We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (453)
Filter reviews
453 results
Traveller rating
354
83
7
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
354
83
7
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbotanical gardensjungle lodgehorseback ridingmacal riverfire towerla casitacave tubingmayan ruinsatm caveon sitetree houseevery morningmeal planpine ridgeguided tourexotic birdsday trip
Filter
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 453 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I am a sales manager for an IT security company and won this vacation for being top salesman of the year in 2013. What a very nice escape for me and my wife! Absolutely awesome. Rustic, wild and peaceful. The cellphone coverage is almost non existent and they have limited WiFi available which proved to be the best thing for me to step back and literally smell the roses. The staff is top notch, friendly, extremely helpful, knowledgeable and genuinely very nice people. The lodges are nestled just above the Macal River and the entire site is literally in the Jungle. Plenty of wildlife to enjoy in addition to the wonderful botanical gardens. Very well maintained property. The food was excellent and the outdoor bar area was ideal for kicking back and relaxing with a cocktail with the sounds of the jungle. No A/C and no TV, which was absolutely perfect. I had a little trouble sleeping at first hearing the crickets and sounds of the jungle but my wife slept very well and I got used to it after a day or so. Overall an excellent vacation and we will certainly be back. A day trip to Guatemala to see Tikal is a must! Wow!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at Sweet Songs Jungle Lodge, a Muy'Ono resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

I'm glad you enjoyed your respite from technology. While we depend on all of our devices, it's good to get away from them now and then. When you come back bring some more of your co-workers and we'll help you get over any IT withdrawals by supplying the peace and quiet of the Belizean Jungle.

Thanks.

Judy duPlooy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Vacationed with our kids, ages 9 and 11. We all loved duPlooy's! Saw lots of wildlife and birds, and enjoyed all of our excursions. The kids loved being able to go tubing whenever we had free time, and my wife loved to roam around the botanical garden. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shmair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at Sweet Songs Jungle Lodge, a Muy'Ono resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

Thanks for bringing your family to Belize and duPlooy's. It's great that there is so much to do in Belize's Cayo District that all ages can enjoy their stay.

Judy duPlooy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The lodge and surrounding area are remarkable. Wonderful environment for birding. Food & Beverage staff excellent. Rooms very clean. Everyone is well trained in their jobs and very accommodating and friendly. Stayed here 4 nights with a small birding group. Highly recommend location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parula2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at Sweet Songs Jungle Lodge, a Muy'Ono resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

Thanks for your review. This is a great birding spot with over 300 species in the area, many of which can be seen right from the deck. It's a great place for non-birders too with so much to do in the area.

Judy duPlooy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Not for everyone, this jungle lodge is not a luxury resort in the traditional sense, even though there are Spa amenities available. If you enjoy the outdoors and the beauty of nature, this is the place for you. The grounds were meticulously maintained and beautiful. The entire staff from top to bottom was exceptionally courteous and helpful. The guides were extremely knowledgeable and all of our adventures were well planned and thoroughly enjoyable. The food exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: La Casita was the last available cabin and was a bit more than we required. However, it turned out to be a very comfortable accommodation for 3 adults. The wrap around porch on both floors was a real plus with cool breezes in the evenings. The only drawback was that it did not have a small refrigerator, as did some of the smaller cabins.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wdavis76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at Sweet Songs Jungle Lodge, a Muy'Ono resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

Thanks for your review of duPlooy's. You're right that we're not a luxury resort in the traditional sense. Our luxury is in our surroundings. I'm always glad to have favorable comments about our food. Our all-Belizean staff is proud of the fact that they can produce meals that exceed the expectations of our visitors.

Judy duPlooy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I cannot say enough great things about DuPlooy's. First of all there is a botanical garden right on the property. An employee with gladly stroll the grounds showing you the different types of trees and plants and telling you which goods we use everyday using these plants. This property goes from the tree canopy right down to the river. Beauty and nature everywhere. Bird watching is spectacular here. Additionally, this lodge is extremely environmentally friendly. Celebrate the lack of plastic bottles and lack of air conditioning. The rooms are cooled by a fan and quite comfortable. My family LOVED it here. From DuPlooy's you can visit many ruins such as Xunantunich, Caracol and many more. You can even take a short trip across the border to Guatemala to visit the wildly impressive Tikal. In addition to the beautiful setting, the staff treats you like family. All eco tourism should look like this.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FilledWithJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at Sweet Songs Jungle Lodge, a Muy'Ono resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

This is a belated but heartfelt response to your great Trip Advisor review. We always appreciate our guests' comments, especially the ones about our eco-tourism practices because, even though we could do more (always), we do try.

Don't forget to ask for your returning guest discount when you return.

Judy duPlooy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews