We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Close to Town, Beautiful Setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Midas Belize

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Midas Belize
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in San Ignacio
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Close to Town, Beautiful Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Upside: The rooms are very nicely designed, tiled and decorated. Large windows and a window seat brings the beautiful green in- the geckos and iguanas and birds bring a great atmosphere. The Midas grounds are a treat for the eyes. Sitting in the hammock on our balcony was heaven. The staff is so friendly. We were here a week while we worked in some local schools. The room we got at the end of the joined cottages was large enough for us to spread out our work, and because we could park right next to the cottage it was perfect for us to bring materials in and out. We asked if our room could be cleaned by 3:30 each day, and they did so. Laundry service was good. This is close to everything. The place feels well constructed and maintained.

Downside: I agree with another reviewer who said that the bathroom without a roof where you can hear everything and get light polluted if you are sleeping at different times is hard to get used to. The room was very quiet except for our first night when there was a party a couple of houses down the street with loud music- and our last night when we could hear talking and snoring next door. We didn't appreciate the soft-porn music videos shown at the bar which is also the pool area- children are near by first off, but I'm not comfortable around this kind of sleeze. The pool has a fun 'swim under' waterfall feature. It's beautiful, but the water was too warm to be refreshing. The food at the restaurant was meh- and over priced. Eat in the places in town- numerous and less expensive (like half the price) some with amazing food and within walking distance.

Room Tip: The individual cabins are the quietest. The corner room in the set of the 4 cottages is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    205
    94
    41
    17
See reviews for
87
283
34
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

My partner and I decided to try and book a room here after we had a bad experience at a hotel near by. We were pleasantly surprised by this place!

For $75, we got a lovely little round cottage with a comfy bed, blankets, AC, fan, cable TV, and a lovely bathroom.

We spent a lo of time in their pool, drinking cocktails and playing pool volleyball. Then in the morning we got up to see the birds on the property. If you like birds, apparently they get toucans sometimes if you're lucky. There are fruit trees everywhere and we are an avocado that fell from the tree!

The staff were amazing and were also happy to look after our big bags for three days while we travelled to Guatemala to do Flores and Tikal. They gave us great advice on how to get a tourist shuttle to Tikal and buses back. We came back three days later and stayed in the same room that we had before. It was lovely to come back to after all our travelling!

Definitely recommend it here for a peaceful, beautiful stay

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed 3 nights at Midas in February. We booked the lowest price accomodation (cottage, private building in the backyard), but had a big suprise the quality. It's perfect for a couple. The room was very clean (daily cleaning), design of the room and bath is romantic. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
You can have meal at the hotel restaurant, use swimming pool, they offer organised tours.
We had a great time there.
Couple from Hungary.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timi_Hungary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed here one night. While this place did seem pricey, they also had a few benefits. They had a very large pool, and they also have an on site bar and restaurant. The food was delicious. The tequila, however, was really expensive. Our room had everything it needed, except that we stayed in one of the cabanas, so we only got a wifi reception outside.

Some reviews make it seem as if Midas is far out of town. It isn't at all. It is about a five or ten minute walk from the center of town, and San Ignacio is small. I was injured at the time I stayed here, and the walk was incredibly easy for me.

The staff here was incredibly friendly. That was a bonus.

Room Tip: I think if you want in-room Wi-Fi, you'll need to stay in the main hotel and not in the cabanas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lonelyink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed for a week with my wife at Midas while exploring the western Belizean countryside, and I'm glad I did! The place was quaint and clean, the iguanas and other lizards were fun, the pool was a wonderful respite from the heat, and the food was lovely. Plus they had a great relationship with local taxi providers and tour operators, and were extremely friendly. Overall a great place!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DHZ916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Our family of five spent four nights at Midas Resorts on our recent trip to Belize. We rented the Casita Verde house. I’m torn about how to rate this hotel. There are both positives and negatives. First the positives: The hotel is in a great location. It is close to town, and we walked to town every day and night, and we never felt unsafe. Everyone at this resort is super friendly! Our little house was clean, and our housekeepers did an excellent job. They have a nice pool, bar, and restaurant. Okay now the negatives: The bed in the main room at Casita Verde is hard as a rock. It was so uncomfortable to sleep in. The other 3 twin beds that the kids slept in were comfortable though. The water pressure is not very good and at times, just down right non-existent. The other thing is that although the pool is really nice, it is hard to enjoy it because the hotel lets locals in the pool. One day our kids really wanted to get in the pool after our long day of touring, but they wouldn’t even get in because it was so crowded with locals playing a volleyball game. I mean if you’re running a secure hotel, then people who aren’t staying at the hotel shouldn’t be in the pool. Honestly, I’m so torn on this resort, I’m not sure if we would stay again or not.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ksoldati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
1.8 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
3.4 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.4 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#11 of 14 in San Ignacio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#6 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Cahal Pech Village Resort
#8 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midas Belize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midas Belize

Property: Midas Belize
Address: Branch Mouth Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Midas Belize 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midas is the only 7 acre resort down town that can offer a tranquility of nature at its best, birds tweeting their musical charm squirrels jumping from tree to tree, river flowing by the resort, iguanas resting on the limbs of the trees, and freshness of the condensing air rising as morning breaks daylight, and yet only a 7 minute walk into the town center where you can meet the unique people of Central America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Midas Belize reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midas Hotel San Ignacio
Midas Tropical Hotel
Midas Tropical San Ignacio
Midas Belize San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing