We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel under construction”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“good hotel under construction”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Nice hotel with AC which was important for our group. The rooms have AC but the common areas didn't . The hotel was under construction and renovations for both additional rooms and suites as well as the restaurant. I heard that they were also adding a fitness area. The rooms on the first floor seem to be all newly renovated. The rooms on the lower levels are not all renovated especially the stairways and halls leading to the lower levels which was dark and old looking. One of our rooms had issues with the AC and phone not working along with other small nuisances like no hair dryer and not enough lighting. We asked to change the room but hotel was full so had to wait for next day to change and was given a room on the first floor which was one of the newer renovated rooms... much nicer. They give you a coffee maker in the room but you can pick up coffee by the restaurant in the morning if you want.

We had a couple of breakfasts and one dinner at the hotel and prices were ok considering you're dining at a hotel. Of course you can find less expensive options in town ( Erva's , Cenaida's, Pop's , Eva's ) . Food was decent but the they ran out of fried Jacks the morning we had breakfast which is surprising considering its part of the belizean breakfast staple. Also we asked what fruits were in the tropical fruit plate but the wait staff couldn"t answer properly and said "whatever is available in the kitchen" so we got Pineapple, canteloupe and watermelon (not tropical ) ...but no mango or Papaya. We pre-ordered breakfast the night before on our last night because we wanted a quick breakfast before heading out and that worked really well.

The biggest downside to the hotel is that it is situated up a steep hill and walking down isn't that bad but the walk up is a challenge. You can take a cab but establish the price before you get in. some cabs charge more than others but should be about 5 belize dollars each way. would be nice if the hotel could provide a shuttle. Hotel provides free wifi but it's spotty depending on which room you get and how close you are to the modem.

We did the Iguana conservation tour which is behind the hotel and under shade so wear bug spray. We went the day that the iguana's just got bathed (they do once a month) to rid them of fleas and ticks which was comforting considering the iguana's climb all over you. wear long pants and shirt with at least short sleeves since their claws are sharp.

The Staff was courteous and helpful for the most part but there are a few that could use a dose of friendliness. I didn't book any excursions through the hotel but rather directly with the tour operators which are in town (check around for prices). We went with Pacz tours and were pleased with their service and knowledge.

Room Tip: rooms on first floor facing the pool are renovated and have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLM10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    745
    182
    28
    7
    2
See reviews for
245
376
48
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I want to get some possible negatives out of the way first:

1) It's in town. San Ignacio is a nice little town with lots of decent food options. It's a short walk to the main street, but the hotel is up a fairly steep hill, which can be kind of a slog in 90 degree heat, if you're walking, and it's not the prettiest neighborhood outside, but it's safe.
2) It's under-construction. Only half of the hotel is open right now, i think, and the tennis court, etc, are in kind of iffy shape. Especially the back area by the pool is not super nice looking.
3) The food is kinda mediocre and over priced -- tough steaks, bland sauces, etc. This is not as bad as it could be, though, because there's a lot of cheap options for decent local food within a 5 minute walk -- try Pop's for breakfast.

All of that out of the way, here are the positives:

1) Compared to the big resorts outside of town, the price is about $100 or more a night cheaper. And you can save even more money because you're in town and can use local tour guides, cab drivers, and restaurants instead of being stuck half a mile down a dirt road in the middle of nowhere, relying on your resort for everything. If you want a nice hotel experience for a few days without spending a grand or more, this is probably the best option in San Ignacio.

2) The staff is fantastic. I proposed to my GF there and they went way out of their way to set-up a private dinner for us in our room, including candles, flowers and other decorations. They did *way* more than I expected, and seemed genuinely happy for us. They made the stay really special for us.

3) The rooms were big, with a huge comfortable bed, AC, nice shower, etc. Really anything you could want out of a luxury hotel room.

To summarize: (Relatively) inexpensive luxury, close to town, with fantastic service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank empath75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmopan, Belize
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Recently had a very nice dining experience at the newly renovated San Ignacio Hotel/Restaurant.
It was my Birthday celebration -- Dined by candle light near to the pool with a waterfall trickling to one side...friendly courteous staff and delicious food....they have a great wine list too.
All this was set with the beautiful hotel & its decor on one side and the surrounding canopy of the rich Belizean flora & fauna on the next makes for a perfect cozy setting.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Creslyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goliad, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The staff is awesome! Each member of the staff is extremely friendly and goes out of their way to make you feel comfortable. The rooms are nice but a bit pricey... The hallway is musky but you fast forget about it when entering your tastefully decorated room.

Room Tip: The Deluxe Balcony Room is Great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhondaBarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Most of the visit to San Ignacio was great, including this hotel. However, we thought the hotel was a bit overpriced given the extensive renovations that did detract from the experience. Everyone but the concierge was friendly and helpful. We would have spent more money there had the concierge been more helpful. Loved the local ruin, Cahal Pech Mayan Ruins, which you could walk to and from the hotel. I would like to go back when the renovations are completed, but I doubt we will.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb_OK2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My husband and I were on our newlywed honey moon to Belize, our overall experience was so ravishing, and our tour guide Eddie Panti was the best there is in the industry..... our stay at San Ignacio Hotel was beyond what we had expected and are overall amazed by what Belize has to offer......
my bitter experience was when we were in rout to guatemala we stopped along the way at a bar called Latin Bliss, in Benque Viejo Del Carmen, the service there was unprofessional and the girls had a lack of etiquette.... instead of providing a people friendly attitude they were uncivilized and were very disrespectful and making passes toward my husband....... if you know what i mean??? Is prostitution even legal in Belize... the reason why i ask is because i take this as a very serious insult not to be respected as his wife .... and also having a lack of customer service....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank analisse p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Unlike the other top-rated hotels in the San Ignacio area, this one is located in town and is a short walk into the center of town (though up and down a steep hill), where there are decent restaurants, a park, and people other than tourists.

If you want to experience Belize and are not looking for an isolated jungle resort, this has to be one of the best choices in San Ignacio.

The staff is unfailingly polite and helpful, and the physical facilities are very good. The hotel restaurant is also very good, although the main dining area was being renovated when we were there. They arranged tours for us to go to Barton Creek (canoeing into a cave where Mayans performed human sacrifices) and a day trip into Guatemala to see the Tikal Mayan site. Many other activities are offered. Our guides on both trips were great people and very knowledgeable about Belize and Mayan history.

The Iguana Project is probably a cash cow for the hotel, but it's worth the ten bucks or so to have your picture taken with baby Iguanas draped around your neck. The casino next door is clean and modern, but is not a place you will want to spend time unless you have a gambling addiction.

We're glad we visited San Ignacio and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gatorator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
3.0 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
806 reviews
2.7 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
624 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
278 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
686 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#6 of 13 in San Ignacio
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Ignacio Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Ignacio Resort Hotel

Property: San Ignacio Resort Hotel
Address: # 18 Buena Vista St, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Spa Hotel in San Ignacio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Ignacio Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open to guests since 1976, San Ignacio Resort Hotel provides unsurpassed levels of luxury and Belizean hospitality. The Resort has been awarded with the title HOTEL OF THE YEAR 2016/2012, RESTAURANT OF THE YEAR 2016, and HOSPITALITY AWARD 2015 by the Belize Tourism Board. Perched on a hillside located within a 17-acre private estate, 72 miles west of Belize City, gives the Resort its unique name of "the only jungle in town". A short walk puts you in downtown San Ignacio or in the middle of Belize's ancient Maya temples known as Cahal Pech. The Hotel offers various amenities where visitors can relax and enjoy amazing views of Belize. In addition, it is home to the award-wining Green Iguana Conservation Project, located on-site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your San Ignacio Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ignacio Hotel San Ignacio
San Ignacio Resort Hotel Belize

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing