We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once in a lifetime experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
duPlooy's Jungle Lodge
Ranked #3 of 33 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
berkeley, Ca
1 review
“Once in a lifetime experience”
Reviewed 19 July 2007

What an amazing place! We can't recommend it highly enough. Set in the Belize jungle above the Macal river this glorious "treehouse" is amazing. We stayed in a bungalow but the slightly smaller rooms looked just as inviting and were in the same setting. The whole resort is made of wood, the rooms are large and spare and scrupuously clean, with a hammock and chairs on the porch of each individual room. The large bed was very comfortable. All the rooms are connected by a wooden walkway, perhaps 200 yards long that rambles through flowering trees and vines. There is a small outdoor bar area where birds (toucans) and small mammals and lizards come to feast on fresh fruit set out for them. The meals were unfailingly delicious and the staff was charming and helpful. We mostly stayed at the resort and read or took tubes (free, despite a previous report) down to the river, or walked through the amazing botanical garden. They offer all the standard trips and tours but we didn't want to leave the hotel except for one delightful morning trip to a local ruin which was grand and quite a private experience as we were closeby so could get there early before the tour buses! There was a computer available for email. A driver met us in belize city and drove us to the resort and back. We did not miss having a car there....the nearby towns aren't as interesting as the resort. We highly recommend this place. We loved our experience there.

  • Liked — peaceful and beautiful
  • Disliked — the long distance from Belize city
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank patsypol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    73
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
139
158
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2007

My husband and I loved every minute of our stay at duPlooys. From the service, staff, food, accommodations and secluded jungle surrounding, we could not have asked for anything more. While there was no AC, there were enough fans in the room to make the stay comfortable - not that you will be in the rooms much since there is so much to do and see.

We did a package that included a bungalow room 3 excursions and all food. It worked out great. Our tour guides were very knowledgeable and accommodating. We did the Tikal, Xunantunich/river tubing and Aktun Tunichal Muknal tours with our package and all three were great. Small groups and smart tour guides. Even staying around the resort was great - botanical gardens, right on the river, hammoks to relax in.

There are lots of plant sand wild life to see around duPlooys. They feed birds in the morning from the deck - toucans and jays just feet away! - and a few other animals that come out at night. Plus they have 3 dogs which are fun to play with.

Unless you are very familar with Belize, driving around is hard - bad roads and unmarked streets - so the all-inclusive is a good deal. The resort has no other restaurants near by. And it is about a 20 minute cab ride into down (I think it would have cost about $70 too).

Thank you duPlooys for the most memorable, relaxing and overall enjoyable vacation we have ever taken.

  • Liked — Location - secluded, jungle setting with great rooms!
  • Disliked — Noisy bugs at night!
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Crackens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia, pa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2007

Duplooys is gorgeous, perched up in the canopy above the Macal River. The people are unbelievably wonderful and accomodating, the rooms are basic but very comfortable. The tourgides sing country music.

  • Disliked — no air conditioning in the rooms
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank yoschwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2007

we have just returned from belize...it is an amazing country!
we spent some of our last days at duPlooy's jungle lodge...VERY cool...we were met at the airport by phillip he was the greatest really sweet and funny AND knowledgeable...we drove thru belize city and thru the town of san ignacio where phillip stopped for "tums" for us :)
then up to the jungle - COOL! the grounds are amazing so lush and green, even though phillip said is was dry and not as lush as usual, to us city kids it looked amazing!

the rooms are wonderful- we stayed ina jungle room very spacious.

the bar is amazing it has this walk out thru the canopy to a couple of hammocks and chairs. the drinks are really reasonable and the staff is really sweet.

the dog lucky is not to be missed :)

food is really really good they offer all inclusive meal plans that are well worth it although we were so hot at night we opted to just do a late lunch in the bar and that was plenty especially paired with their breakfast plan...

they have so many trips to choose form ranging form very easy to VERY hard...
we canoed down the macal river into san ignacio for the weekend market - really fun!

on our way back to belize city phillip took us to xunantinitch and the belize zoo where he acted as guides for both...it's really great way to leave the jungle...xunantinitch is a great "little ruin" and the zoo is one of my favs. really really great small but cool.

the sisters that run it are sweet and friendly! brett is really fun to sit on the porch with while the wild kinckachoo's come down and eat banana's out of your hand.

and let's not forget the ever so wonderful luis at the from desk.

the botanical gardens are amazing! we were lucky enough to be the only ones in there as we wandered thru pretty orchids and coffee plants...


bottom line....duPlooy's is awesome

  • Liked — tha grounds are really pretty and the staff rocks!
  • Disliked — we lost power one night and it was SO HOT we could not sleep
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank hazelbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2007

We loved our stay at duPlooy's. It was a great place to stay if you really want to feel like you are in a rustic, natural setting, but aren't up for actually roughing it. It had plenty of charm and jungle feel while still being nice enough for our parents. The staff was very friendly and knowlegable about the area, plants, and animals. We did the meal plan, and while we probably could have saved a little money getting things a la carte, it was much more relaxing not to have to worry about it. The tours we took were well organized and lead, but did get a bit expensive when you added in tips. Our only regret about our stay was that we didn't give ourselves an extra day just to hang out and relax at the lodge.

  • Liked — The staff was very helpful and friendly.
  • Disliked — The birds and animals were very loud. Light sleepers won't sleep in.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ihaterain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
166 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2007

Talk about a beautiful place - staying at duPlooy's was the highlight of our trip (and we thought we were going to enjoy the cayes more!)! The lodge is beautiful, loved the open air bar/deck, and our private bungalow was nice. We enjoyed waking up to the birds every morning, seeing the toucanets, tons of hummingbirds, and the kinkajous. It is so peaceful there, it was a wonderful respite. The food was excellent, we didn't have a bad meal the whole stay. What really made the difference, however, between a good experience and a great experience was the staff. Every staff member we encountered was friendly, willing to help, and genuine. The DuPlooy's staff were genuinely interested in making sure we were enjoying our stay and went above and beyond to point out birds, plants, and other things specific to Belize. The people are what made our experience way better than what we were expecting!

I will recommend this place to anyone going to Belize!

  • Liked — location, staff
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KosmoK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2007

We thoroughly enjoyed DuPlooy's. We loved being so close to nature. The morning visits of birds, and evening visits of kinkajous to the outdoor bar were appreciated by all. We spent a good deal of time walking the grounds, and went on a lovely horseback ride.
The food was great, and the staff was excellent.
Most of the rooms have a screened porch, a good place to kick back after a hike or tour. It is not far from Xunantunich ruins & Cahal Pech, and several other attractions. It is a little far from any restaurants or stores so you will definitely want the meal plan. We had a vehicle, so we did not take any of the resort's tours.

  • Liked — natural setting
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank butterflyHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
1.3 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
620 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
790 reviews
5.6 mi away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#2 of 33 in San Ignacio
1,187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
684 reviews
4.0 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 13 in San Ignacio
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to duPlooy's Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about duPlooy's Jungle Lodge

Property: duPlooy's Jungle Lodge
Address: Chial Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — duPlooy's Jungle Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
duPlooy's Jungle Lodge Resort, on the Macal River, an organic property since 1988, now powered by the sun, may just be the Eco-Lodge you are looking for.duPlooy's offers the original "Create Your Own Vacation' package as well as set packages for individuals and groups and custom packages which include other locations in Belize. Whatever you are looking for, we offer a great venue for your Belize Vacation for Families,Romantic Getaways and Honeymoons, Adventure Holidays and more. There is excellent Birding on and around the property as well as many on-site activities.Included with your room: continental breakfast, entrance to adjacent Belize Botanic Gardens, access to trails, use of canoes and tubes from our beautiful Macal River Beach,incredible bird watching from the deck with complimentary morning coffee, delicious meals from locally-sourced meats, eggs and produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your duPlooy's Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duplooy`s Jungle Hotel San Ignacio
DuPlooy's Jungle Lodge Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing