We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay in downtown San Ignacio”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Ignacio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Blanca Guest House
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in San Ignacio
San Ignacio, Belize
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A nice place to stay in downtown San Ignacio”
Reviewed 29 August 2010

If you're interested in staying in the middle of San Ignacio, then Casa Blanca is a nice place to stay. Comfortable rooms very reasonably priced. They also have a common area with refrigerator for guest use. The rooms can be noisy though because of nearby night clubs. I remember that the owner somehow contacted me by cell phone to tell me that my rental car was parked illegaly. Never did figure out how she did that or how she knew what I was driving. Just being attentive I guess.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guisquill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    64
    26
    2
    3
See reviews for
24
63
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

If you're traveling through San Ignacio, Casa Blanca is the PERFECT place to stay. This renovated family home makes you feel like you're 'home'...The rooms are small (think European hostels), but very clean and comfortable. The communal living, dining and kitchen area allows for meeting new people and the balcony is PERFECT for people watching and to soak up the music scene. The location couldn't be better, either: you're steps away from great food, convenient shops, post office and sliced mango whenever you want it :)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thurstonator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Our family of four spent 1 week in San Ignacio at the Casa Blanca Guest House. We couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay in this little town. Betty was very welcoming to us. Our room was simple, but clean. There is a common area with kitchen, dining table and sitting area. This was always kept immaculately clean. Off of the common area is a little patio sitting area. This gives you an opportunity to connect with other people staying at the guest house. We did several tours (through Elias) with other guests and got to know them.

Serendib Restaurant was a wonderful place to spend our last evening. Outside dining with candles on the patio was a perfect ending to this portion of our vacation.

Remember that you are in Belize. Remember that you are not at a Marriott. Remember that you go to places like this in order to experience the people and the towns.

Thank you, Betty and your staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dayzpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zell (Mosel), Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

I stayed 3 nights at the Casa Blanca. Rooms were very clean, staff was nice and helpful. Maybe no the cheapest budget hotel in San Ignacio but good and clean. They offer a kitchen facility on the first floor for all guests to use. Since the hotel is right in the middle of town it can get loud at night especially on a saturday night due to the nightclub behind the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silvasalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2010

Sure, this hotel is pretty cheap, but there are a lot of other hotels in town that are the same price or less. They wanted like $15 or $20 more for AC when most places only ask for $7 or so. It is very outdated and not clean! There were tiny little bugs crawling on every surface in the common areas, the floors and on the furniture in the rooms. Our room had no ventilation, no view and was really really hot. We stayed one night and got out of there fast the next morning. This place is definitely a centrally located budget accommodation, but the rave reviews are just baffling to me. Also, the main street out front is very loud, especially on the weekends.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youngConnoisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2010

San Ignacio town isn't very big to begin with but Casa Blanca is right on that main strip so it's very centrally located. Right across from a bank and a popular restaurant (forgot the name). I didn't really know what to expect of San Ignacio so to be on the safe side I made a reservation with Betty for Casa Blanca over the internet, it was still a budget stay but not as budget if I were to walk up with no reservation at all. Well, I guess there was alot of availability b/c it was low season. So the room rates were cheaper if you were a walk-in. Oh well, lesson learned, no regrets though b/c it was still affordable.

Safety Feature: you get a key to the front gate, this made us feel very safe
Room: very, very, basic, no frills, the bathrooms were clean, i mean not brand spanking new like some luxury hotel clean, but clean, functional, and substantial. The beds were fine, don't expect some plush vera wang mattress, but I got some decent sleep out of it. I think the major room feature was that there were ABSOLUTELY NO unsanitary creepy crawlies or rodents anywhere and that gets major kudos in my book for a budget stay.
Customer Service: Betty is very nice and helpful on tips of where to eat and etc. No frills, helpful information.

San Ignacio town in general: it's pretty chill, everything closes early, don't expect some crazy party town. It's a great homebase for all your activities in the Cayo District. I loved the local feel of the town b/c of how small it was. By day 2 we felt like locals ourselves b/c we knew everyone and everyone knew us. There's enough interesting friendly characters in the San Ignacio town to keep you entertained.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelJunkie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, MT
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

Betty, the owner, made us feel right at home. It's like staying at your aunts place. It's smack in the middle of town so sometimes noise can be a problem but you can walk to the market, find good tours and do day trips right from here. It reasonably priced and felt very safe and secure for two women travelers. Nice kitchen facility to use too.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontanaJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
0.1 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#9 of 13 in San Ignacio
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropicool Hotel
Tropicool Hotel
#12 of 13 in San Ignacio
58 reviews
2.9 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
790 reviews
0.5 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#9 of 33 in San Ignacio
639 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 13 in San Ignacio
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Blanca Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Blanca Guest House

Property: Casa Blanca Guest House
Address: 10 Burns Ave., San Ignacio, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Casa Blanca Guest House Hotel San Ignacio
Casa Blanca Hotel
Casa Blanca Guest House Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing