We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too much owner hype” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mayawalk Bar & Grill - CLOSED

Mayawalk Bar & Grill
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Barbecue, Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Seattle
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Too much owner hype”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

The owner of this place is in your face when you walk by bragging about his grilling skills and trying to hustle you for his tour company. The biggest joke is the steak. Lots of options on menu, but what came for both of us was definitely not rib eye. Looked like they ran down to the store and bought whatever was cheapest. Meat is cooked on outdoor grill with some sort of rub on it. Meat had mushy outside and no grill marks - how weird is that? Service took awhile too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Xeriquette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    5
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Tortillas!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

We were walking around downtown one night and were approached by Jim. He encouraged us to try his food. It was fantastic. The tortillas were homemade and delicious. The sauced that came on the side with the beef and chicken was fantastic. A really great experience!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TARAnSEAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A bit touristy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Hostel and restaurant we ate the grilled chicken and kabob here one night and had 2 for $5 bz rum punches. Overall ok but not great, there are better options in San Ignacio for food.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level Contributor
548 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Best Steak Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

While walking by earlier in the day, we were confronted by a gentlemen who convinced us his restaurant was cooler then the one across the way. As it was a hot day, we took his advice and sat down for a few drinks. He turned on all the fans for us and then told us about his title of "Grill Master 2012". He convinced us to come back that night for dinner. When we returned, I asked him which steak he would recommend as they were all the same size and price. Much to my surprise, he reached out, touched my stomach and immediately said, "the Porterhouse. The big one". I think my wife is still laughing about that. As it turned out, it was one of the best steaks I have ever had. Cooked and seasoned perfectly. I usually like some type of steak sauce, but this needed nothing else. Tender and juicy. As others have said, Jimmy is cordial and proud. Definitely worth stopping for a meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Samndjsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belize
Level Contributor
104 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

We had dinner here, the atmosphere was good as the tables were laid out on the street in front of a charming old colonial house. Service was disorganized and left a lot to be desired, the meals were well presented, but we were all served at different times and my meal arrived a half hour after the others at our table. The food was ok, but the meat was highly overseasoned.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bouloys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mayawalk Bar & Grill also viewed

 
San Ignacio, Cayo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing