We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice guest house but the air con is a rip off”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Ignacio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Blanca Guest House
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in San Ignacio
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
378 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Nice guest house but the air con is a rip off”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A basic guest house, clean and in a good location. They provide a communal kitchenette that we didn't use but was a nice touch. Small bathroom, the room had a single and a double bed, both comfortable and a ceiling fan. Rooms had air con but at an additional cost of 20 US dollars per night, this seemed expensive to us. Breakfast is not served in the guest house but a very nice one can be had just across the street. We stayed 4/5 Aug and the street outside was still I under construction but this didn't affect our stay at all. Quiet nights sleep.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lI0ve2h0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    64
    26
    2
    3
See reviews for
24
63
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

San Ignacio is small, and you can easily make yr way around it on foot, but Casa Blanca does have a nice location.

The property is clean. Their is safety gate as well as a front door. They have bottled water for sale downstairs. All of the rooms are upstairs, and I would recommend a room with A/C. The shower water was warm, the a/c worked, and so did the television. Our room was clean, and the staff was incredibly friendly. I believe this place is owned by a local family.

There is a refrigerator and shared kitchen space that you can use as well as an upstairs outdoor balcony, which got a great breeze and was a haunt of mine at night.

There are tours that you can book through Casa Blanca. We booked the ATM Cave, Barton Creek Cave and Branch Mouth Cave Tubing tours, w/ the last one dropping us off in Belize City for only an extra $15 dollars/piece. These tours are much smaller than tours you'll get with other companies, so if you'd like a smaller group, I'd say book here. They pick you up from the guesthouse in the morning.

Room Tip: I would book a room with A/C for the extra money and further from the balcony to keep the noise down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lonelyink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Conveniently located on Burns Ave in San Ignacio, Casa Blanca is a great home base for all of the tours and exploring that you would want to do in the Cayo. The hotel is neat and clean and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms are cleaned everyday. The AC is a must in June. Spent 6 nights here and would recommend it to anyone looking maximize their time for tours and budget. Han-Nahs across the street is great for dinners and the two food shacks right across the street - Mickey's and Munchins are a great, cheap and flavorful option for a breakfast burrito and juice or a fast lunch.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Nothing tests a guest house in Belize like a large mission trip booking! This year we chose Casa Blanca and passed with flying colors!

Let me set the stage for you.... late afternoon, 9 weary, dirty and hungry travelers, a guesthouse on a completely torn up SI street under construction and no parking.

Staff didn't miss a beat with assisting us in getting us and our luggage all into our assigned rooms (having large ramp boards set up for us over the torn up street) and our vehicle relocated to a permissible and safe parking spot for the night. Within minutes we were checked in and pointed in the direction of the laundry service shop and on our way to having clean clothes ready for us in the morning and then off to have dinner.

The building is SECURE... the staff is FRIENDLY AND ATTENTIVE... the rooms are CLEAN and though outdated, they are very pleasant (normal for a guesthouse). LOVE the common area on the second floor! Comfy seating, great kitchen and over the street balconies. Super grandma decor which was refreshingly amusing.

This guesthouse is perfectly situated right in town and some of the best eateries are right across the street... the price of the rooms are super reasonable and if they can handle our group so flawlessly, I'm confident all of your needs will be well met too.

We WILL be returning next year!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BelizeDenize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Our party of 8 stayed 1 to 2 nights at Casa Blanca. The hotel was clean and centrally located (although the street is being repaved) in San Ignacio. The rooms were nothing fancy but had a nice sitting area to enjoy a beer and meet other guests. The A/C was great!
The owner was very helpful in helping us find transportation to Hopkins. We used Danielia's Shuttle (www.danieliashuttle.com) and allowed us to keep our bags at the hotel while we did an overnight to Tikal. We left a tip for the bag storage but she was not going to charge us.
San Ignacio is a nice small town and Casa Blanca is an excellent choice. Also right across the street is Hannah's were we had several good meals at good prices.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtraveller0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Out of all the places that I emailed and tried to get information about for our trip to Belize - Beatriz Guerra at Casa Blanca Guest House was A HUGE HELP in giving me advice and suggestions with quick responses.

Planning the trip is a big part of the adventure and for a person that likes to pay attention to every detail it was such a huge help to have Betty answer my questions with accuracy. I know that she can't sit at the computer every day and answer questions - but I'm certainly glad that she did for me! Thank you Betty!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnApple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cozumel, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Nice clean budget hotel in a great location. Quiet at night, maid service was excellent, owner, Betty, always greeted me with a smile.
Paid $25 for single room no AC, $20 more for AC (US)

Also has a nice common area and kitchen to read a book, make coffee, etc. they can also book tours to all the local attractions like ATM cave and Tikal. Met some great folks here.

Nice restaurant just across the street, walking distance to great birdwatching and the local Mayan ruin site.

10/10 would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevanRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
0.1 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#9 of 13 in San Ignacio
127 reviews
2.9 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
624 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#9 of 34 in San Ignacio
647 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 13 in San Ignacio
971 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#6 of 13 in San Ignacio
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Blanca Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Blanca Guest House

Property: Casa Blanca Guest House
Address: 10 Burns Ave., San Ignacio, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Casa Blanca Guest House Hotel San Ignacio
Casa Blanca Hotel
Casa Blanca Guest House Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing