We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to everything and very comfortable”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Ignacio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Blanca Guest House
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in San Ignacio
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Casa Blanca Guest House – San Ignacio, Belize – The use of the kitchen and dining room was very convenient (we could bring home leftovers to refrigerate and heat up later), and there was a living room with books to borrow as well as a narrow balcony overlooking the street, perfect for having your morning coffee or tea. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the bathrooms a good size, the beds comfortable, and while air conditioning was extra, we didn’t need it when we were there in January. It is close to the street, but we had head phones to wear when sleeping and were never disturbed. The women cleaning the rooms were very sweet and available if you needed anything. It was also very convenient to book tours with Elias Cambranes of K’atun Ahaw Culture and Eco Anventure Tours (http://www.belizeculturetours.com/) with the staff here and which I also recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DELP45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
There are newer reviews for Casa Blanca Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2011

My husband and I, who are in our 40's, arrived on 12/24/10 and stayed 4 nights at the Casa Blanca Guesthouse and feel we made a great choice. The family who runs the hotel are very nice and go above and beyond to help with any needs or requests you have. We felt like family during our stay. The room we requested was with air conditioning since we had read this location can be noisy due to the main street and thought it would be better to have the option to close windows in case it was noisy which it wasn't since our room was at the back of the hotel. They charge an extra 10 bucks for AC. I would think you would need it during hotter times of the year. It was actually in the 40's at night so we really didn't need it. The room was very clean with 1 full size and 1 twin bed, with pillows, a bedspread and a sheet with no blanket but I am sure if we had asked they would have supplied one. There was a desk and chair and a dresser to store things in the room. The room also had a very clean private bathroom with shower and hot water , cable TV, and wi-fi for a few bucks which covered the cost for the entire stay. There is a nice shared kitchen with microwave, fridge, coffee maker, and toaster but there is no oven or stove top. We bought groceries to make cereal with fruit and tea for breakfast and to keep snacks/beer which worked out great. There is a little grocery store just a few doors down on the same street and fruit vendors parked out front on the street corner. The location is great since you can walk to many restaurants and local bars. Also, Elias Cambranes is a tour guide who works out of the Casa Blanco and can arrange many tours and private guides since we had our own rental car. We had a private guide who went with us to Cahal Pech Ruins and stopped at waterfalls and caves on the way back which made our day fantastic! We were very happy with our stay there and would stay there again. The benefit of staying in town versus one of the outlying jungle lodges is getting to meet people and trying various restaurants. Mr. Greedy's Pizza is a good place to mingle and have a beer and there is a local club on the street behind the hotel. We ended up going for beers with our guides a couple a nights at local pubs which was great. Our days were spent out on tours and adventures therefore this was a great option since we weren't planning on lounging around a pool while in San Ingaciol. The ATM cave is a must with Carlos Panti who is one of the first guides to explore this cave and I wouldn't go with anyone else!! His tours are the best! The Panti family are Mayan decendants and have relatives at the Xunatunich Mayan ruin which can arrange for guides there also. Having a mayan decendant give a tour of the ruin and explain about the mayan calender was priceless. One important note if going during the Christmas Holiday, most restaurants are closed on Christmas day as well as grocery stores so you need to plan ahead . Only 2 restaurants were open on Christmas day and several were closed until 12/27 but we managed to find someplace to eat. There were some resort hotels not far from town that were also open for meals. Tours do operate during the Christmas holiday since this is busy time for tourist and we had no problems booking them. Overall, this is a great place to stay for safe basic budget accomodations. Just email the hotel to make reservations and Betty will answer questions and reserve your room in advance since this place books up in advance.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandrak9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2010

Casa Blanca is a clean and friendly guest house in the heart of San Ignacio. It books up quickly so if you are going during the high season, I recommend make reservations. For only $30/night, we had a comfortable room that was very clean. There is a kitchen to use with microwave and refrigerator -- great for keeping your beer cold!

We were in room 3 which was next to another hotel and the A/C unit at that hotel was a bit loud so I would request a room on the other side. There is a nice balcony out front to sit and people watch.

Definitely book a tour with Elias Cambranes of K'atun Ahaw. His wife works in the lobby and we were so impressed with Elias on the Actun Tunichil Muknal (a must do tour) that we booked him for Tikal, his signature tour. He only takes four at time on the Actun tour while Pacz and MayaWalk Adventures takes 8 at a time. Since we were staying at Casa Blanca, we got $10 off the tour price too which made it cheaper than the other tour companies.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RPCVTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

We arrived at the Casa Blanca with no reservation and were met by very helpful staff. The room was clean and spacious. The location was very central and the use of the kitchen a plus for the budget traveller. Just don't take food into your room.....or you may end up with a trail of ants visiting.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jazzybabe666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

If you're interested in staying in the middle of San Ignacio, then Casa Blanca is a nice place to stay. Comfortable rooms very reasonably priced. They also have a common area with refrigerator for guest use. The rooms can be noisy though because of nearby night clubs. I remember that the owner somehow contacted me by cell phone to tell me that my rental car was parked illegaly. Never did figure out how she did that or how she knew what I was driving. Just being attentive I guess.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guisquill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

If you're traveling through San Ignacio, Casa Blanca is the PERFECT place to stay. This renovated family home makes you feel like you're 'home'...The rooms are small (think European hostels), but very clean and comfortable. The communal living, dining and kitchen area allows for meeting new people and the balcony is PERFECT for people watching and to soak up the music scene. The location couldn't be better, either: you're steps away from great food, convenient shops, post office and sliced mango whenever you want it :)

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thurstonator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Our family of four spent 1 week in San Ignacio at the Casa Blanca Guest House. We couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay in this little town. Betty was very welcoming to us. Our room was simple, but clean. There is a common area with kitchen, dining table and sitting area. This was always kept immaculately clean. Off of the common area is a little patio sitting area. This gives you an opportunity to connect with other people staying at the guest house. We did several tours (through Elias) with other guests and got to know them.

Serendib Restaurant was a wonderful place to spend our last evening. Outside dining with candles on the patio was a perfect ending to this portion of our vacation.

Remember that you are in Belize. Remember that you are not at a Marriott. Remember that you go to places like this in order to experience the people and the towns.

Thank you, Betty and your staff.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dayzpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
3.1 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
819 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropicool Hotel
Tropicool Hotel
#13 of 14 in San Ignacio
58 reviews
2.9 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#6 of 14 in San Ignacio
999 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Cahal Pech Village Resort
#8 of 14 in San Ignacio
594 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Blanca Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Blanca Guest House

Address: 10 Burns Ave., San Ignacio, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in San Ignacio
Price Range: £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Casa Blanca Guest House Hotel San Ignacio
Casa Blanca Hotel
Casa Blanca Guest House Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing