We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent guest house with terrible experience.”
Review of Pacz Guesthouse

Pacz Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Ignacio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pacz Guesthouse
Ranked #25 of 33 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed here for two nights and the good things were that the rooms were clean and the shared bathroom was as well. The guest house is off the main road so there is no traffic noise as well during the day. The woman and her daughter working the few days were friendly and made sure everything was well with us. That is the end of the positive experience.

As for the negatives this place is just so noisy. The common area of the guesthouse effects all the rooms as the rooms surround the common area. This means that early each morning when people are gathering for their daily tours you are forced to be awake with them. The restaurant downstairs is open until 10pm and is very noisy until around 10:30-11pm when all the people are gone, which is fine in itself if it weren't for what happened our last night.

After the restaurant was closed the Pac-Z tour operator (Owner? Manager? Definitely staff...) decided it would be fun to bring some friends and a few Pac-Z guests up onto the balcony and in the common area to keep the drinking going. Besides two people in the group, no one else was actually staying at the guest house but they thought it would be fun to be drunk and cause commotion until midnight. This is when we first left our room and told them to keep it down as people were trying to sleep. They responded by heckling us. Another hour passed and the noise got louder as the people got drunker and the people who were not guests even thought it was fine to come into the guest house and use the shared bathroom (not washing their hands after and leaving a mess to boot. Considering they work in the restaurant this means I'd never eat at their restaurant either!) Around 1:30am we went out again and with anger told them to leave as they should know better being staff who work there. We were again met with hostility and drunken laughter.

This went on until 2:45am when the "guests" of the tour operator left for their own residence and left the one veeeery drunk Pac-Z left to make even more noise. Again I went out and told him to shut up and go to sleep and finally at 3am we could get to sleep ourselves... only to be woken up at 8am the next day by the same people who kept us up all night.

There is no way this should ever happen in the hospitality industry. EVER. It is one thing for other guests to be inconsiderate, but not for the staff of the guesthouse themselves to do it. There is simply no excuse for the attitude and hostility we had that night.

Unless you want to be awake all night then find a different place. You'll get no sleep here.

Room Tip: All rooms surround the common area and balcony. There is no quiet sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dirty_Bindle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

The Pacz Guest house was a really great place to stay. Erva's restaurant downstairs has great food and the rooms were very spacious, clean, comfortable and very well priced. The town and surrounding area has a lot to offer if you are looking for adventure, nature, ancient ruins, great food and a party scene. The staff were all excellent and no complaints but like the last review I found it a little noisy in the mornings. I stayed in one of the rooms closest to the road - if you asked for one of the back rooms Im sure it wouldn't be an issue. They are motorcycle friendly so if you are travelling by bike they can accommodate you and your bike - I stashed mine in the yard next door which was well out of sight from the road.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back and away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 422EricB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Pacz is a really sweet place but the noise from the downstairs restaurant meant we had to move. Couldn't really sleep. Other than that, the rooms are spacious, clean and there is WIFI. The guys downstairs at Erva's are really nice and helped us book an amazing tour of ATM. The noise was just quite a problem for us and being two streets away from the town centre attracted some creepy locals.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EDGE-09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This clean, friendly and centrally located place will meet and exceed your needs while in San Ignacio. I stayed here for several nights while exploring the area and was blown away by the attentiveness of the super kind staff and by what this place has to offer. The rooms are spacious and very airy. The common room has a fridge, which guests are welcomed to use, and there is quick wifi. Yvette was an awesome host and answers all of my questions with a smile. It is only 30 sec. from the best restaurant in town, Erva's when you want some Belizian delights. I highly recommend Pacz!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinbsonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I was working in the area so I initially booked for a week, but ended up staying at Pacz for nearly 3 weeks, mainly thanks to the great service and ease of booking. Yvette, the owner is brilliant, she's really friendly and keeps the place spotlessly clean. If she's not around when you arrive, the guys downstairs at Ervas can show you around, or you can call and Yvette will come straight over. Most rooms have on-suite and are spacious, with two beds and ceiling fans. The onsite facilities are basic with a fridge and coffee machine in the hall but the guest house is just round the corner from the grocery store. More than anything Pacz is a really great chilled out place to rest your head.

Room Tip: I'd pay the extra and go for a double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sm1ler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

I cannot recommend this guesthouse enough. Great value for money. The owner was lovely and made us feel so welcome. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the free water was much appreciated The food at ervas below was the best in San ignacio, definitely try the nachos and chaya. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xibalba2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We got to the Pacz Guesthouse as a result of nixing another hotel. What a Great Stroke Luck!
The owner took very good care of us, especially our dog Jock aka Jowy as Yvette's three girls called him. Yvette and here girls, took care of Jock while we went on a day trip in the afternoon of our arrival and returned him when we got back. She also picked Jock up in the morning and kept him all day and night. She would not take any $ for taking care of him. Yvette's rooms were clean, comfortable, with Hot Water in the shower. The price of our room was very modest, compared to the service we got from the owner; the restaurant below, Irva's which is rated No.1 in St. Ignacio, and the owners father in law. Service service service was the word from everybody in that building. We will go back, all three of us!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobaCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
0.5 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#8 of 33 in San Ignacio
661 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
701 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#6 of 14 in San Ignacio
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
143 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#3 of 14 in San Ignacio
844 reviews
9.1 mi away
Lower Dover
Lower Dover
#1 of 3 in Unitedville
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacz Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacz Guesthouse

Address: 4 Far West Street, San Ignacio, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Also Known As:
Pacz Guesthouse Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing