We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Ignacio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Blanca Guest House
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in San Ignacio
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Very well located near restaurant, banks, shops, nice rooms, very clean, excellent ceiling fan, important because if you want AC, they charge 20$ a day extra. A fully equipt kitchen is available for all guets. Staff was vewry friendly. Hot water always available but almost no water pressure.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    64
    26
    2
    3
See reviews for
24
63
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, VA
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

If you want to experience small town life of Belize, Casa Blanca is a must. You're just a block from the town square with a variety of shops and restaurants. The rooms are simple but immaculately clean thanks to Betty and her wonderful staff. You'll have use of the kitchen, sitting area, and a balcony overlooking San Ignacio street life. We opted for the air conditioned room, since the nights were warm and were happy we did. Worth the small extra cost. Betty also has a tour operation on site to set up your tours. If you want a unique experience of small town Belize life, visit the market on Saturday morning. Talk to wonderful folks bringing their wares to town to sell. They are all friendly and happy to talk about how things are made or grown. Have a Fry Jack or Johnny Cake and talk to nice ladies who were up at 4AM to ground the corn for your tortilla. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Cahel Peck (small Mayan site) is only 1 mile away and well worth the walk and visit. Ask the staff t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmandSirius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Paid for an air-conditioned room & it was very spacious. Bathroom was fine too, but every other place in Belize we stayed provided AT LEAST 2 bottles of purified water; Casa Blanca does not have this amenity.

What really turned us off to this location was the lack of parking. We were sort of left to find it on our own & San Ignacio is packed. When we arrived & asked the employee about parking, she told us to park out front of the hotel (Burns Avenue) and leave the car there overnight. The employee NEVER mentioned the cars change the side of the road they park on at midnight. When we work up at 7am, we had a $100 ticket waiting for us on the window. We were told this is a common issue for the city & usually the hotel owners will knock on guests' door if there is a vehicle obstructing Burns Avenue. No such thing happened. In fact, ONLY AFTER we moved the car, the manager dumbfoundedly told us "Oh! You're staying in room #9". Thanks for costing us a fortune & being completely unhelpful Casa Blanca. We ended up spending our morning at the municipal traffic department paying fines.

Room Tip: Room #9 has 3 double beds & air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gorocketdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bittern
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Clean rooms, beds quite comfortable, ceiling fans that work well. Super expensive air conditioning - US$20/day Blocked toilets when we arrived that we cleared quite quickly by staff. Good security common areas have all the owners unusual decorations and artificial flowers

Room Tip: Room 2 gets wifi signal from the bottom corner of the bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bitterntraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I spent two nights at Casa Blanca. My room was closest to the front of the building. This means that I heard all the street noise until restaurants on Burns Avenue shut down each night, usually around 11pm. Likewise, I was up at 5:40am both mornings as workers arrived to open up their shops. At night, someone either in the hotel or at a building nearby decided to blast music. A cat was also in heat and screeching. I had to run the water for a awhile to get hot water, but it did eventually come. The location is very convenient to buses, taxis, restaurants, and other places tourists might want to access. If it weren't for the noise, I would have rated it higher. There are screens on the windows.

I did go on one tour, arranged through Casa Blanca. The tour (Barton's Cave canoeing) was fine, but it did cost more than from other travel agencies in town.

There is a kitchen and balcony, which are handy for talking with other travelers and watching the world down on the street go by.

Room Tip: Front rooms get street noise, rooms towards the back get noise from the Blue Angel nightclub at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bikergrrls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Don't be alarmed about the Police Station, I was actually more amused. San Ignacio felt very safe to me walking around day or night. However, I'm a larger man, so women should take all the usual precautions of being in unfamiliar foreign countries. The Casa Blanca Guest House provides terrific base if you are exploring the town, the area, or taking a day tour such as the ATM (Actun Tunichil Muknal - which is a can't miss, but you need to be fairly physically fit). The rooms are very clean although basic and there is a common sitting area and kitchen area for guest use if you are eating in. Rooms have cable and air conditioning, bathrooms are small but clean. Parking is limited, but street parking is easy and walking is the best way to get places in town. Its location on one of the main streets puts you right in the heart of the town and easy walking distance to any services, markets, shops, restaurants, or tour operators. The Guest House part of the building is locked from the street by a security door after daylight hours and if you're out, someone can let you in no problem by ringing a bell. There is a shop downstairs that sells furniture and other household items that is run by the family that owns the Guest House. My family was there for several days and it was a terrific base of operations for that area of the country. Good ingress/egress from the highway as well.

Room Tip: May want to select a room more away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunchaser528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

The Casa Blanca Guest House is well located, reasonably quiet, secure, and very clean. Our room was comfortable and a very good value. The room was cleaned daily, with fresh towels provided. Hot water was available at all times. We chose not to pay for the AC, so our room was just $30 per night. The hotel accepts credit cards, but they charge a five percent fee for doing so. San Ignacio is not a large city and it is easy to walk to restaurants, tour companies, and shops. If I visit San Ignacio again, I would happily stay at Casa Blanca again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
0.1 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#9 of 13 in San Ignacio
128 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
811 reviews
2.9 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 13 in San Ignacio
986 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#6 of 13 in San Ignacio
256 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Cahal Pech Village Resort
#7 of 13 in San Ignacio
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Blanca Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Blanca Guest House

Property: Casa Blanca Guest House
Address: 10 Burns Ave., San Ignacio, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Casa Blanca Guest House Hotel San Ignacio
Casa Blanca Hotel
Casa Blanca Guest House Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing