting to please. The hotel pool is very nice and a comfortable respite after visiting the local sites. The hotel restaurant is excellent. We particularly enjoyed coffee and breakfast on the terrace each morning. We were greeted at the airport by Cruz who drove us to the hotel. He was so nice, engaging and informative. Cruz is also a tour guide and he spent a day taking us to local sites. Cruz is proud of his country and a wonderful guide. He also drove us from the hotel to the water taxi in Belize City. We really liked the hotel, the staff and particularly our driver and guide, Cruz.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ntmello1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

What a wonderful find! There were 10 of us … ages 2 to 82. Everyone loved the accommodations, the meals, and the hospitality. The location is perfect for exploring Cayo, and for relaxing in between. The pool is clean, the water warm with attentive pool-side food and drink service. Our room and bathroom were up-to-date, very clean, air-conditioned and well serviced: fresh flowers tucked in every towel and on the beds. The only drawback is that the restaurant is under construction, so dining was al fresco - but the weather made it delightful. Food is fresh and well seasoned. Be sure to take the iguana tour - it is on the property and very well done. We will be back!

Room Tip: The rooms just off the lobby, and facing away from the street have nice private balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Griddedsfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
3.0 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
2.7 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.7 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#9 of 33 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#6 of 13 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Ignacio Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Ignacio Resort Hotel

Property: San Ignacio Resort Hotel
Address: # 18 Buena Vista St, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Spa Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Ignacio Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open to guests since 1976, San Ignacio Resort Hotel provides unsurpassed levels of luxury and Belizean hospitality. The Resort has been awarded with the title HOTEL OF THE YEAR 2016/2012, RESTAURANT OF THE YEAR 2016, and HOSPITALITY AWARD 2015 by the Belize Tourism Board. Perched on a hillside located within a 17-acre private estate, 72 miles west of Belize City, gives the Resort its unique name of "the only jungle in town". A short walk puts you in downtown San Ignacio or in the middle of Belize's ancient Maya temples known as Cahal Pech. The Hotel offers various amenities where visitors can relax and enjoy amazing views of Belize. In addition, it is home to the award-wining Green Iguana Conservation Project, located on-site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your San Ignacio Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ignacio Hotel San Ignacio
San Ignacio Resort Hotel Belize

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing