We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel Close to Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

San Ignacio Resort is a diamond in the rough.... my stay was about a month ago and, having never been to Belize, I had no idea what to expect at all. I'm glad we chose this resort as it was clean and comfortable, despite the extreme humidity I last escaped long ago, when I moved away from the Midwest USA.

The city center of San Ignacio is nearby - just a short walk down the big hill - and it's a stark contrast to the resort. The city does have a lot of character and a lot of nice, social people, but it's stuck in a bygone era. It feels old and gritty. Something about the design of the resort also does have a no-exactly-modern design to it, but it's kept in great condition, and they are currently expanding. That was a bummer, as the bar was closed, and there was a lot of hammering noise going on throughout the day.

As a word of caution, the staff isn't always on the same page. We needed to set up transportation to get to the Maya Flats Airport.... Someone at the front desk told us "For your flight tomorrow, just come by in the morning, and we'll call a taxi for you." Based on that info, we did just that, and the staff told us "You'll have to call from your room," and provided a couple phone numbers of local drivers. I was about to do just that - call on my own - until I thought to ask if there would be a charge to call from the room. Indeed there would be, and I finally talked the front desk staff into making the call, based on being told the previous night that they would take care of it.

Also, the pool was nice and enjoyable, especially in the evening when no one else was around. There were plenty of beetles and moths that made their way into the water, so we cleaned the pool ourselves... no biggie, but some of those bugs were huge! It's practically the jungle, after all.

Unfortunately, we didn't have time to make it to the iguana sanctuary, but we had a pretty good time and felt comfortable at the resort in the fairly short amount of time we were there.

Room Tip: The garden view room was....eh. It was clean, had two full size beds (though we only needed one, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doctoro2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,021)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

548 - 554 of 1,021 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at the San Ignacio Resort Hotel the first week of June, and enjoyed our stay. The hotel and our room were clean, with everything you'd come expect in modern a hotel like AC, flat panel TVs, and wi-fi. The wi-fi didn't really work in our room though but worked fine in the lobby, and pool area. The onsite Iguana Project is great and definitely worth checking out. We had a garden view room with a hammock and chairs and it was very peaceful to sit out there and relax after a long day of adventuring. Make sure you check the chairs before sitting on them though. Someone put a coat of paint on them twice while we there and the first time I sat on it, but luckily I was able to wash the paint out of my clothes. I probably should have complained, but it wasn't that big of a deal and I didn't want to get anyone in trouble. They really shouldn't be doing maintenance like that though when guests are in the room. Especially without putting up a wet paint sign. Hotel was quiet but you could sometimes hear music and other noises coming from the town but nothing that disturbed us. There was also some renovations going on at the hotel, but the work usually started after we left in the morning so it didn't bother us. One drawback of the renovations though was you couldn't sit inside the restaurant or go into the bar. That was fine for meals as the patio overlooks the pool and jungle and it was nice sitting out there. The drawback was if you just wanted to grab a quick drink, or would rather sit inside with the AC that wasn't really an option. Not a huge deal, but it did limit your options somewhat.
Location of the hotel is great as a jumping off point to all the various attractions in the area, and the hotel does a great job helping you out with those excursions, even if you booked it with someone else. You're only about 10-15 minutes from town, which has its pro and cons. We weren't big fans of the town itself, and found it didn't offer us much to suit our tastes, although the market on Saturday was interesting, and everyone we encountered was very friendly. We're glad we visited but I'm also glad we split our time between San Ignacio and a jungle lodge to get a different feel for the area.
Staff is really amazing and the concierge Onil is one of the most helpful friendly people we've encountered while traveling. He picked us up at the airport and walked us around the Belize Zoo, and the entire time he made us feel welcome and provided us with a wealth of information about everything we encountered. Really a great guy.
We really enjoyed stay at the San Ignacio Resort Hotel and looks to be the nicest hotel in the area. Would definitely stay again if we visited San Ignacio.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triptripfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is a nice hotel, close to the center of San Ignacio (15 minutes walk, $5 bz cab ride). Clean, safe hotel and friendly staff- they were very accommodating. The restaurant was decent, and the pool was clean if not luxurious. We definitely recommend staying over on a Saturday- the San Ignacio market on Saturday mornings is fantastic. Check it out!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poetryNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I love the San Ignacio Hotel. Breakfast on the deck overlooking the pool and listening to the birds. And I always take people to visit the Iguana Project to hold iguanas. They do a great job! The rooms are clean and the front desk staff are always so friendly. I recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The motel is small enough to feel personal without compromising on amenities. Offers beautiful rooms with a charming balcony, plus the outdoor dining area is a real treat. However, the best part about the hotel- no question- the staff. This is the kind of place where the staff gives a room tour upon checking in, finds you sunblock, makes you a pack lunch, and calls the tour driver when you've left your hat on the van days before. Don't even consider staying anywhere else in San Ignacio!

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony, we noticed the other rooms were quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SIRH_Manager, Marketing Manager at San Ignacio Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Good morning Jess,

I wish this was Facebook I could click the like button on your review. Thank you for the kind words. I will definitely pass this review on to all of our Team. We strive extremely hard to deliver an unsurpassed level of service. I am pleased you enjoyed your vacation. Please come back and visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Trinity

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were three ladies traveling together. We loved the hotel, had plenty of room for the three of us. Lots of birds and iguana to see while we dined. Food was very good. Hotel was doing renovations, so kitchen didn't always have what was on the menu, but what we had was very good. Staff was so helpful from the guys changing light bulbs to the ladies at the front desk. Excursions were very good and the guides were very knowledgeable. Belize is still undiscovered, however the government as well as the guides are rvery proactive in saving their archeological treasures and making Belize a top tourist destination.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This hotel which was built a few years ago is undergoing renovations but the main hotel is finished. Our room was spacious and well appointed, air cond. great bathroom. The bed was large a Cal King. The pool was clean and well maintained. Food was very good. The staff were friendly and helpful. Overall our stay was delightful. The have an iguana exhibit on sight, well worth seeing.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the pool direction, they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sierratraveller53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SIRH_Manager, Marketing Manager at San Ignacio Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Just want to clarify that the hotel was the first hotel in San Ignacio and was built in 1976. We have undergone several phases of renovations to be the amazing hotel you see today. We are again under renovations to improve and add on to our amenities and facilities. We look forward to hosting you again so you can see first hand the amazing changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
3.0 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#3 of 14 in San Ignacio
841 reviews
2.7 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
640 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
141 reviews
11.1 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
445 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Ignacio Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Ignacio Resort Hotel

Address: # 18 Buena Vista St, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
#4 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#4 Spa Hotel in San Ignacio
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range: £153 - £397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Ignacio Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open to guests since 1976, San Ignacio Resort Hotel provides unsurpassed levels of luxury and Belizean hospitality. The Resort has been awarded with the title HOTEL OF THE YEAR 2016/2012, RESTAURANT OF THE YEAR 2016, and HOSPITALITY AWARD 2015 by the Belize Tourism Board. Perched on a hillside located within a 17-acre private estate, 72 miles west of Belize City, gives the Resort its unique name of "the only jungle in town". A short walk puts you in downtown San Ignacio or in the middle of Belize's ancient Maya temples known as Cahal Pech. The Hotel offers various amenities where visitors can relax and enjoy amazing views of Belize. In addition, it is home to the award-wining Green Iguana Conservation Project, located on-site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your San Ignacio Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ignacio Hotel San Ignacio
San Ignacio Resort Hotel Belize

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing