We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice on a budget”
Review of Venus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Venus Hotel
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in San Ignacio
Reviewed 2 December 2008

The nicest place we stayed in Belize. We were trying to stay on a tight budget on our stay in Belize, but we wanted something clean, convenient, and with some style. This place fit the bill and then some.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0neshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2008

The room was fine, only the shower/toilet/sink was in the corner of the room and though it had a wall round, it didn't go to the ceiling and had western style bar swinging doors. All in all the bathroom wasn't that private so be prepared to share all with your room mate!
Also our room door didn't feel that secure, wouldn't take much for the door to just swing open.
Was a bit of a strange place, it appeared that some of the people in other rooms were long term guests and I can't say they were the most desirable neighbours.
On the positive the location was great, easy access to everything.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littleprincessUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2008

Our trip to Belize (first and so far only) found us spending our first two nights at the lovely Venus hotel. All was perfection from the start. Called to book, emailed to confirm, arrived with enthusiasum, and greeted equally. Choice of two beautiful rooms. Hard choice. Deciding factor, a little more elbow room and a wonderful internal window. Comfortable beds, fans, tv with lots of channels, and WITH PRIVATE BATH! Often used, the second story balcony to relax, read, and enjoy the view of the soccer field (saw practice), the vendors street, and the beautiful little park. Located on Burns avenue, its right in the middle of everything. The staff was awsome and security was great (one night we stayed out a little late and came back to find a gate, as I was thinking we were locked out, the night shift staff ran to unlock the gate immediately). The only reason we didn't stay there the full week, was that we needed somewhere to lay out. We found out later, there's a beach not far from there. Price? If you can't afford to stay in this beautiful place, you should't be here. ($30 a night US).

tom and debi

Pennsylvania, USA

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank desertone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2007

This is a great place to stay in San Ignacio and I would highly recommend it to anyone! The hotel is located in the heart of the city and is a safe, quiet, and clean place to stay. The owner, Maria, and her staff are very friendly and helpful. Marie has been renovating the place over the past few years so many of the rooms look brand new. I have gone back to the Venus every summer for the past four years and plan to continue.

Stayed: July 2007
Thank LASBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2007

I stayed at Venus Hotel and the staff and Maria Preston are very friendly especially Maria who is the owner. She gave us advice on where to eat and who take us on a tour which we had a fabulous time.

I think the greenfarms got it very wrong from my perspective.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Davigod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2007

This place is in a good location and cheap. You get what you pay for. The room was trashy, one light in the overhead light. Sheets stained. AC was pretty much non working. No towels in the bathroom.
I found the staff curt and unpleasant.
This place is more in the line of a youth hostel than a hotel. I would never have picked to stay here. I traveled with someone else who picked it to save money and every place else was pretty much booked. It wasn't worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greenwoodsfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2007

Venus is hands down the best value accomodation in Cayo. If you are looking for character, luxury, look elsewhere... if you want all the fixins and some spare change, Venus is key. Large hotel with AC and hot showers, a 24 hour staff is perhaps the most unique of all, so if you arrive late, someone there can still rent you a room. Beware everything is simple, but SAFE, clean, decent and the staff is very friendly and hospitable. Ideal for staying cool at low rates and most of the normal comforts. Comparable to the Choice Hotel brand in the USA.

  • Stayed: February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fremontrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
0 mi away
Tropicool Hotel
Tropicool Hotel
#14 of 14 in San Ignacio
59 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Orange Guesthouse
The Orange Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Unitedville
22 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#3 of 14 in San Ignacio
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Cahal Pech Village Resort
#8 of 14 in San Ignacio
603 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
264 reviews
0.4 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#8 of 34 in San Ignacio
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venus Hotel

Address: 29 Burns Avenue, San Ignacio, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range: £24 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Venus Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Venus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venus Hotel San Ignacio
Venus Hotel Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing