We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The owner makes this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tia Maria Guesthouse
Ranked #13 of 31 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The owner makes this place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Tia Maria for 3 nights on a recommendation from our tour guide. Though this place is a bit pricy for a backpacker budget (80 bzd/night). The very clean rooms, the terrace connecting with the very clean and tidy kitchen, and especially the owner makes this place worth your money. The owner was so friendly and helped us out with any questions we would have. We can definitely recommend staying with Tia Maria.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrsBennekow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
22
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Hotel Tia maria was clean, in a great location, great service, simply perfection!! The hotel is also family friendly which was important to us while traveling with children. The staff felt like family and made sure we had everything we needed.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1GlobalEcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

This hotel is a hidden gem! It is conveniently located to all the shops and restaurants in the town yet it is located in a very quite neighborhood. The kitchen area is very easy to use for your meal prep and the verandah is excellent for dining and relaxing. The rooms provide a cozy environment and are reasonably priced. The best feature is Emelda the owner, she is a delightful person always available to help you with any of your needs! I shall return!

Room Tip: The rooms with A/C are perfect during the warmer season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwbredenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Emelda,

I can’t thank you enough for making my month-long stay at the Hotel Tia Maria a thoroughly enjoyable experience. I feel like I’ve become a member of the Family. The rooms are amazingly comfortable, and well-appointed. The common areas (Kitchen, Veranda, and Reception) are welcoming, and often occupied by many of your very interesting guests from around the world.

I love the fact that Hotel Tia Maria is just a couple of blocks from all of the stores, restaurants, banks, and the fabulous Farmers Market. I was able to walk to most of the places that I needed, and was able to interact with the people of San Ignacio, Cayo on a very personal level. I, most definitely, will be back.

Sincerely,

Jessica L. Keener

Room Tip: Room 1 is the best for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dangriga, Belize
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

This family run place was perfect for me. I love to travel solo and as such am always cognizant of where I stay. Safe clean and above all friendly with out being too in your face. I loved my room spacious good bed and great bathroom! I also loved being able to run downstairs for breakfast at Roots or do a little cooking for myself in the share kitchen space as part of my room rental. Affordable,convenient accessible, what more could a gurl want!

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Tabby J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

I highly recommend Hotel Tia Maria! Emelda made our stay fabulous! She kept letting us try her local food, she was so sweet. When we arrived, she let us choose which room we wanted. The location was perfected situated in town and QUIET! The price was great for us because we did tours during the day that cost a fortune. We got our room with the A/C because my husband would die without it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sinhful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Emelda is nice, as well as the entire hotel. We enjoyed our stay very much, rooms are nice, the best, where we stayed in Belize, but, the most, we enjoyed beautiful terrace with large and fully equiped kitchen. Moreover, great value for money. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoukyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
0.3 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rainforest Haven Inn
Rainforest Haven Inn
#4 of 31 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.0 mi away
Western Guest House
Western Guest House
#9 of 31 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maya Mountain Lodge
Maya Mountain Lodge
#6 of 31 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tia Maria Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tia Maria Guesthouse

Property: Tia Maria Guesthouse
Address: 38 West St, San Ignacio 00501, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run guesthouse. 1 block from city center, restaurants, and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tia Maria Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tia Maria Guesthouse Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing