We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean,inexpensive with a perfect location. After busy days exploring caves and climbing ruins it was nice to be close to so many”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Ignacio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Blanca Guest House
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in San Ignacio
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean,inexpensive with a perfect location. After busy days exploring caves and climbing ruins it was nice to be close to so many”
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We stayed at the Casa Blanca for 4 nights. Our room was clean and comfortable. Really nice to have a common fridge for demos and snacks. The big balcony was great for people watching and reading.

Betty nd Kelly were fantastic sources of information.

We loved staying in town and being close to all the great restaurants.

Nice to be a part of a town for a few days where you meet some of the locals and get a true sense of the Belizean people.

The people of Belize truly know the of hospitality. You are treated as a friend wherever you go! We had a fantastic experience!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlegiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    64
    26
    2
    3
See reviews for
24
63
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2011

I found the room very spacious, entire dwelling very clean, staff very friendly and helpful, close to all amenities, and great food at Han - Nah's right across the street. Did not have any air-conditioning and slept well. Did not hear any pub noises.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

The room was clean and comfortable. There’s a kitchen and dining area and patio for the guests to use. The common areas were clean and nicely furnished. The lady who owns/runs it is friendly and will arrange tours for you that seem to be slightly cheaper than rates on the street.

Internet access is US $2.50 a day, or you can walk down the street to Flayvas, buy a coffee for $1 and use their wifi for free.

AC is an extra US $20 per night. Our room had one window and no cross breeze. It was the hottest room we stayed in out of the eleven places we stayed in Belize.

Basically, this place was relatively inexpensive, clean, comfortable, and secure, but there wasn’t a really cozy or welcoming feel. I guess we felt more like transactions than guests here. (We moved on to Tia Maria’s and loved it.)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaitum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, B.C.
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights in March.

I like to think of it as a hostel for adults. There's a community area (living room, dining room, kitchen), and a nice little balcony to watch the goings on on Burns Ave.

Our room was always clean and we felt very safe here. Betty was available to answer any questions we had and her staff was equally as nice.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truenic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Casa Blanca Guest House – San Ignacio, Belize – The use of the kitchen and dining room was very convenient (we could bring home leftovers to refrigerate and heat up later), and there was a living room with books to borrow as well as a narrow balcony overlooking the street, perfect for having your morning coffee or tea. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the bathrooms a good size, the beds comfortable, and while air conditioning was extra, we didn’t need it when we were there in January. It is close to the street, but we had head phones to wear when sleeping and were never disturbed. The women cleaning the rooms were very sweet and available if you needed anything. It was also very convenient to book tours with Elias Cambranes of K’atun Ahaw Culture and Eco Anventure Tours (http://www.belizeculturetours.com/) with the staff here and which I also recommend.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DELP45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

My husband and I, who are in our 40's, arrived on 12/24/10 and stayed 4 nights at the Casa Blanca Guesthouse and feel we made a great choice. The family who runs the hotel are very nice and go above and beyond to help with any needs or requests you have. We felt like family during our stay. The room we requested was with air conditioning since we had read this location can be noisy due to the main street and thought it would be better to have the option to close windows in case it was noisy which it wasn't since our room was at the back of the hotel. They charge an extra 10 bucks for AC. I would think you would need it during hotter times of the year. It was actually in the 40's at night so we really didn't need it. The room was very clean with 1 full size and 1 twin bed, with pillows, a bedspread and a sheet with no blanket but I am sure if we had asked they would have supplied one. There was a desk and chair and a dresser to store things in the room. The room also had a very clean private bathroom with shower and hot water , cable TV, and wi-fi for a few bucks which covered the cost for the entire stay. There is a nice shared kitchen with microwave, fridge, coffee maker, and toaster but there is no oven or stove top. We bought groceries to make cereal with fruit and tea for breakfast and to keep snacks/beer which worked out great. There is a little grocery store just a few doors down on the same street and fruit vendors parked out front on the street corner. The location is great since you can walk to many restaurants and local bars. Also, Elias Cambranes is a tour guide who works out of the Casa Blanco and can arrange many tours and private guides since we had our own rental car. We had a private guide who went with us to Cahal Pech Ruins and stopped at waterfalls and caves on the way back which made our day fantastic! We were very happy with our stay there and would stay there again. The benefit of staying in town versus one of the outlying jungle lodges is getting to meet people and trying various restaurants. Mr. Greedy's Pizza is a good place to mingle and have a beer and there is a local club on the street behind the hotel. We ended up going for beers with our guides a couple a nights at local pubs which was great. Our days were spent out on tours and adventures therefore this was a great option since we weren't planning on lounging around a pool while in San Ingaciol. The ATM cave is a must with Carlos Panti who is one of the first guides to explore this cave and I wouldn't go with anyone else!! His tours are the best! The Panti family are Mayan decendants and have relatives at the Xunatunich Mayan ruin which can arrange for guides there also. Having a mayan decendant give a tour of the ruin and explain about the mayan calender was priceless. One important note if going during the Christmas Holiday, most restaurants are closed on Christmas day as well as grocery stores so you need to plan ahead . Only 2 restaurants were open on Christmas day and several were closed until 12/27 but we managed to find someplace to eat. There were some resort hotels not far from town that were also open for meals. Tours do operate during the Christmas holiday since this is busy time for tourist and we had no problems booking them. Overall, this is a great place to stay for safe basic budget accomodations. Just email the hotel to make reservations and Betty will answer questions and reserve your room in advance since this place books up in advance.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandrak9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2010

Casa Blanca is a clean and friendly guest house in the heart of San Ignacio. It books up quickly so if you are going during the high season, I recommend make reservations. For only $30/night, we had a comfortable room that was very clean. There is a kitchen to use with microwave and refrigerator -- great for keeping your beer cold!

We were in room 3 which was next to another hotel and the A/C unit at that hotel was a bit loud so I would request a room on the other side. There is a nice balcony out front to sit and people watch.

Definitely book a tour with Elias Cambranes of K'atun Ahaw. His wife works in the lobby and we were so impressed with Elias on the Actun Tunichil Muknal (a must do tour) that we booked him for Tikal, his signature tour. He only takes four at time on the Actun tour while Pacz and MayaWalk Adventures takes 8 at a time. Since we were staying at Casa Blanca, we got $10 off the tour price too which made it cheaper than the other tour companies.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RPCVTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
0.1 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#9 of 13 in San Ignacio
128 reviews
2.9 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
628 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 13 in San Ignacio
984 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#6 of 13 in San Ignacio
256 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Cahal Pech Village Resort
#7 of 13 in San Ignacio
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Blanca Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Blanca Guest House

Property: Casa Blanca Guest House
Address: 10 Burns Ave., San Ignacio, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Casa Blanca Guest House Hotel San Ignacio
Casa Blanca Hotel
Casa Blanca Guest House Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing