We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Honeymoon!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of duPlooy's Jungle Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
duPlooy's Jungle Lodge
Ranked #3 of 31 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Honeymoon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

We spent the first half of our honeymoon at DuPlooy's in San Ignacio. We traveled in August so it was the slow season and we were the only guests at the resort. They knew it was our honeymoon and since it was empty, they upgraded us to a Bungalow room which was great! The larger rooms are definitely better even though we weren't in our room very much. The excursions that we did (Xunantunich Maya Site and Actun Tunichil Muknal Tour) were spectacular and I would highly recommend them! The staff from Duplooy's also acted as our shuttle and tour guides to the excursions and they were very knowledgeable and friendly. The staff at Duplooy's were all awesome! Alex and Thomas helped to make our stay great! We got to meet Judy (the owner) and she was also very friendly and helpful in our room upgrade. They have a beautiful backdrop and the food is amazing here. They also offer a botanical gardens onsite as well as kayaks to use on the river. I would definitely recommend staying at DuPlooy's if you are going to the San Ignacio area!

Room Tip: The Jungle Lodge Rooms are very small and I would recommend upgrading to a Bungalow room if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MS_CO_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Thanks so much for the positive review and recommendation. The next time you want a Belize Vacation, try our new Romantic Getaway Package and our new adventure - wine and cheese at the top of a Mayan Temple while watching the sunset.

Thanks for choosing duPlooy's
Judy duPlooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    70
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
135
155
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Twin Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Can't say enough positive things about this place. The whole package was incredible...the staff (all of the staff) were kind, grounded, knowledgeable and bent on ensuring that we had the kind of experience that we had envisioned. The food was delicious, the accommodations were charming and the surroundings gave the jungle experience that we sought. Our favorite aspect of the place was its total dedication to sustainable travel...local food prepared using traditionl dishes, local employees, recycling, solar energy, rain water collection...then there are the botanical gardens right there..a stable, canoes, wildlife to beat the band and knowledgeable guides. We say go, go, go..you won't regret it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melody_L938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Thanks so much for your good review. I really enjoyed the time spent talking with you as well.
That's the good thing about duPlooy's - people know where they are going and can appreciate us for what we are.

Glad you had a good time and hope to see you here again.

Judy duPlooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland, Vermont, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

There is so much to do at duPlooy's, whether it be exploring the Botanical Gardens, horseback riding, canoeing, swimming, or relaxing on the porch--there is always something to do. My class and I traveled from Castleton, Vermont (from Castleton State College) on a school trip to duPlooy’s, and enjoyed every minute of our stay. DuPlooy’s offers many things to do on site, and is also very close to the beautiful Mayan ruins of Xunantunich and Cahal Pech. We exhausted ourselves hiking the ruins (as well as traveling to Caracol and Tikal in Guatemala) everyday, and were very happy to return to the relaxing atmosphere at duPlooy’s. The scenery at duPlooy’s is breathtaking; the jungle flora is beautiful, and accents the beauty of the surrounding Maya mountains and Macal River. The location is ideal for a relaxing getaway, as it feels very remote but is still close to nearby San Ignacio. Accommodations are clean and comfortable. I stayed in the Jungle Lodge and our room had two queen sized beds, as well as a huge tiled shower. Ceiling fans are used instead of air conditioning, which adds to the charm of duPlooy's; it is a sustainable eco-retreat. I appreciate the fact that they use solar power, and encourage their guests to help conserve energy. The staff is extremely friendly, insightful, and accommodating. Also, the food is delicious! Fresh produce from the garden is used everyday, and is served in a variety of scrumptious ways. I was very excited about the many vegetarian options! DuPlooy’s is more than an eco-retreat; it is a jungle oasis. I enjoyed every minute of my stay, and definitely plan to return! Thank you for making my time away from home so enjoyable!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Jungle Lodge, which is right on the front edge of the property, along the Macal Rive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Thanks for the review. Castleton has been coming to duPlooy's for a long time and the students are always polite, curious and appreciative. It was fun having you and special that you got to share in the wedding festivities. Don't forget that Belize Botanic Gardens likes interns.

Thanks again.

Judy duPlooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

My wife and I first visited duPlooy's before our marriage -- and we returned this spring with our two boys, 6 and 8. Everything we loved was still there. The setting is so beautiful and unspoiled and the staff is outstanding. We took the kids horseback riding with a great instructor, who was perfect with young riders. We were also happy to reconnect with the owner, Judy, who runs the place with a huge sense of ethics for preserving the natural landscape, and has recently opened world class botanical gardens on the property. And we were overjoyed with the quality and diversity of the vegetarian options on the menu. I expected to spend several days surviving on salads and fries or veggie quesadillas (typical for a Central American trip) but I was actually blown away by the quality and diversity of the menu. We can't wait to return -- and it'll be a lot sooner than a dozen years!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Thanks for coming back. Your children are just the way children should be - free to explore and think on their own.

I have a book to recommend. Occult America. This history of religion and the occult in the US is very readable for us ordinary humans.

Thanks again.
Judy duPlooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
222 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

Whether you opt to explore the expansive grounds on foot, swim in the river or head off by canoe, horse or motor vehicle, there is so much to see and do around duPlooy's. Considering that for any guests, it's a journey to get here, plan on spending at least a full day on-site, because once you are there, you're here! Birds and other wildlife abound at your doorstep. I was here (for the third time in 4 years) with my husband only, but we noted how well set up duPlooy's is for groups, including multi-generational. It's easy to organize active adventures or hang around for a laid back day. Whether you hike or hammock-test, you can enjoy mind-blowing encounters of the natural kind. We were delighted to go exploring and birding again with resident guide, Mr. Philip; his spotting skills and good humor made for great days in the field. The bird feeder at the bar was super-active during our visit, with a variety of visitors from the ever-popular collared aracari,to plain chachalacas, brown jays, clay-colored thrush, red-throated ant tanagers, yellow-throated euphonia and, my favorite, the blue-crowned motmot, among others. With these spectacles right in the open, you can hardly leave the deck, but more awaits beyond, from a grey fox watching over you as you leave the gate to a majestic black hawk eagle circling the open sky. I am always shocked when I see a review suggesting that you can "see it all" in a day; after 3 visits of 4 or more nights each, we still see new things and know there are unexhausted possibilities. Besides, can you really get tired of being surrounded by orchids and toucans, exploring Mayan ruins, and waking up to the sound of parrots and chachalacas? If you think that sounds boring, you're a bad match for duPlooys, but if you want a place where you will be comfortably accommodated to boot, check in here. We do enjoy other lodgings in Belize in other districts, but returning to Cayo means staying at duPlooy' - our natural choice.

Room Tip: Bungalows are best; treehouse next best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tellurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Thanks for being frequent guests and for your appreciation of the natural world. You are right, you can't "do it all" in a couple of days. Some adventures are right on your doorstep. We have another good one for you next time - afternoon tour and sunset with wine and cheese on top of a temple at Yaxha. This has just been tested by visitors and they say it's a "must see"

Thanks again.

Judy duPlooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

This is a really special place. It is beautiful and feels very remote, yet is also comfortable and has lots to do. The setting is perfect-- wild and natural, yet manicured is spots. The food is better than it has any right to be given how remote it feels (great vegetarian options at every meal!) The river is there for a cool dip, and horseback riding on the property was an amazing way to take in the area.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank allisono144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Thanks for the great review. Always appreciated by both myself and our staff. I guess having raised a large family here and testing activities on my 8 grandchildren, makes us aware of what families like.

Thanks again,
Judy duPlooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

We had and incredible visit, staying at duPlooy's with new adventures every day. We are a family of four that enjoyed the grounds at duPlooy's, as much as the outings we where on every day. The lodge really felt like we where in a very remote area, with lot's of activities such as canoeing, and tubing right at the lodge, as well as acres of beautiful gardens to walk through. I cannot say enough about how great the staff is, always helpful, and charming. I have to admit the food was to die for, I asked for recipes! Better cooking that I have ever had at a hotel, lodge, or restaurant. The staff so friendly, Judy coming to visit every morning, made it a very welcoming place. I would choose to stay at duPlooy's the entire trip next time in Belize (I hope) and skip the beach. I would highly recommend this stay, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 331Erika331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Thank you for the positive review. Always appreciated by both myself and our staff members who love sharing recipes with guests - makes them feel good. This part of Belize, in our biased opinion, is the best with the most to do, so next time we'll have to come up with some new adventures for your family.

Thanks again.
Judy duPlooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
2.1 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
2.5 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#2 of 31 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
2.0 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to duPlooy's Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about duPlooy's Jungle Lodge

Property: duPlooy's Jungle Lodge
Address: Chial Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — duPlooy's Jungle Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
duPlooy's Jungle Lodge Resort, on the Macal River, an organic property since 1988, now powered by the sun, may just be the Eco-Lodge you are looking for.duPlooy's offers the original "Create Your Own Vacation' package as well as set packages for individuals and groups and custom packages which include other locations in Belize. Whatever you are looking for, we offer a great venue for your Belize Vacation for Families,Romantic Getaways and Honeymoons, Adventure Holidays and more. There is excellent Birding on and around the property as well as many on-site activities.Included with your room: continental breakfast, entrance to adjacent Belize Botanic Gardens, access to trails, use of canoes and tubes from our beautiful Macal River Beach,incredible bird watching from the deck with complimentary morning coffee, delicious meals from locally-sourced meats, eggs and produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your duPlooy's Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duplooy`s Jungle Hotel San Ignacio
DuPlooy's Jungle Lodge Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing