We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
duPlooy's Jungle Lodge
Ranked #3 of 33 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
cooperstown,ny
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Paradise in Paradise”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

From the moment I stepped out of the van I knew I had made the right choice in staying at Du Plooys. Was welcomed by Loreni with umbrella in hand as a short light shower had just started. She was always helpful and always smiling.

The food was 5 star delectable with exotic fresh choices. Breakfast was made to order as well. Really enjoyed the Belizean specialties. Service and presentation was impeccable........looked forward to every meal. Judy the owner showed up early every morning interested in what the day had in store for us and sharing her day also.

The staff including Albert Angel Fermin and countless others were attentive and engaging if you wanted the interaction. Otherwise they were professional responding to your every need. They never tired of me going on and on about the excitement of my day and contributed even more information on the animals I'd seen and the excursions I had taken.

The Botanical Garden is not to be missed. It's exceptional with a surprise at every turn. As a guest admission is free.

This was truly a paradise within a paradise. I miss you all and hope you are well. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: I was in 5 but can't imagine a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbCooperstown_ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thanks for your great review. We always say that we have the best guests. They always enjoy talking to one another - and why not - it takes a certain type of person to even come here so you're bound to have something in common with other guests. And, if you aren't in a mood to socialize, there is plenty of room to be on your own.

Come back and spend more time in the gardens and doing the activities you missed the first time around.

Judy duPlooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    72
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
137
157
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I can't recommend these guys high enough - they bent over backwards to ensure my stay was amazing - the food, service and organisation was top notch. The surroundings are peaceful, well kept and they obviously have a deep appreciation of wildlife and nature (the walk around the gardens is not to be missed). Being so close to so many Mayan ruins - it's also a perfect stop for culture and sight seeing. Don't miss the full day to Tikal in Guatamala, or cave tubing or any of the local ruins. The guides they organise are superb too.

Room Tip: Can't imagine any of the rooms not being great. No air-con, but there are fans and it didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stormwater3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thanks reviewing us and for all of the stars! And thanks for visiting us during the off season, which really shouldn't be "off" since it is just as lovely here in September and October as it is for the rest of the year.

Come back and see us soon. And send your friends. When you send your friends, ask about our
credits for friends' visits.

Judy duPlooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caye caulker belize
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Rooms were 1/2 price because it was off season. Staff was amazingly helpful, knowledgable, accommodating and just wonderful in all respects. They were wonderful to our kids. The good was delicious. The rooms simple but clean and comfortable. It was exactly the calm retreat we needed, but our stay was too short. I would love the opportunity to go back to duPlooy's!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank so much for taking time to write a review for duPlooy's. The thing I like best about being here (besides the beauty of the area and all of the activities) is the fact that my staff really does care about whether you enjoy your stay and prides themselves on their service and food. This makes my job easier!

Hope to see you again soon.

Judy duPlooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Spending a week at duPlooy's, recommended by a colleague who had stayed there mutliple times, turned into a superb experience for me (a retired schoolteacher) and my 17 and 18-year-old grandkids. We loved every aspect of the lodge - from accommodations, to delectable meals, to personnel who loved sharing their beautiful country with us. The guides on every tour were gracious, informative and considerate. For folks who want to discover a hidden treasure the 7-day, 6-night stay is perfect. We will definitely return and wish Ms. Judy and her great staff many additional years of showcasing their corner of paradise.

Room Tip: Check the website to find the option that fits your group - of whatever size- and stay long enough t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRHiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thanks so much for your review of duPlooy's. This is a great spot for people of all ages and a good for sharing time with people from other cultures. Our staff truly wants you to have a good time and are eager to hear about you and about where you live, so thanks for sharing your time with us.

Judy duPlooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Thanks to the owner Judy and her team. excellent service and caring for our special request on meals. Only problem was power supply, shot down quite frequently which also affect the heater (warm water supply).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StellaYang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review for duPlooy's. I was off gallivanting around the US visiting my children and grandchildren so I'm glad to hear that the staff still takes good care of guests when I'm away.

Judy duPlooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKees Rocks, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

It was the second time for my Husband and myself. We are in our fifties and the relaxation is awesome. It is so great to wake to the jungle sounds. We also took advantage of the canoe's and loved the quiet on the river for 3 hrs, so peaceful.and the food we call it 5 star the chefs are great, and they have an awesome taste for food. A year ago we also visited and never sat still we did the zip line horses caves tubing and more. We found our spot, and I am sure you will feel the same, it is a warm friendly place, our months were in Sept, and second time around July price is right and the all inclusive is the way to go have fun all

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Hello,
Thanks for your review and for coming back. It sounds as though we'll see you again. The first time you did all of the activities, this time you relaxed so it's time for the combo adventure/relaxation itinerary.

Judy duPlooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Patchogue, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our family vacation to Belize was spontaneous. We only made the decision less than a month prior.
duPlooy's was actually our second choice having very little knowledge or time to truly research. We only knew we wanted to spend time at an Eco lodge, and see the local sites.
Now having been there, duPlooys would be a first choice for us.
Other than the fact that it rained, (in the off season ), we have no complaints about our stay. Only praise. The rain was sporadic and did not hamper our plans at all
The cottages were nice, and the staff was exceptional. They were very knowledgable about the wildlife, the Forrest and local sites and activities. There was no pressure to do do anything, only accommodations if you needed their help.
Upon our arrival mid afternoon, after a long journey from N.Y. we were tired and hungry. The staff opened the kitchen for us. We had booked nothing as to activities and the office staff was great in helping us decide which days to do what activities.
We only had a week in Belize with half being at duPlooy then onto San Pedro. I can only say if possible, extend your time , Belize is great
Dan W. and family, N.Y.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Sorry to take so long replying to your Trip Advisor Review of duPlooy's. This does not mean that my staff and myself don't appreciate your taking the time to write about us. I'm glad that you think a week in Belize wasn't long enough - that's why our motto is: "Make Sure You Stay Long Enough"
Don't forget to ask for your returning guest discount the next time you visit us.

Judy duPlooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
1.3 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#2 of 33 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 13 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
3.9 mi away
Maya Mountain Lodge
Maya Mountain Lodge
#6 of 33 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to duPlooy's Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about duPlooy's Jungle Lodge

Property: duPlooy's Jungle Lodge
Address: Chial Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — duPlooy's Jungle Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
duPlooy's Jungle Lodge Resort, on the Macal River, an organic property since 1988, now powered by the sun, may just be the Eco-Lodge you are looking for.duPlooy's offers the original "Create Your Own Vacation' package as well as set packages for individuals and groups and custom packages which include other locations in Belize. Whatever you are looking for, we offer a great venue for your Belize Vacation for Families,Romantic Getaways and Honeymoons, Adventure Holidays and more. There is excellent Birding on and around the property as well as many on-site activities.Included with your room: continental breakfast, entrance to adjacent Belize Botanic Gardens, access to trails, use of canoes and tubes from our beautiful Macal River Beach,incredible bird watching from the deck with complimentary morning coffee, delicious meals from locally-sourced meats, eggs and produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your duPlooy's Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duplooy`s Jungle Hotel San Ignacio
DuPlooy's Jungle Lodge Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing