We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magic at sunset”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Pilar

El Pilar
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Magic at sunset”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

I saw El Pilar during a sunset hike and the experience still gives me goosebumps when I recall the sites and sounds. I felt like an archeologist discovering the ruins for the first time. Do this tour with Kin Winik Jungle Tours. They were a lot of fun.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MsBonitaAalders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anabel-2013, Director, El Pilar Archaeological Project at El Pilar, responded to this review, 31 August 2016
Sunset is the magic of the monuments... El Pilar where the culture and nature are entwined under the canopy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    15
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Ignacio, Belize
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great site...terrible road.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

The site is not overly excavated so imagination is a requirement but it's like a walk through a beautiful park. Very nice. But....the road in is terrible! Not sure if the site is worth the abuse that we put our truck through.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LivingLovingBelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anabel-2013, El Pilar Archaeological Project Director at El Pilar, responded to this review, 29 August 2016
The walk through the beautiful park to discover the ancient Maya in the Maya forest. Yet it is also a walk by many excavations that have revealed the prehistory of the place. These areas have been covered awaiting the time and funds to exhibit windows into the monumental while preserving the site as Archaeology Under the Canopy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
budapest
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“useful to see a major site pretty-much unexcavated”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

I went to El Pilar on my own, and loved being in the expansive site where not much is uncovered. This gives a fantastic impression of what other sites were like when they were discovered, and then how much work it has taken to 'restore' even the smallest, insignificant structure at other sites. I enjoyed being alone at El Pilar, and loved running into a small troop of monkeys on the longish but flatish causeway trail. Highly recommended to those visiting Belize with the goal of taking in as many Maya sites as possible. Also...stunning countryside.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rhettbudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anabel-2013, Director, El Pilar Archaeological Project at El Pilar, responded to this review, 31 August 2016
This is the privilege that a visitor can receive at El Pilar where the ancient monuments are shaded under the canopy of the Maya forest. This is the promise of your own discovery!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“What Mayan ruins are like before excavation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

El Pilar is an extensive ruins site, but is almost totally unexcavated. There are large mounds here.
This site gives a good idea of what other Mayan ruins were like before their excavation and structure consolidation. There were only 2 other tourists there. I hired a park employee guide for US$10 for 1 hour, but he contributed little - mostly telling me to mind my step and head. Download and print a site map before coming, as they offer no paper maps, and there's a few trails winding among similar mounds. About 5% of the access road definitely requires 4x4 high clearance vehicle.

Helpful?
3 Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anabel-2013, Director, El Pilar Archaeological Project at El Pilar, responded to this review, 31 August 2016
Excavated vs exposed! Excavation have revealed the important building chronology, the diversity of the site, the access-ways, stairs, corners, depths. Exposure is another matter, this is an experience of Archaeology Under the Canopy, a way for everyone to experience to rediscover the importance of the nature and culture of the Maya forest and the ancient monuments they shade.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Pilar also viewed

 

Been to El Pilar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing