We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have asked for better!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
duPlooy's Jungle Lodge
Ranked #3 of 32 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2011

My husband and I stayed at DuPlooy's Jungle Lodge as the first part of our anniversary trip. Our package was booked through DuPlooy Travel and they certainly know what they are doing. It was by far the most relaxing trip I have every had and yet we were busy every day! The Lodge is tucked away and private, it was remote and unplugged in the very best way. The office was so accommodating in scheduling our trips and the staff was knowledgeable and friendly. The first day after arrival we rode horses to Xunantunich and our horse guide Emil was joined by Mr. Fermin. Riding to the ruins provided us with a wilder side of Belize as the path was marked but not cleared like the roads, excellent views of the natural wildlife (mostly birds & lizards but one snake) and the amazing jungle. Our tour of the ruins was a highlight as Mr. Fermin was extremely knowledgeable and offered many insights into Maya culture. Our second day trip was to the amazing ATM cave, a must see in Belize. All meals, except lunch on the Xunantunich ride, were eaten at DuPlooys (with the other exception being a lunch they sent with us to the ATM cave). The food was incredible and drinks were great. Everything we ate was amazing and so fresh. We cannot say enough about the staff who were always friendly and prompt. The owner, Judy, excused herself from her own breakfast with a friend to come and introduce herself. The hotel provided 5 gallon water jugs at the bar and the office for us to refill our water bottles whenever we needed. The bungalow was fantastic, it took a little adjusting to the weather but the hotel provided another fan in our room and we felt acclimated by the 2nd night. The botanical gardens on property are a must, the hotel provides guide books in the room so you can wander through the garden at your own pace. We tried to walk the gardens every afternoon and still left so much to explore!


We can't wait to return!!

Room Tip: The bungalows are the way to go!!
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Echol4g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
There are newer reviews for duPlooy's Jungle Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2011

My husband and I stayed here early February 2011 and had a wonderful experience. The room was basic but very large, clean and comfortable. We also had a screened in porch with chairs and a hammock which was a nice touch.

The best part about this trip was the staff; they really made you feel welcomed and were knowledgeable about the area in and around the lodge. Our guide Fermin was not only an expert in Mayan history but in the local fauna and wildlife, I cannot recommend him high enough.

We stayed for four days in which we kept ourselves busy all day with endless activities, we had a list (provided by the lodge) and just choose what we wanted to do the night before. They couldn't make it any easier and were always running on time. We were happy to return to the lodge at night for the relaxed and comfortable atmosphere and the delicious food and drinks at the bar.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrulil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We stayed at Duplooys for 4 nights with 2 small children (7 & 4). We loved the walkways and the bungalow with plenty of room for us all. We were very happy with all the activities that we chose, (horse riding, caving, night walks, canoeing, river tubing) and particularly with the guides. They were extremely friendly and very safety conscious with the children and yet understood that as we had come as a family, we wanted to enjoy the activities as a family. The food was excellent and very filling.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2011

We enjoyed our stay at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge so much last year that we decided to return and expand our explorations of the amazing Cayo District. It was a delightful homecoming. We found everything as we had left it -- or improved. Electricity is now generated by solar power and the bungalows have kitchenettes; new decking and pathways have been created and the grounds (including the fabulous Belize Botanic Gardens) are as great as ever. We enjoyed every minute with our great birding guide from last year, Mr. Philip Mai and also with new-to-us, the amazing naturalist Fermin Tzib. During our stay, there was a prevailing joy among all of the guests as the day's adventures were shared around the deck or dining rooms. duPlooy's presents itself very fairly; if you are equally honest with yourself about what you are looking for in terms of accommodations and services and the Lodge appeals to you, look no further, you have found a match and an excelent value. The "create your own package" really IS your own; every day of your stay is personalized according to your desire to climb, canoe or kick-back, be it to seek out monkeys, motmots, Mayan ruins or massage. The hospitality is very genuine. We were well fed, watered and welcomed in every way. If you go, take heed of the lodge's advice to "make sure you stay long enough." If you are into nature, you won't want to leave.

Room Tip: Bungalows are large & airy with kitchenette.
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tellurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

I just returned home from a vacation to Belize and stayed in duPlooy's for a night. Unfortunately, I think that they charge FAR more than they are worth. The place is very run down and honestly has the feel of a motel, rather than a hotel/lodge. You can stay at places that are just as nice as this (or even nicer) for far less money.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nutella1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

We did not stay at the lodge but instead visited their fantastic garden situated on 45 acres which has 2000 plant species. This garden was meticulously kept and the labeling was maintained. The guidebook that they give you for a self guided tour was quite informative.
Afterwards, we had some pops on their outdoor veranda where we proceeded to see numerous exotic birds eating from a large fruit tray. Whatever tree was hanging over the veranda also was a bird magnet.

We wished we had decided to stay there.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alwaysdrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

We loved our bungalow at the duPlooy Lodge. I spent a lot of time relaxing in
the hammick on the front porch looking out at the jungle. The service was
fabulous and I loved all the prepared meals that were served in style,
especially the fish and shellfish dishes. Everyone was so helpful and laid back
so we felt right at home. They have several great options of things to do while
you're there. We toured the Tikal ruins in Guatemala, tried the rip lines which
are so much fun and even rode horses to some Belize ruins. All in all it was a
wonderful trip and I would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsparis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
0.9 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
1,229 reviews
1.3 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
634 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
434 reviews
6.0 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to duPlooy's Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about duPlooy's Jungle Lodge

Address: Chial Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range: £95 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — duPlooy's Jungle Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
duPlooy's Jungle Lodge Resort, on the Macal River, an organic property since 1988, now powered by the sun, may just be the Eco-Lodge you are looking for.duPlooy's offers the original "Create Your Own Vacation' package as well as set packages for individuals and groups and custom packages which include other locations in Belize. Whatever you are looking for, we offer a great venue for your Belize Vacation for Families,Romantic Getaways and Honeymoons, Adventure Holidays and more. There is excellent Birding on and around the property as well as many on-site activities.Included with your room: continental breakfast, entrance to adjacent Belize Botanic Gardens, access to trails, use of canoes and tubes from our beautiful Macal River Beach,incredible bird watching from the deck with complimentary morning coffee, delicious meals from locally-sourced meats, eggs and produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your duPlooy's Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duplooy`s Jungle Hotel San Ignacio
DuPlooy's Jungle Lodge Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing