We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the perfect vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
duPlooy's Jungle Lodge
Ranked #3 of 34 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“the perfect vacation”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Spending a week at duPlooy's, recommended by a colleague who had stayed there mutliple times, turned into a superb experience for me (a retired schoolteacher) and my 17 and 18-year-old grandkids. We loved every aspect of the lodge - from accommodations, to delectable meals, to personnel who loved sharing their beautiful country with us. The guides on every tour were gracious, informative and considerate. For folks who want to discover a hidden treasure the 7-day, 6-night stay is perfect. We will definitely return and wish Ms. Judy and her great staff many additional years of showcasing their corner of paradise.

Room Tip: Check the website to find the option that fits your group - of whatever size- and stay long enough t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRHiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thanks so much for your review of duPlooy's. This is a great spot for people of all ages and a good for sharing time with people from other cultures. Our staff truly wants you to have a good time and are eager to hear about you and about where you live, so thanks for sharing your time with us.

Judy duPlooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    73
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
139
159
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Thanks to the owner Judy and her team. excellent service and caring for our special request on meals. Only problem was power supply, shot down quite frequently which also affect the heater (warm water supply).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StellaYang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review for duPlooy's. I was off gallivanting around the US visiting my children and grandchildren so I'm glad to hear that the staff still takes good care of guests when I'm away.

Judy duPlooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKees Rocks, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

It was the second time for my Husband and myself. We are in our fifties and the relaxation is awesome. It is so great to wake to the jungle sounds. We also took advantage of the canoe's and loved the quiet on the river for 3 hrs, so peaceful.and the food we call it 5 star the chefs are great, and they have an awesome taste for food. A year ago we also visited and never sat still we did the zip line horses caves tubing and more. We found our spot, and I am sure you will feel the same, it is a warm friendly place, our months were in Sept, and second time around July price is right and the all inclusive is the way to go have fun all

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Hello,
Thanks for your review and for coming back. It sounds as though we'll see you again. The first time you did all of the activities, this time you relaxed so it's time for the combo adventure/relaxation itinerary.

Judy duPlooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Patchogue, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our family vacation to Belize was spontaneous. We only made the decision less than a month prior.
duPlooy's was actually our second choice having very little knowledge or time to truly research. We only knew we wanted to spend time at an Eco lodge, and see the local sites.
Now having been there, duPlooys would be a first choice for us.
Other than the fact that it rained, (in the off season ), we have no complaints about our stay. Only praise. The rain was sporadic and did not hamper our plans at all
The cottages were nice, and the staff was exceptional. They were very knowledgable about the wildlife, the Forrest and local sites and activities. There was no pressure to do do anything, only accommodations if you needed their help.
Upon our arrival mid afternoon, after a long journey from N.Y. we were tired and hungry. The staff opened the kitchen for us. We had booked nothing as to activities and the office staff was great in helping us decide which days to do what activities.
We only had a week in Belize with half being at duPlooy then onto San Pedro. I can only say if possible, extend your time , Belize is great
Dan W. and family, N.Y.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Sorry to take so long replying to your Trip Advisor Review of duPlooy's. This does not mean that my staff and myself don't appreciate your taking the time to write about us. I'm glad that you think a week in Belize wasn't long enough - that's why our motto is: "Make Sure You Stay Long Enough"
Don't forget to ask for your returning guest discount the next time you visit us.

Judy duPlooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We started off our honeymoon in Western Belize, as we are not the typical "beach-goers". Our time at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge was amazing and it provided us with the perfect experience for first-time travelers to this country. From the lodge, we participated in several activities. On our first day, we rode horses with a guide to the Mayan site of Xunantunich, where we had a detailed tour. This excursion was followed by a delicious lunch in San Ignacio, and another wonderful tour of Cahal Pech, a Mayan site that is currently undergoing several exciting excavation projects. Our guides were very knowledgeable. They answered our questions, and made us feel comfortable at all times. The following day, we visited the Green Hills Butterfly Reserve, and had the chance to learn and see their work. We also went tubing on the Macal River and took an extended walk through the Botanical Gardens connected to the campus of duPlooy's.

Being on a honeymoon, we also wanted time to relax. DuPlooy's was the ideal location for us! The entire staff took great pride in their work and made us feel like part of the family. We were always greeted with a smile, whether at the bar, in the dining hall, or on the boardwalk; and we did not experience any problem during our stay. In fact, Judy duPlooy personally welcomed us to the area and took time to chat with us one morning. Our package was all-inclusive, a perfect way to start out a honeymoon. I can honestly say that the food prepared at duPlooy's was by far the best that we tasted during our vacation (and that includes the second half of our trip on the Eastern coast). We sampled some wonderful soups, breads, and authentic dishes made with local ingredients, such as chayote and plantains. I want to thank duPlooy's for making our experience memorable, and I would highly recommend this location to anyone. We are looking forward to visiting again in the future.

Room Tip: The pristine location of the lodge means that you have to exit some of the major roads in Belize. P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thanks for your positive review. I'm glad that we could help make a perfect beginning for your marriage. Our all-Belizean staff always tries their best to make your stay a great experience and the cooks are especially happy to see good reviews of their efforts.

All the best to both of you for the future.

Judy duPlooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We initially booked our stay at duPlooy's just as a place to rest our head while we visited Xunantunich and the ATM Cave as the lodge is conveniently located close to both and can book your tours for you. We did not expect to be so impressed by everything about this intimate boutique lodge in a uniquely beautiful setting. We loved everything about duPlooy's! The staff were exceptionally warm, friendly, and helpful. The room was tastefully decorated and quiet with an enclosed porch complete with a hammock for lounging on. The food was excellent! The grounds are beautiful set deep in the jungle above the Macal river on which we took a leisurely ride in an inner tube down to the duPlooy's beach which was full of every color butterfly you can imagine. The Belize botanical gardens are located on the property and are honestly the prettiest we have been to. The highlight of our stay though was feeding the nocturnal Kinkajous bananas from the treetop bar area. These cute wide-eyed little animals are unbelievably friendly and come straight out of the jungle onto the porch! We cannot wait to visit duPlooy's again! The lodge has a quiet homey elegance with plenty to do either on the property or in the immediate area!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarisaMJafarzadeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thanks for your comments. And glad to hear that you're already thinking about coming back. Do you know that by sending your friends, you can earn a credits toward your next visit? Just send us your friends' names and your name and the date of your visit and when your friends check out, we will give you a credit of 10% of their bill to be used by you any time you visit us. Send lots of friends and earn a free vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Our family of 4 just came back from Belize; We spent 6 days ag Duplooys. Everything was perfect and went off without a hitch. The people were extremely nice and helpful. The food was good and the setting was great. Every day we had a scheduled tour (ATM, cave tubing, trip to Tikal, canoeing the Macal river into town, visiting the iguana and butterfly sancutaries). Everything went extremely well, all the transfers, pickups, returns. The guides on the tours are fantastic with great knowledge of the Mayan history, local flora and fauna. The deck in the treetops is great for bird and animal viewing. My only complaint is the bumpy road getting to and from the lodge.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlennCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thanks for visiting duPlooy's and for your positive review. We complain about the road, too - especially when we are purchasing tires and peripheral items that we didn't even know cars had before we came here. If we paved the road, we would have to charge waaayy more for your visit. And, believe it or not, we do have that beastly road graded a couple of times a year. Anyway, what would an adventure be if everything ways easy; so we keep all of the easy parts for when you are here.

Thanks again.
Judy duPlooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
1.3 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
624 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
807 reviews
5.6 mi away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
686 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#2 of 34 in San Ignacio
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to duPlooy's Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about duPlooy's Jungle Lodge

Property: duPlooy's Jungle Lodge
Address: Chial Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — duPlooy's Jungle Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
duPlooy's Jungle Lodge Resort, on the Macal River, an organic property since 1988, now powered by the sun, may just be the Eco-Lodge you are looking for.duPlooy's offers the original "Create Your Own Vacation' package as well as set packages for individuals and groups and custom packages which include other locations in Belize. Whatever you are looking for, we offer a great venue for your Belize Vacation for Families,Romantic Getaways and Honeymoons, Adventure Holidays and more. There is excellent Birding on and around the property as well as many on-site activities.Included with your room: continental breakfast, entrance to adjacent Belize Botanic Gardens, access to trails, use of canoes and tubes from our beautiful Macal River Beach,incredible bird watching from the deck with complimentary morning coffee, delicious meals from locally-sourced meats, eggs and produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your duPlooy's Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duplooy`s Jungle Hotel San Ignacio
DuPlooy's Jungle Lodge Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing