We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay, better than most!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
duPlooy's Jungle Lodge
Ranked #3 of 32 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2013

This is a nice place to stay. The rooms are just fine, the bar is just fine, the other guests are just fine, the tame kinkajous are delightful and the food can be excellent. The tours are noticeably cheaper than Andersons (for the same thing) and more flexible (no minimum numbers for example which was a problem at Andersons). Although tubing and ATM are a little further away, its not much and Tikal, and sites around San Ignaio are right next door.

The staff are really friendly and helpful but watch the canoeing as they don't tell you which rapids you can run (either way) even if you ask!

The food varied from brilliant to poor (never inedible). The guided (booklet) botanic gardens tour was really good (took us 2+hrs).

No aircon, have extra fans if needed, mains sockets in every room. Useable wifi although some needed to be at the bar to get good connection (my cheap chinese covered the whole bar area).

Because you ought to aim for Tikal as the last Mayan ruin, and ATM as your last caving/adventure it might make sense to stay here for your whole stay inland as the tour costs are lower than Andersons, even if you do tubing/zipwire as well as ATM. It nice, well priced (for a lodge) and relaxing.

Amazingly no mosquitoes whilst we were there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OzS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Thanks for your nice review of duPlooy's. Of course, I'm going to hone in on the one negative comment you made and apologize for your having had a bad meal here as our staff prides themselves on making good food for our guests. I'm glad to get these comments, though because they make us look at we are doing and try too make it better.

Also, thanks for some of the useful advice you gave me.

Judy duPlooy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
There are newer reviews for duPlooy's Jungle Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2013

Arrived Belize City Airport, Noel, our Duplooys guide was there to greet us. booked for a 4 day package trip and Jungle experience. Excellent service from arrival. The office were so helpful, arranged trips for us, one to the ATM cave with our very knowledgeable guide Emile, who was there for us every step of the way. Although it was raining and the path a mud bath, we all enjoyed every minute of the experience. We visited Cahal Pech, Mayan Ruin, once again Emile was very informative. Tubing, canoeing, walking around the botanical gardens you name it you can do it. Truly a warm and friendly environment. the office was very helpful in arranging a hire car for us to visit other parts of Belize. Thank you Duplooys for a wonderful visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 65Norma2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Thanks so much for your positive review. I think that all of the adventures that are possible here in Cayo and the friendliness of the people, not to mention jungle settings makes this area one of the best possible travel destinations. Add a few days on the Caribbean and what more could a traveler want?!?

Judy duPlooy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Stopped off for lunch during a canoe trip down the river to San Ignacio. Good food, polite service but just a bit too sterile for my tastes. Apart from the great setting it didn't feel like being in the country, rather more like being in any other US-driven hotel chain. Staff, you don't have to say you're welcome every time we say anything...

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EsmithScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Hello,
Thanks for your review, but I have been wondering what is "sterile" about duPlooy's. Our guests see us as anything but sterile and the fact that there were probably a couple of Aracari Toucans and other birds around our over canopy deck, make us very unlike a motel in the US.

Feedback like this is important as it makes us take a look around, but I honestly can't see this about us.


Judy duPlooy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I used to work for Ocean Connection and loved booking this little place...Judy is such a delight and I felt so welcome...Just got back from Belize after almost 20yrs being away and now really want to stay at Duplooys on our next visit....cannot wait.....Belize has changed so much and I truly love this warm and friendly country....so many good memories and lots more to make...

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Hi, Thanks for still liking us after all of these years. Wow! Ocean Connection was one of the first to ever send people to duPlooy's and a great help in getting us "on the map". Next time you're here, make sure that I am aware of it and we can talk "old times"

Judy duPlooy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

My daughter (15) was studying the history of Mayan people in school asked me a few questions about the pyramids. I suggested we visit them! She jumped right on that!

Right in the heart of the Cayo district in Belize, duPlooy's is a wonderful place to visit all the sights that make this Belize a wonderful tourist location. ATM is a must visit! (you must be in good shape and don't mind to get wet and dirty.) Tikal is another must visit, and the self guided 3 hour canoe ride into town was A LOT of fun too!

Food is out of this world, service was great, and the rooms were very nice. Remember this is in the middle of the jungle. You may see a bug or two.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

Thanks for the positive review which we, of course, appreciate a lot. Your mentioning "a bug or two" is nearly true. We are still amazed when we go away and find way more biting insects in places you wouldn't expect them and find that there are fewer than here in Belize's Cayo District. And this is an organic property (well, except for termites and some ants). There are so many critters that eat mosquitoe larva and live mosquitoes that the population is pretty minimal.

I hope that your daughter continues her interest in Mayan Archaeology and that she returns to Belize to work one day.

Thanks again for visiting duPlooy's.

Judy duPlooy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We spent christmas 2012 at duPlooy's. We really enjoyed it. A warm and friendly atmosphere combined with excellent food and exciting activities. Our favourites were, in order, Tikal, ATM and rappelling the Black Hole. We definitely recommend duPlooy's to those who would like a nice djungle retreat in a family like setting!

Room Tip: We stayed at the Macal Suite. Nice for a family of 6-8 having your own part of the house. No A/C but...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anders E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Thanks so much for reviewing duPlooy's favorably. Of course,we really do appreciate these comments from our guests. And hope to see you back again some day.
Judy duPlooy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

My wife and I have stayed here about 2-3 years ago and we came back, what does that say ? Get your BUTT here it's a GREAT STAY !! We came for the Apocalypto package and the world did not end..YEAH !!! Judy is the most gracious host and she is ALL OVER the place ! She runs a tight ship here tasting the food and checking to be sure that you are having a great stay. LOTS of birds in the morning to watch while you are having coffee, animals at night to watch with your drinks, enjoy them all. You could walk the gardens for days and not see everything, it's like a jungle paradise, flowers, animals, butterflies..OMG so much to see and it's right here. The food is fresh and GOOD, lots of choices..I LOVED the Huveo's Ranchero's for breakfast. Try the trip to Flour Camp cave, it's an adventure in itself the most AMAZING trip that my wife and I have done. You MUST be adventurous for this trip but it WILL NOT disappoint ! The staff here is very helpful and they will help you with everything, Judy goes out of her way to hire friendly helpful local people and it shows. Thank you Judy and staff for another wonderful visit. To the Apocalypto package visitors YOU made our trip !! Thank you.

Room Tip: They are all good.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dev00312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Wow! I'm overwhelmed by your review. And glad that you had a great experience the second time. I had a lot of fun as well over the holidays. Of course, that is always due to the wonderful guests who visit us and to my staff who can always be counted on for good service. I hope to see you back for a third visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
1.3 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
635 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
1,229 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
434 reviews
5.6 mi away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to duPlooy's Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about duPlooy's Jungle Lodge

Address: Chial Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range: £96 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — duPlooy's Jungle Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
duPlooy's Jungle Lodge Resort, on the Macal River, an organic property since 1988, now powered by the sun, may just be the Eco-Lodge you are looking for.duPlooy's offers the original "Create Your Own Vacation' package as well as set packages for individuals and groups and custom packages which include other locations in Belize. Whatever you are looking for, we offer a great venue for your Belize Vacation for Families,Romantic Getaways and Honeymoons, Adventure Holidays and more. There is excellent Birding on and around the property as well as many on-site activities.Included with your room: continental breakfast, entrance to adjacent Belize Botanic Gardens, access to trails, use of canoes and tubes from our beautiful Macal River Beach,incredible bird watching from the deck with complimentary morning coffee, delicious meals from locally-sourced meats, eggs and produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your duPlooy's Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duplooy`s Jungle Hotel San Ignacio
DuPlooy's Jungle Lodge Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing