We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Repeat Visitor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of duPlooy's Jungle Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
duPlooy's Jungle Lodge
Ranked #3 of 31 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Repeat Visitor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

My wife and I have stayed here about 2-3 years ago and we came back, what does that say ? Get your BUTT here it's a GREAT STAY !! We came for the Apocalypto package and the world did not end..YEAH !!! Judy is the most gracious host and she is ALL OVER the place ! She runs a tight ship here tasting the food and checking to be sure that you are having a great stay. LOTS of birds in the morning to watch while you are having coffee, animals at night to watch with your drinks, enjoy them all. You could walk the gardens for days and not see everything, it's like a jungle paradise, flowers, animals, butterflies..OMG so much to see and it's right here. The food is fresh and GOOD, lots of choices..I LOVED the Huveo's Ranchero's for breakfast. Try the trip to Flour Camp cave, it's an adventure in itself the most AMAZING trip that my wife and I have done. You MUST be adventurous for this trip but it WILL NOT disappoint ! The staff here is very helpful and they will help you with everything, Judy goes out of her way to hire friendly helpful local people and it shows. Thank you Judy and staff for another wonderful visit. To the Apocalypto package visitors YOU made our trip !! Thank you.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dev00312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Wow! I'm overwhelmed by your review. And glad that you had a great experience the second time. I had a lot of fun as well over the holidays. Of course, that is always due to the wonderful guests who visit us and to my staff who can always be counted on for good service. I hope to see you back for a third visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    70
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
135
155
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Puyallup, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

When we first arrived in Belize we weren't sure what we got ourselves into. Especially riding down this really bumpy road to the lodge, but won't we got there it felt like home. Everyone who worked there was so friendly and helpful and there were so many options for activities. We went cave canoeing, zip-lining, horseback riding, saw Mayan sites, visited the Saturday market, and that's just a few of the activities. The sound of the jungle while you slept had some getting used to, but honestly it was amazing. But it's not for everyone, if you are expecting a pool or spa you need to go somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smeyerdirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
I'm glad that riding the bumpy road is worth it - or no one would visit duPlooy's! I agree that it is only for those very special people who know that an incredible experience awaits them at the end of that road. Thanks for visiting us and all the best for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux City, Iowa, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

We had a wonderful experience with the staff at duPlooys. The guide Noel was beyond our expectations. Noel provided us with education and humor throughout our stay. There were ten in our group arriving on two different days. Because this was our wedding additional details needed to be performed. We needed to go to Belmopon to apply for the marriage license. Loreni assisted getting our pre-arrival complete. Noel worked the plan. Judy duPlooy greeted us with open arms. Because of weather, our itinerary needed to be modified and the staff was eager to accommodate. Anever assisted us with all our beverage needs. Jose` arranged our meals and decoration needs.
Great job to all!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
I'm glad that everything worked out in spite of the weather. Everyone got to do everything they wanted and had a good time. All the best to both of you in the future. And thanks for having your wedding with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williams Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

This was our first of three stops on our Belize Tour that we booked through DuPlooy Tours. From the time we were picked up by our awesome guide, Philip, we felt pampered. Although this Lodge may not be for every one (those wanting a pool and spa) it was very ecological, personable, clean inside and out and above all it was full of wildlife and plants. The owner, Judy made a point to have several visits with us. The cooks catered to my husbands local food request, in the end they knew to serve local hot sauce vs bottled. The tours were outstanding, especially enjoyed Xunantunich with our knowledgeable guide, Philip. We went on a night walk with a "Professor" specializing in birds - how great is that. Proud, kind people everywhere we went, all were knowledgeable about the country, animals and plants. Thanks to the bartender for making our evenings and mornings fun and tasty.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Thank you for such a positive review. Everyone at duPlooy's and duPlooy Travel works hard to make your vacation special so when we hear comments like yours, we know that we are doing something right. Thanks for choosing duPlooy's.,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

I was so looking forward to staying at duPlooy's after hearing of it for years. It did not disappoint! Judy duPlooy has a slice of heaven on earth with the resort and the Belize Botanic Gardens! All the staff are welcoming, helpful and became friends! We were there on the Apocalypto Package, celebrating the end of the 13th B'aktun and the start of the next. Judy arranged for all the guests and employees to attend an amazing sunrise ceremony on the solstice. Everyone there shared their knowledge and love of the area freely. This is a place to return over and over again! The ultimate in relaxation and fun. Enjoying the rainforest canopy and sounds is unlike any other experience.

Room Tip: There is not a "bad" room on the site. We stayed in the Jungle Lodge rooms and were very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katheryn Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
I had a lot of fun with all of you as well. We are going to be doing a similar package quarterly to celebrate equinoxes and have the drawing where one person on the package gets a refund of money paid to duPlooy's. Y'all come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Robles, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

This was a very special experience for myself and my 3 other girlfriends. Actually staying up in the jungle canopy, hearing the birds every morning, and the humming of the jungle at night was magical!
If you are afraid of critters that live in the jungle, are not interested in exploring your surroundings, or require a hot nightlife everynite, maybe this is not the place for you. But if you enjoy wildlife in their natural surroundings, enjoy adventure and exploring your surroundings, and enjoy a beautiful natural setting with an incredible botanical garden, you'll love it here!
The number of bird species is incredible, especially if you're lucky enough to have Phillip as your birding guide. Be prepared to be amazed! Being up in the trees and walking through the jungle on the raised walkway offers so many opportunities to see so many birds and other critters. It was also interesting to find out how much these folks are doing to help the environment and the locals.
This was an unforgettable visit, especially meeting the friendly staff and owner. It was homey, yet exotic. Great food, and the service was very good. When we had a small problem in the bathroom, it was attended to right away. This is a place I would love to return to, so peaceful and beautiful in so many ways!

Room Tip: The rooms and casitas along the raised boardwalk are the best for the "jungle" experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Thanks for your great review and for the photos and videos. Your appreciation for what we do here makes it all worthwhile.

Have a happy holiday season and the best for 2013. Hope we see you here again.

Judy duPlooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

Another couple had booked the trip and I didn't get a chance to review the website. Wow...Outstanding. From riding horses to paddling up the river. Expect to see nature at it's grandest. We saw over 100 different types of birds. You won't have to try very hard to get up and close. Food is terrific. Staff warm and inviting. Accommodation were comfortable and you'll want for nothing.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank queenannegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Thanks for the positive review. And I'm glad you liked our package. It allows you to choose your activities after you arrive, but gives you the scope to do anything that we have to offer. Very simple.

Have a happy holiday season and all the best for 2013

Judy duPlooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
2.1 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
2.5 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#2 of 31 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
2.4 mi away
Maya Mountain Lodge
Maya Mountain Lodge
#6 of 31 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to duPlooy's Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about duPlooy's Jungle Lodge

Property: duPlooy's Jungle Lodge
Address: Chial Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — duPlooy's Jungle Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
duPlooy's Jungle Lodge Resort, on the Macal River, an organic property since 1988, now powered by the sun, may just be the Eco-Lodge you are looking for.duPlooy's offers the original "Create Your Own Vacation' package as well as set packages for individuals and groups and custom packages which include other locations in Belize. Whatever you are looking for, we offer a great venue for your Belize Vacation for Families,Romantic Getaways and Honeymoons, Adventure Holidays and more. There is excellent Birding on and around the property as well as many on-site activities.Included with your room: continental breakfast, entrance to adjacent Belize Botanic Gardens, access to trails, use of canoes and tubes from our beautiful Macal River Beach,incredible bird watching from the deck with complimentary morning coffee, delicious meals from locally-sourced meats, eggs and produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your duPlooy's Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duplooy`s Jungle Hotel San Ignacio
DuPlooy's Jungle Lodge Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing