We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Midas Belize
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Venus Hotel(San Ignacio)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Tropicool Hotel(San Ignacio)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Windy Hill Resort(San Ignacio)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rumors Resort(San Ignacio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ka'ana Resort(San Ignacio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (695)
Filter reviews
695 results
Traveller rating
288
225
111
45
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
288
225
111
45
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsin townpool bardeluxe roomsfamily cottagemain buildinghot waterlarge poolfry jacksair conditioningpeace and quietguava limbfront porchcouple of nightsstayed nightscahal pechceiling fanthe cottages
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
355 - 360 of 695 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Waking to the alarm of a howler monkey in a nearby mahogany tree alerts you to the upcoming ATM tour that you booked with Pacz tours the morning prior. Looking out from the front door of your private cabin and watching tropical birds and iguanas hunt for their morning meal and discovering to your delight that you still in fact, DO have time for breakfast. A smile on your face and a breeze with the smell of jungle mingle with the sunlight filtering through the huge trees on the grounds of the Midas resort. You feel alive! and excited at the upcoming adventure into the unknown subterranean world. To be a part of something that happened hundreds of generations before your time brings a quickening to your inner man and a yearning for life.... and breakfast. :-)

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank dchapmanUSMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed at the Midas for two nights in Aug '13 while visiting Tikal in Guatemala. The hotel itself appears to be in the middle of an overall upgrade. The cabanas in the back of the property are rustic and much lower in price than the main part of the hotel. We stayed in Cabana #1 and it had an earthy, camping feel. We changed rooms for the second night due to a wasp nest in bathroom area. The staff was very helpful and agreeable with the move, which actually was a huge upgrade in quality. The pool area is in need of some attention at the water was a bit murky and many of the exterior lights were out. It was the slow season but the grounds really should receive more attention with the lack of guests. The food was good as we ate there one night, not wanting to take the walk into San Ignacio due to it getting dark. After two days in the area, we realized that the tired town of San Ignacio as a whole is in need of some improvements and updating. It appears to be taking place near the town center but offers little as an attraction other than tour companies and a stopping place en route to Guatemala. We visited Tikal and stayed two nights, as it was easier to book the entire deal via Mayawalks tours located downtown--Jimmy was great as a driver by the way.

The hotel had few people staying there due to the season, the room in the main part was beautiful, updates seem to be on the way, and the staff was very helpful.

We decided to stay only two nights, then onto Hopkins via the Hummingbird Hwy.

Room Tip: If staying in the rear of the property, ask to see the room first. Off season, you may be the only guests there. The main building may be a better offer. Security is good, large gate in front as it is on a semi-secluded road, 10 minutes walk from town. Take a cab at night for sure.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelpapi153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My fiancé and I spent all 9 days of our trip at the resort. They made us feel at home. The food, drinks, and environment were great. The prices for the excursions were very reasonable. It was literally a 5 minute walk to town, most others were a cab ride away. We loved our cabana, it was so secluded and perfect. What we both loved most about the place was the local feel, we like to be a part of the place we are visiting.
The resort has a good combination of families and couples, neither seems to interfere with the other. The music at the bar does not travel to the rooms or the cabanas, it heads towards the street, and there is nothing across the street to disrupt.
We made the trek to the joining of the Macal and Mopan Rivers, it was amazing and you can swim in it too!
It's a short walk to Hode's place where you can find good food as well. We tried a lot of the local restaurants for lunch but ended up spending most of our dinners at the resort or at Hode's.
We will return to Midas, maybe even for our honeymoon, to explore the rest of Belize!

Room Tip: Cabanas are the best route to go for privacy.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FergieFerg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The staff there was very pleasant and nice. They tended to your overall needs and made sure that your visit was outstanding and as easy going as possible. I became friends with many of the staff members and by the end it is very hard to say goodbye. I definitely recommend staying here the town is also very close and everything is walking distance from here.
I was there for school but there was plenty of time to have fun.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rubbes_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I stayed here back in May originally for 2 nights but left after the 1st night to spend more time in Guatemala since the trip was only for one week. We were upgraded to an air conditioned room in the tower after a 3 hour painful bus ride from Belize City. The room was very cozy and the proximity of the place to downtown was walkable. We stayed around the time the owners daughter had a birthday so there was a party by the pool area but this wasnt bothersome. The only thing i wasnt too comfortable with was ease of entry by anyone. Any one could walk in, speaking of which a guest mentioned her personals being stolen out of her room the day we arrived or after. Not sure how that was handled or how that all went down. Overall, we had a great stay and the desk provided us transportation to the ruins and to the border.

Room Tip: Get an a/c'ed room in the tower if you can afford it, it will revive you from hot sweaty trips to the ruins. :)
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerseyBoy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews