We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for birding; outstanding staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
duPlooy's Jungle Lodge
Ranked #3 of 33 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The lodge and surrounding area are remarkable. Wonderful environment for birding. Food & Beverage staff excellent. Rooms very clean. Everyone is well trained in their jobs and very accommodating and friendly. Stayed here 4 nights with a small birding group. Highly recommend location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parula2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

Thanks for your review. This is a great birding spot with over 300 species in the area, many of which can be seen right from the deck. It's a great place for non-birders too with so much to do in the area.

Judy duPlooy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

Not for everyone, this jungle lodge is not a luxury resort in the traditional sense, even though there are Spa amenities available. If you enjoy the outdoors and the beauty of nature, this is the place for you. The grounds were meticulously maintained and beautiful. The entire staff from top to bottom was exceptionally courteous and helpful. The guides were extremely knowledgeable and all of our adventures were well planned and thoroughly enjoyable. The food exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: La Casita was the last available cabin and was a bit more than we required. However, it turned out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wdavis76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

Thanks for your review of duPlooy's. You're right that we're not a luxury resort in the traditional sense. Our luxury is in our surroundings. I'm always glad to have favorable comments about our food. Our all-Belizean staff is proud of the fact that they can produce meals that exceed the expectations of our visitors.

Judy duPlooy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I cannot say enough great things about DuPlooy's. First of all there is a botanical garden right on the property. An employee with gladly stroll the grounds showing you the different types of trees and plants and telling you which goods we use everyday using these plants. This property goes from the tree canopy right down to the river. Beauty and nature everywhere. Bird watching is spectacular here. Additionally, this lodge is extremely environmentally friendly. Celebrate the lack of plastic bottles and lack of air conditioning. The rooms are cooled by a fan and quite comfortable. My family LOVED it here. From DuPlooy's you can visit many ruins such as Xunantunich, Caracol and many more. You can even take a short trip across the border to Guatemala to visit the wildly impressive Tikal. In addition to the beautiful setting, the staff treats you like family. All eco tourism should look like this.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FilledWithJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

This is a belated but heartfelt response to your great Trip Advisor review. We always appreciate our guests' comments, especially the ones about our eco-tourism practices because, even though we could do more (always), we do try.

Don't forget to ask for your returning guest discount when you return.

Judy duPlooy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We spent four days at duPlooys in February and had a wonderful time bird watching, hiking, visiting the botanical garden, touring Mayan sites, the ATM cave and canoeing on the river. The accommodations were quiet, clean and very comfortable, and the meals were very good with ample variety and choice over our stay. The staff were extremely helpful organizing tours for us and were able to quickly find us an alternate tour when we encountered a sudden border closure and couldn't go to Tikal. The guides were very knowledgeable and fun to be with, and we saw amazing birds and wildlife that we would never have spotted on our own. There was more to do than we had time for and we hope to go back there again on another trip.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kath122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

Thanks for your great review of duPlooy's. Our staff and guides are what we are all about and we appreciate their efforts to make your stay enjoyable.

And we hope you will come back again too. Don't forget your returning guest discount when you make your reservation.

Judy duPlooy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed for four days at duPlooys and found it to be a fabulous experience. We had a standard room with a meal package and one trip adventure a day included. The room was very nice, with plenty of room to spread out with luggage and travel gear. We especially liked our screened porch. The food was delicious and plentiful. No beef is served because of cattle ranching's negative impact on the environment, but you will not miss it. They have great chicken, fish, lamb, and pork dishes. Bird watching is good, especially at the deck feeders in the bar area. The only botanical garden in Belize is located on the property. We were able to canoe on the river that runs by the lodge, take a day trip to Mayan ruins in Guatemala, see a butterfly farm, and explore a cave via canoe. All of our drivers and the lodge staff were very courteous, friendly, and helpful. The atmosphere at the lodge encourages visiting among guests, so you can meet new and interesting people. Judy duPlooy, the owner, tries to greet and converse with all of her guests. The lodge is very eco-friendly, which was a big plus for us.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brucie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Hello,

Thanks for your review of duPlooy's. The reason that I try to meet every one of our guests is that I find that they are very likeable people and there is a good exchange of information so I'm always learning something from our guests.

Judy duPlooy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed 5 nights, and it was the perfect base to tour Mayan ruins and go birding. Spent the two hour drive from the airport to Duplooys with Philip, who turned the two hour drive into three when he found we were avid birders. Accomodations were lovely and spacious, agoutis out our front door (Macal Suite). Food was more than ample in portions, tasty, and kitchen/wait staff friendly and professional. Guides were expert, friendly, and engaging. I asked for a birthday cake for one night to help us celebrate - kitchen staff delivered it to the table singing. Victor was a fun and enthusiastic guide who took us for an early morning bird walk on the grounds at the Botanical Gardens, followed up by the ruins at Xunantunich and Cahal Pech and lunch in town. Philip, an expert birder, took us birding to Laguna Aguacate with a stop for Mennonite ice cream on the way back. We tubed the river right at Duplooys and it was a refreshing way to end an adventurous day, before cleaning up and heading to the bird deck for a drink before dinner. The bird deck is pretty special - even our kids (age 11 and 12) were up early to see the bird activity without any prompting. We had one scheduling faux pas with the office staff - we couldn't seem to find a bird guide available for our last two days there. When pressed, the office staff found a non- Duplooys guide for us, but he didn't show up on time. By then, Judy (the owner) saw us waiting - inquired, then stepped in and rearranged the guide schedule to accommodate us. I'd recommend telling the office more than day ahead of time your desired tours, especially if that means birding. Definitely a place we'd come back to - we barely touched the Botanical Gardens! And we were made to feel at home and special.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Hello,
Thanks for your review. I remember that I was impressed that your young son was such an avid birder. One of my daughters spent many hours hanging around with husband on his many many bird walks.

Thanks for visiting us.

Judy duPlooy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My husband and I wanted to a stress-free, pre-planned honeymoon vacation and that's what we got with duPlooy's. Our wedding had us exhausted, so it was nice to know that duPlooy's lovely staff were there to look out for us from the time they picked us up at the airport to our return trip home. Some folks have already remarked on this, but I'd like to echo what they've said about the convenience of changing day trip bookings as the need arose. My husband got sick on one of the days so I stayed in with him, but I also was able to take a horseback ride and see the botanical gardens all on the property and be close to him in case he needed me. They also had medicine for him when he was sick. We felt totally at home and well cared for.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giabianca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thanks for your review. A stress-free honeymoon is what everyone should have after the busy time planning and celebrating a wedding. And at duPlooy's, our staff does their best to ensure that you are cared for whether you are on your honeymoon or not.

Judy duPlooy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
1.3 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
637 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
1,230 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
437 reviews
6.0 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
140 reviews
5.6 mi away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to duPlooy's Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about duPlooy's Jungle Lodge

Address: Chial Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range: £97 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — duPlooy's Jungle Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
duPlooy's Jungle Lodge Resort, on the Macal River, an organic property since 1988, now powered by the sun, may just be the Eco-Lodge you are looking for.duPlooy's offers the original "Create Your Own Vacation' package as well as set packages for individuals and groups and custom packages which include other locations in Belize. Whatever you are looking for, we offer a great venue for your Belize Vacation for Families,Romantic Getaways and Honeymoons, Adventure Holidays and more. There is excellent Birding on and around the property as well as many on-site activities.Included with your room: continental breakfast, entrance to adjacent Belize Botanic Gardens, access to trails, use of canoes and tubes from our beautiful Macal River Beach,incredible bird watching from the deck with complimentary morning coffee, delicious meals from locally-sourced meats, eggs and produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your duPlooy's Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duplooy`s Jungle Hotel San Ignacio
DuPlooy's Jungle Lodge Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing