We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous place, fabulous people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
duPlooy's Jungle Lodge
Ranked #3 of 33 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Underhill, Vermont
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous place, fabulous people”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed 10 days at duPlooy's and loved it. We stayed in a bungalow, which was roomy, quiet, and had a nice kitchenette; wonderful porch (with hammock) overlooking the Macal River, where we spent a lot of late afternoons. Even the pouring rain (unusual this time of year) couldn't dampen our spirits. The birding was outrageous, from our porch, from the bar deck (where they feed them) and in the Belize Botanic Gardens which are part of the duPlooy's property. Our guide, Victor, was an extremely knowledgeable and enthusiastic bird and wildlife guide; he was our guide for a day trip to Barton Creek for cave canoeing, and (knowing our love of birds), we spent about 90 minutes birding on the way from the lodge to the main road before going on the canoe trip. All of the trips we scheduled through the Lodge were wonderful - Tikal was great, and worth the border crossing to see it; morning bird walk was beyond expectations; Barton Creek was interesting. Some of the optional excursions were not available while we were there, due to severe flooding in the region, but we found plenty to do.

All of the staff were professional, caring, and good-humored. The food is very good. We chose to have the continental breakfast (fruit, juice, fresh-baked goods) all but one day (and it did get a bit monotonous); we got lunch on our own (we had a car and were able to keep groceries in the fridge or eat while out driving for the day).

If you rent a car in Belize, be aware that it is extremely expensive - you will need a 4WD vehicle to get to places like duPlooy's (and it was a bit dicey getting there even with 4WD after the rains). Be sure to rent from a reputable agency. A week for the smallest 4WD was more than US$1000 plus a $1500 security deposit if you buy their insurance ($3000 if you don't). Most visitors to duPlooy's didn't have their own vehicle.

One issue we had while there was the electricity: our power went out many (dozen or so) times while we were there; I believe they discovered a problem with a breaker that was corrected by the time we left. They generate their own power, so some variability is to be expected. Judy duPlooy was most apologetic. A couple of minor complaints: we had 2 rather dated, ill-smelling blankets (it was unusually cold the first few days we were there and we needed them and more). Although the tap water is safe to drink, it has a lot of sediment; the filtered water available at the bar and office is not all that palatable; we applaud duPlooy's decision not to offer water in plastic bottles (there is no plastic recycling in Belize), but would like a better solution.

It's a great place for birders and nature lovers. Exceptional place!

Room Tip: Bungalows are private, quiet, spacious and with a kitchenette, and porch - worth the extra $.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thanks for your review. I'm glad that you got to go to the Women's Coop. It is one of the few coops that truly work and we have seen it evolve from a few craft items to what it is today. Well worth supporting.

I know that the continental breakfast which consists of coffee or tee, fruit or juice and homemade breads is pretty much the same every day, but the full breakfast menu is full of options and you can get about anything you want. We recommend the full meal plan which gives you all three meals.

My apologies about the blankets - we should have checked them out before it got cold and you can be assured that we now have done so.

The good news here is that, after several months of rain, we have now had sunshine with intensely blue skies and a skyful of stars appearing again.

Judy duPlooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    72
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
137
157
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We spent 4 fabulous days at duPlooy"s and it was just not enough time. Every staff member was well-informed and friendly yet unobtrusively professional. They proudly educated us about their country and shared their different cultures with us. We were fortunate to stay in the Tree House, in a little world of our own. We were well looked after on our day trip to Tikal in Guatemala, and I thoroughly enjoyed the Women's Cooperative, one of many worthwhile local initiatives supported by Miss Judy, a delightful hostess who took a sincere interest in our comfort. We had not been horse back riding in years and found it a bit strenuous - please keep in mind that the trails were affected by unusually heavy rains - but enjoyed the Flour Camp cave followed by a tube float back down the river to the lodge. We wish we had taken our head lamps with us to use in the caves rather than trying to wrangle flashlights. LADIES - while a bathing suit is suitable for the tubing, I recommend shorts that cover the backs of your legs that will discourage curious, nibbly little fish! It was hilarious as well as a natural delight floating along while spotting numerous male iguanas sunning themselves in the trees. Just being at duPlooy's was magical enough - the excursions were the icing on the gourmet cake. Would not hesitate to recommend - or return!

Room Tip: The Tree House was a very romantic setting with screened windows on every side, tucked away in its o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twomaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Uh oh! I just got my responses mixed up and put yours on someone else's review. This is what you get for taking too long chatting with guests on the deck and then hurrying through other "work"
Thanks for your review and for visiting us.

As always, we are very proud of our caring, knowledgeable staff and the way we are evolving here.

Judy duPlooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed at duPlooy's for 4 days and wish I had spent my whole week in Belize at duPlooys. The owner was a great hostess and the staff are outstanding.
I really felt I was in the jungle. The lodge is on top of the small mountain and overlooks the river. toucans came and visited us every evening and it was a birders paradise.
The food was really gourmet and we were the first in the dining room every evening. The guides take care of you and want you to love their country as much as they do. You really get a sense of how much pride they have in their country. I enjoyed every excursion and especially loved the cave tubing.
I can only say it was a fantastic trip thanks to the staff and facilities at duPlooy's.

Room Tip: Great for families and groups. We were in a bungalow with four separate bedrooms and that was perfec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thanks for your positive comments. Of course, it doesn't hurt us to be able to live in what is, in our biased opinion, the best part of the country where the people take pride in their history and their work. And really care that you have good food.

Judy duPlooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt. Pleasant, SC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Everything about the lodge is comfortable and welcoming. Our cottage was comfortable and equipped with everything we needed including a hammock on the screened porch. An ideal perch for listening to the birds and watching hummingbirds feed on the ginger and birds of paradise plants growing everywhere. The staff was so friendly and felt like family by the time we left! The guides were extremely knowledgeable and well trained, earning my highest degree of confidence during cave tubing, horseback riding,canoeing and hiking the Mayan ruins. The Botanic Garden is not to be missed with all the exotic plants and trees! The meals were excellent and the drinks exotic creations! The jungle lodge is a beautiful, exciting adventure!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thanks for your review. I remember you as a very gracious Southern Lady on her first jungle adventure, willing to try it all. Your comments mean a lot.

Judy duPlooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

What a great staff and good food! Phillip met us at the airport. Learned he had been at the lodge 17 years. He was typical of the low turnover and loyalty. Judy keeps staff employed in the off season; hence the loyalty. Soon everyone knows your name and you become family. We came back with lots of receipts for food and drinks. Never locked our room or felt the need to do so. The guides are well trained and proud of their Maya heritage. We learned a lot of Mayan History and some Kriol.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leonard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for reviewing duPlooy's and for your positive feedback. Did you ever think that it's the guests who inspire the staff treat you the way they do and the guests who make me want to hang around and chat for hours. I enjoyed your visit immensely.

Judy duPlooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My four friends and I had a wonderful time at DuPlooy's Jungle Lodge. If you want to be treated like family and be fed wonderful gourmet meals, this is the place for you. Judy, the owner, is constantly making sure her guests get the best experience possible. The drivers, guides, cooks, guest assistants are fantastic. We highly recommend a visit to this lodge. There are lots of outdoor treks around the grounds as well as things to door in the local area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thanks so much for your review. Our staff, particularly your guides, Philip and Victor, enjoyed your company as much as you did theirs. A fun group of adventurous "girls".

You make it all worthwhile.

Judy

PS Victor was grateful for being able to learn how to ride a horse. (LOL)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas City, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We spent several days @ duPlooy's in October. It was low season which was great for us because we had the entire place almost completely to ourselves. It was the perfect place to really relax, unwind & get away from it all! Our comfy bungalow had a wonderful covered porch with seating & hammock swing. Wonderful place to enjoy a cocktail after a fun-filled day. we woke to the sounds of the forest, saw colorful exotic birds, butterflies, and flowers, spent all day exploring the trails through adjacent Belize Botanic Garden, cooled off with a swim in the refreshing river & in the evening we enjoyed visiting with Judy at the bar & were treated to food that can only be described as 4 star!! The quality of the food that was served was truly surprising! and the service was first-rate,as well.
One day we took a horse-back ride through the jungle with a knowledgeable guide to an overlook with breath-taking views of the valley below. you can arrange to see the ruins at Xunantunich by horseback, which is nearby & not to be missed!
With a Tropic Air landing strip just a few miles away, you can avoid the 2 hour drive from Belize city, a new & major convenience !
We will be returning very soon! I can't wait!

Room Tip: no fitness center or pool. but with all the hiking trials & hills to climb & with a sparklin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donita_B_13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Shhh! Don't tell anyone how quiet it is here in October or they will all come then too and the next time won't be so quiet. But don't worry because if they do, you will enjoy their company because we are sure that we have the best guests here.

Thanks for your review.

Judy duPlooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
1.3 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#2 of 33 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 13 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
3.9 mi away
Maya Mountain Lodge
Maya Mountain Lodge
#6 of 33 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to duPlooy's Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about duPlooy's Jungle Lodge

Property: duPlooy's Jungle Lodge
Address: Chial Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — duPlooy's Jungle Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
duPlooy's Jungle Lodge Resort, on the Macal River, an organic property since 1988, now powered by the sun, may just be the Eco-Lodge you are looking for.duPlooy's offers the original "Create Your Own Vacation' package as well as set packages for individuals and groups and custom packages which include other locations in Belize. Whatever you are looking for, we offer a great venue for your Belize Vacation for Families,Romantic Getaways and Honeymoons, Adventure Holidays and more. There is excellent Birding on and around the property as well as many on-site activities.Included with your room: continental breakfast, entrance to adjacent Belize Botanic Gardens, access to trails, use of canoes and tubes from our beautiful Macal River Beach,incredible bird watching from the deck with complimentary morning coffee, delicious meals from locally-sourced meats, eggs and produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your duPlooy's Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duplooy`s Jungle Hotel San Ignacio
DuPlooy's Jungle Lodge Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing