We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Torn”
Review of Midas Belize

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Midas Belize
Ranked #9 of 34 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, FL
Level 6 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Torn”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Our family of five spent four nights at Midas Resorts on our recent trip to Belize. We rented the Casita Verde house. I’m torn about how to rate this hotel. There are both positives and negatives. First the positives: The hotel is in a great location. It is close to town, and we walked to town every day and night, and we never felt unsafe. Everyone at this resort is super friendly! Our little house was clean, and our housekeepers did an excellent job. They have a nice pool, bar, and restaurant. Okay now the negatives: The bed in the main room at Casita Verde is hard as a rock. It was so uncomfortable to sleep in. The other 3 twin beds that the kids slept in were comfortable though. The water pressure is not very good and at times, just down right non-existent. The other thing is that although the pool is really nice, it is hard to enjoy it because the hotel lets locals in the pool. One day our kids really wanted to get in the pool after our long day of touring, but they wouldn’t even get in because it was so crowded with locals playing a volleyball game. I mean if you’re running a secure hotel, then people who aren’t staying at the hotel shouldn’t be in the pool. Honestly, I’m so torn on this resort, I’m not sure if we would stay again or not.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ksoldati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    214
    100
    41
    21
See reviews for
98
305
37
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed here because we found a groupon deal. My husband and I were actually doing a backpacking trip around Belize, so this place was much fancier than any other place we were staying at. The room was large, with air conditioning, and a TV. The king size bed was very comfortable. The pool was a nice way to cool down and relax. We did not eat here, as the food was almost double the price of places in town. It is about a 10 min walk into town. The staff were always helpful and cheerful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scienceblondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Great rooms, pool and small dinner next to a beautiful village park. Very accommodating staff and will give you great directions and local information. Breakfast here is a must before starting the day hiking And exploring.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I really liked the place - it is close to San Ignacio town (10 min walk), rooms are clean, spacious, and nicely made, and personnel is helpful. Resort had issues with water pressure and electricity - the problems were resolved efficiently.
Stay in one of the cottages in the garden - they look nicer than the main building rooms, and you are surrounded by sounds and smells (pleasant - flowers:) ) of the jungle.
Only negative moments were: breakfast was overpriced - eat somewhere else in town; if you stay in the room or split cottage - you can hear EVERYTHING going on in the next room - conversations, bathroom, etc.; there was a loud weekend party going on in one of neighboring restaurants - avoids Midas Friday-Sunday is you want to fall asleep before 1am since music is very loud; the road that leads to the resort from the town is gravel, dark, and deserted - not safe for single travelers or families (you should have no issues if you drive or take a cab).
I recommend the place given its value and convenient location. I overall enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the garden, not in the central building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gerdatugan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Because of our 30-years anniversary we booked this hotel, which is at least double the price we normally stay in.

The deluxe kingsize was a beautiful room, big tv-screen, beautiful bathroom.
Still disappointed, not even a small complimentary bottle of water.
The bathroom had no ceiling, so it's an open connection with the rest of our room.
I didn't enjoy being part of all the sounds and smells from my husband's visits to the toilet, and vice versa.

The bottom of the pool was being cleaned next morning, both they many floating drowned and half-drowned insects were left there floating.

They do provide pooltowels, you are staying out of town but still an easy walk from town.
Still for this price I found it overpriced.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Hippohanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We had a great time here. The facilities were clean and comfortable. The customer service was great. They helped us make our experience one to remember. We were able to book trips to the ruins and ATM cave with ease. Try attending the market on Saturday morning.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Cabanas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KStevenJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waycross, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Spent week of May 24-31 , 2014 at Midas Resort. Everyone went out of their way to make sure all my needs were taken care of . Food was fantastic ! Was there for a great day of free food and refreshments on Commonwealth Day in Belize . Rooms were very nice and cleaned spotless . If you are going to Western Belize, Midas is the place to stay . Nice outdoor bar area beside very large pool with waterfall . Bar area features 3 large screen T.V.'s and good music. Very friendly, safe atmosphere . Lots of kids as well as adults enjoying a cool swim in the pool . Can't safe enough good things about this place . Will return soon ! If you are going to see the Mayan ruins, it's only a 20 minute drive to climb one of the largest in Belize and only 10 minutes to ruins on the edge of town . San Ignacio is a great town and within walking distance from the hotel . Felt perfectly safe walking into the village square even though I had unlimited use of my rental car .

Room Tip: You have a choice if staying in cabanas or the main hotel. I have stayed in both and was pleased wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyBeale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
3.5 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
811 reviews
0.4 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#9 of 13 in San Ignacio
128 reviews
3.4 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 13 in San Ignacio
984 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#6 of 13 in San Ignacio
256 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Cahal Pech Village Resort
#7 of 13 in San Ignacio
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midas Belize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midas Belize

Property: Midas Belize
Address: Branch Mouth Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Midas Belize 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midas is the only 7 acre resort down town that can offer a tranquility of nature at its best, birds tweeting their musical charm squirrels jumping from tree to tree, river flowing by the resort, iguanas resting on the limbs of the trees, and freshness of the condensing air rising as morning breaks daylight, and yet only a 7 minute walk into the town center where you can meet the unique people of Central America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Midas Belize reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midas Hotel San Ignacio
Midas Tropical Hotel
Midas Tropical San Ignacio
Midas Belize San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing