We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Judy duPlooy and her staff have created an amazing jungle retreat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
duPlooy's Jungle Lodge
Ranked #3 of 33 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mt. Pleasant, SC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Judy duPlooy and her staff have created an amazing jungle retreat!”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Everything about the lodge is comfortable and welcoming. Our cottage was comfortable and equipped with everything we needed including a hammock on the screened porch. An ideal perch for listening to the birds and watching hummingbirds feed on the ginger and birds of paradise plants growing everywhere. The staff was so friendly and felt like family by the time we left! The guides were extremely knowledgeable and well trained, earning my highest degree of confidence during cave tubing, horseback riding,canoeing and hiking the Mayan ruins. The Botanic Garden is not to be missed with all the exotic plants and trees! The meals were excellent and the drinks exotic creations! The jungle lodge is a beautiful, exciting adventure!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thanks for your review. I remember you as a very gracious Southern Lady on her first jungle adventure, willing to try it all. Your comments mean a lot.

Judy duPlooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    73
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
139
158
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

What a great staff and good food! Phillip met us at the airport. Learned he had been at the lodge 17 years. He was typical of the low turnover and loyalty. Judy keeps staff employed in the off season; hence the loyalty. Soon everyone knows your name and you become family. We came back with lots of receipts for food and drinks. Never locked our room or felt the need to do so. The guides are well trained and proud of their Maya heritage. We learned a lot of Mayan History and some Kriol.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leonard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for reviewing duPlooy's and for your positive feedback. Did you ever think that it's the guests who inspire the staff treat you the way they do and the guests who make me want to hang around and chat for hours. I enjoyed your visit immensely.

Judy duPlooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My four friends and I had a wonderful time at DuPlooy's Jungle Lodge. If you want to be treated like family and be fed wonderful gourmet meals, this is the place for you. Judy, the owner, is constantly making sure her guests get the best experience possible. The drivers, guides, cooks, guest assistants are fantastic. We highly recommend a visit to this lodge. There are lots of outdoor treks around the grounds as well as things to door in the local area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thanks so much for your review. Our staff, particularly your guides, Philip and Victor, enjoyed your company as much as you did theirs. A fun group of adventurous "girls".

You make it all worthwhile.

Judy

PS Victor was grateful for being able to learn how to ride a horse. (LOL)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas City, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We spent several days @ duPlooy's in October. It was low season which was great for us because we had the entire place almost completely to ourselves. It was the perfect place to really relax, unwind & get away from it all! Our comfy bungalow had a wonderful covered porch with seating & hammock swing. Wonderful place to enjoy a cocktail after a fun-filled day. we woke to the sounds of the forest, saw colorful exotic birds, butterflies, and flowers, spent all day exploring the trails through adjacent Belize Botanic Garden, cooled off with a swim in the refreshing river & in the evening we enjoyed visiting with Judy at the bar & were treated to food that can only be described as 4 star!! The quality of the food that was served was truly surprising! and the service was first-rate,as well.
One day we took a horse-back ride through the jungle with a knowledgeable guide to an overlook with breath-taking views of the valley below. you can arrange to see the ruins at Xunantunich by horseback, which is nearby & not to be missed!
With a Tropic Air landing strip just a few miles away, you can avoid the 2 hour drive from Belize city, a new & major convenience !
We will be returning very soon! I can't wait!

Room Tip: no fitness center or pool. but with all the hiking trials & hills to climb & with a sparklin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donita_B_13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Shhh! Don't tell anyone how quiet it is here in October or they will all come then too and the next time won't be so quiet. But don't worry because if they do, you will enjoy their company because we are sure that we have the best guests here.

Thanks for your review.

Judy duPlooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1,136 reviews
305 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 488 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

I am not sure where the negative review stayed but we stayed at a great resort which felt isolated in the forest. Food fabulous and the service outstanding, excursions wonderful. Our cabana very unique, clean, just great!
But you are in a forest not in a condo, so u are living with the forest.
Negatives were occasional loss of water, a horseback riding numb bum, but made up by staff who were always looking to make your visit enjoyable! We stayed 4 nights which kept us busy. Tikal tour worthwhile!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OntarioCanuck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thanks for your defense! And for visiting us. We always say that duPlooy's is not for everyone, but for those who enjoy this type of vacation, it is truly a great experience.

We are proud of our all-Belizean staff who are the ones who really work hard to ensure that you have a good time here.

Judy duPlooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinity, Alabama
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Where do I begin?? We spent our Thanksgiving vacation in Belize. First at duPlooy's, then in San Padro...while San Padro was fun, duPlooy's spoiled us!
The property is amazing! It is hard to believe it use to be stripped farm land. Every tree, plant, building, sidewalk and trail are perfectly placed. It feels like it was built with a lot of love.

On site, we enjoyed the botanical garden, tubing on the river, horseback riding, hiking the trails and laying around in hammocks drinking fresh lime juice. Guides took us to the Saturday market in San Ignacio, mass on Sunday, zip-lining, cave tubing, touring Cahal Pech and the Belize Zoo.
duPlooy's provided us with great guides, fabulous drinks, delicious food and comfortable accommodations.

The staff was amazing! Phillip, Albert, Fermin, Ishmel, Noel...and so many more!! I am so sorry I don't remember everyone's name..we enjoyed you all!! Fermin set up every activity and took care of all of our families wants, Phillip and Noel were fabulous guides. Ishmel accommodated our 12 year old with every combination of fresh fruit smoothies that she could dream up. Ishmel and Albert served us breakfast, lunch and dinner with a smile.

We had a wonderful time. Judy duPlooy and the whole duPlooy family made a beautiful footprint in Belize. We are so glad we found it!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LWalker2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Glad you had a great time at duPlooy's. We like this area because there is so much to do and particularly like it when people take enough time to enjoy their surroundings and do some of the activities available onsite. You can get so busy enjoying all of the nearby adventures that sometimes people forget that you could spend a lot of time just roaming the grounds, riding, canoeing, tubing and just relaxing.

Thanks for the compliments for our staff. They are always happy to see that their hard work is appreciated.

Judy duPlooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We loved our stay with Duplooys Jungle Lodge. The resort is located in the heart of the jungle - everywhere you look is a beautiful paradise. It is a family run, ecofriendly resort. The grounds are well groomed and the staff is friendly and warm. From the moment you step off the plane, they take care of everything for you & coordinate whatever you would like to see and do during your stay.
The list of activities on and offsite are amazing! Check out their website to see the list of things to do at the lodge. You don’t even have to leave the grounds to have a wonderful day (botanical garden, horseback riding, river kayaks and canoes…). The staff took a lot of time and care to ensure we were able to see and do everything we wanted to do. We did three off site trips and the guides they work with are top notch.
The staff was friendly and made a point to know everyone’s names, a bit of info about them and hear about their individual activities and make recommendations. The meals were included and WOW the food was delicious & a great variety / selection. We would say we were not very hungry and wind up eating everything on the plate. You had the choice of either eating in a dining room or out on a desk overlooking the jungle.
We stayed in the jungle lodge room, which was very nice. It had its own screened in front porch with two chairs and a hammock so you could enjoy the sights and sounds around you without being nibbled on by mosquitos. There was no AC, but the fan was more than enough for us to feel comfortable sleeping.
In the morning toucans and other birds come to visit and at night a group of Kinkajous stop by for their daily bananas. These guys were great to watch! If you are a birder, there is an amazing variety to see right here at the lodge and on the grounds.
This is a great place to choose if you are going to Belize.

Room Tip: We stayed in lodge room which was the lowest priced and it was really nice. Quality Can only go up f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thanks for your positive review and for visiting duPlooy's. I'm not tired of saying that we really appreciate these reviews and that our staff receives so many compliments on their food and service. I couldn't do it without them!

Judy duPlooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
1.3 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
620 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
790 reviews
5.6 mi away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#2 of 33 in San Ignacio
1,187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
684 reviews
4.0 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 13 in San Ignacio
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to duPlooy's Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about duPlooy's Jungle Lodge

Property: duPlooy's Jungle Lodge
Address: Chial Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — duPlooy's Jungle Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
duPlooy's Jungle Lodge Resort, on the Macal River, an organic property since 1988, now powered by the sun, may just be the Eco-Lodge you are looking for.duPlooy's offers the original "Create Your Own Vacation' package as well as set packages for individuals and groups and custom packages which include other locations in Belize. Whatever you are looking for, we offer a great venue for your Belize Vacation for Families,Romantic Getaways and Honeymoons, Adventure Holidays and more. There is excellent Birding on and around the property as well as many on-site activities.Included with your room: continental breakfast, entrance to adjacent Belize Botanic Gardens, access to trails, use of canoes and tubes from our beautiful Macal River Beach,incredible bird watching from the deck with complimentary morning coffee, delicious meals from locally-sourced meats, eggs and produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your duPlooy's Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duplooy`s Jungle Hotel San Ignacio
DuPlooy's Jungle Lodge Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing