We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. It was the perfect spot for our family of 4. Friendly, helpful staff and plenty of space in the room. The pool was a refreshing way to cool off after a long day touring the ruins. Great location in town allowed us easy access to the restaurants and shops in the city (quick walk) while also being away from the noise and hustle of the city. My favorite spot? Lying in the hammock watching the sun rise over the jungle while almost everyone else was still asleep :)

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank MAMomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    716
    180
    27
    7
    2
See reviews for
234
367
46
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Just left Belize. First stayed at the San Ignacio Resort Hotel. In short, it was fantastic. We stayed in a Regal room which I would highly recommend booking (these rooms were apparently named after the Queen of England's stay at the hotel when Belize was a British Colony). The room was big, well equipped, had great air conditioning and really beautifully decorated. We ended buying two of the paintings right off the walls at really reasonable prices. The personal touches in the room were great such as fresh flowers in the room and on the linens, extra pillows and blankets that you saved you from requesting them from the desk, coffee maker, safe, etc., all making our stay feel akin to staying at a five star hotel in the States. (Our friends stayed one night in the honeymoon suite which was even more beautiful and included a balcony overlooking the jungle and gorgeous pool and included a hot tub. At night you had a beautiful view of the moon while being serenaded by musicians playing below).

Most importantly, all the staff were incredibly friendly and beyond pleasant. Most notably, the concierge Onil was by far the most helpful and knowledgeable concierge that we've ever encountered. Onil connected us with seemingly the best tour guides in the area (and we could tell they varied), as well as the seemingly best tours companies for the ATM tour (a must do and guides are required) and our tubing/caving trip which I would also highly recommend. He never seemed to be steering us to only hotel affiliated places, helped us negotiate the town/outside dining, and gave us impeccable directions wherever we went. He even helped us with the next leg of our trip to Placencia by providing great directions and informing us of what to do and the best tour companies to book. One of the paintings we bought from our room wasn't signed and he contacted the artist who had moved to Guatemala and who drove to San Ignacio to sign the painting after we had departed. Thereafter Onil carefully packed up our paintings and personally dropped them off to be hand delivered to our hotel in Placencia. He was truly a class act.

The restaurant was good and an expansion was nearing the end of construction which promised to be even better than what we experienced as some people in our group weren't big fans of the local fare in town.

We would definitely come back here again and feel confident to recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Regal rooms with a balcony. Honeymoon suite was awesome too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vas14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belize City, Belize, Belize
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We had an excellent stay, there's nothing to complain about. The hotel has a warm welcoming feeling to all its guests, and we were very fascinated by this. The staff were very friendly and professional which made us feel even more welcome. They are open to suggestions for improvements and willing to give guests their utter-most best. The stay was awesome and the food was great!!!...Can't wait to visit again. (Y)

Room Tip: The Spa Suite is an Excellent choice....it's so soothing and relaxing, gives you that natural co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This resort is a great base to explore western Belize and Guatemala (Tikal). The rooms are a little dated and the bar area and dinner options were limited and just average. However, breakfasts were great and the walk down the hill to town is less than 5 minutes with numerous restaurant choices there. As I had two kids in tow (age 4 and 9) we took a cab back to the hotel for less than $4 US. Oneil was our guide and chauffer on most of the excursions and you could not ask for a more pleasant, knowledgeable and professional person, he made our trip and indeed helped me pick out activities for the kids. The pool area is a little small and it needs updating, some background music and a slide or two for the kids would make for a better experience. We only spend one day at the hotel as the other days we did zip lining, the zoo and toured Tikal.

Room Tip: I would choose one above garden level so that you are less likely to have anything crawl into your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GWN1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

So the check in was sweet- the staff for the most part are very friendly- the room was a garden view which was nice with a small patio two chairs, a table and a hammock- there were some nice butterflies- I was comfortable in the room- it was not updated however- there was no frig which was a negative given the price and the heat after walking up the hill from town- you have to go to the bar for ice- the breakfast was good but very expensive compared to town. The conseirge was not particularly helpful- he didn't have the trip I wanted and tried to steer me to a trip I was not interested in. The pool is very nice and the open air lobby is breezy. They had free drinkable water in the room and lobby which was helpful

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surferboyVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Nice hotel with AC which was important for our group. The rooms have AC but the common areas didn't . The hotel was under construction and renovations for both additional rooms and suites as well as the restaurant. I heard that they were also adding a fitness area. The rooms on the first floor seem to be all newly renovated. The rooms on the lower levels are not all renovated especially the stairways and halls leading to the lower levels which was dark and old looking. One of our rooms had issues with the AC and phone not working along with other small nuisances like no hair dryer and not enough lighting. We asked to change the room but hotel was full so had to wait for next day to change and was given a room on the first floor which was one of the newer renovated rooms... much nicer. They give you a coffee maker in the room but you can pick up coffee by the restaurant in the morning if you want.

We had a couple of breakfasts and one dinner at the hotel and prices were ok considering you're dining at a hotel. Of course you can find less expensive options in town ( Erva's , Cenaida's, Pop's , Eva's ) . Food was decent but the they ran out of fried Jacks the morning we had breakfast which is surprising considering its part of the belizean breakfast staple. Also we asked what fruits were in the tropical fruit plate but the wait staff couldn"t answer properly and said "whatever is available in the kitchen" so we got Pineapple, canteloupe and watermelon (not tropical ) ...but no mango or Papaya. We pre-ordered breakfast the night before on our last night because we wanted a quick breakfast before heading out and that worked really well.

The biggest downside to the hotel is that it is situated up a steep hill and walking down isn't that bad but the walk up is a challenge. You can take a cab but establish the price before you get in. some cabs charge more than others but should be about 5 belize dollars each way. would be nice if the hotel could provide a shuttle. Hotel provides free wifi but it's spotty depending on which room you get and how close you are to the modem.

We did the Iguana conservation tour which is behind the hotel and under shade so wear bug spray. We went the day that the iguana's just got bathed (they do once a month) to rid them of fleas and ticks which was comforting considering the iguana's climb all over you. wear long pants and shirt with at least short sleeves since their claws are sharp.

The Staff was courteous and helpful for the most part but there are a few that could use a dose of friendliness. I didn't book any excursions through the hotel but rather directly with the tour operators which are in town (check around for prices). We went with Pacz tours and were pleased with their service and knowledge.

Room Tip: rooms on first floor facing the pool are renovated and have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLM10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I want to get some possible negatives out of the way first:

1) It's in town. San Ignacio is a nice little town with lots of decent food options. It's a short walk to the main street, but the hotel is up a fairly steep hill, which can be kind of a slog in 90 degree heat, if you're walking, and it's not the prettiest neighborhood outside, but it's safe.
2) It's under-construction. Only half of the hotel is open right now, i think, and the tennis court, etc, are in kind of iffy shape. Especially the back area by the pool is not super nice looking.
3) The food is kinda mediocre and over priced -- tough steaks, bland sauces, etc. This is not as bad as it could be, though, because there's a lot of cheap options for decent local food within a 5 minute walk -- try Pop's for breakfast.

All of that out of the way, here are the positives:

1) Compared to the big resorts outside of town, the price is about $100 or more a night cheaper. And you can save even more money because you're in town and can use local tour guides, cab drivers, and restaurants instead of being stuck half a mile down a dirt road in the middle of nowhere, relying on your resort for everything. If you want a nice hotel experience for a few days without spending a grand or more, this is probably the best option in San Ignacio.

2) The staff is fantastic. I proposed to my GF there and they went way out of their way to set-up a private dinner for us in our room, including candles, flowers and other decorations. They did *way* more than I expected, and seemed genuinely happy for us. They made the stay really special for us.

3) The rooms were big, with a huge comfortable bed, AC, nice shower, etc. Really anything you could want out of a luxury hotel room.

To summarize: (Relatively) inexpensive luxury, close to town, with fantastic service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank empath75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
3.0 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
2.7 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.7 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#9 of 33 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#6 of 13 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Ignacio Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Ignacio Resort Hotel

Property: San Ignacio Resort Hotel
Address: # 18 Buena Vista St, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Spa Hotel in San Ignacio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Ignacio Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open to guests since 1976, San Ignacio Resort Hotel provides unsurpassed levels of luxury and Belizean hospitality. The Resort has been awarded with the title HOTEL OF THE YEAR 2016/2012, RESTAURANT OF THE YEAR 2016, and HOSPITALITY AWARD 2015 by the Belize Tourism Board. Perched on a hillside located within a 17-acre private estate, 72 miles west of Belize City, gives the Resort its unique name of "the only jungle in town". A short walk puts you in downtown San Ignacio or in the middle of Belize's ancient Maya temples known as Cahal Pech. The Hotel offers various amenities where visitors can relax and enjoy amazing views of Belize. In addition, it is home to the award-wining Green Iguana Conservation Project, located on-site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your San Ignacio Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ignacio Hotel San Ignacio
San Ignacio Resort Hotel Belize

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing