We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nugget of gold”
Review of Midas Belize

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Midas Belize
Ranked #9 of 34 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wilton, California
Level 6 Contributor
1,378 reviews
225 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 810 helpful votes
“What a nugget of gold”
Reviewed 11 January 2010

We stayed four nights at the Midas and it was a perfect base of operation. Breakfast was made every morning to order on a lovely terraced area. The food was wonderful! The staff are all expert at their jobs and will do what ever they can to ensure your best experience. Their referrals for tours, such as the Barton Creek Caves canoe trip with David Simpson (Dave's Adventure Tours), were spot on. This man was one of the original modern explorers of the cave and is working on protecting it.
The room was wonderful, the tile shower was marvelous, the big bay window seat a great place to rest and look at the surrounding jungle, yet within blocks you are at the market. There are Toucan's down at the river bank, on the property, early in the mornings. I'd go back to Midas again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ruthandvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    214
    100
    41
    21
See reviews for
98
305
37
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2009

My husband and I spent four days at the Midas. We had a wonderful time. The location was great. The staff could not have been more helpful. Hodes next door is a great restaurant when you feel like staying close to the hotel. Our favorites though were the Serendid,Marthas and Hannahs. The most helpful person we met in San Igancio was Michael Simmons. Thanks to the Midas for introducing us to him. Had a great time. See you again. Dan and Trish from Washington State

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank chicxulub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, ON, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2009

This was our third trip to Belize and our first time at Midas Resort. We chose it based on other reviews on Trip Advisor, and on its proximity to the town centre.

Before making our final decision, we had sent several e-mails to the hotel with questions. They were always very promptly answered by Dorita (front desk manager) or Mike (hotel manager / owner). Dorita, Mike and Maria (Mike's mother) were very accomodating and helpful with any questions wer asked, requests for taxis, recommendations for restaurants, etc. while we were there.

We stayed in Cabana #8 and found it very quaint and comfortable. We had air conditioning (used only once), ceiling fan, lots of screened windows, TV, and a 3 piece bathroom with shower. We did have a problem with hot water one day but it was fixed very quickly after we reported it. Some days the water was lukewarm and other days very hot. Soap is supplied, but you wil need to bring your own shampoo, lotion, etc.

Our room was cleaned daily and we had fresh towels (and washcloths which was a nice touch) daily. Sometimes the towels came later in the day, but they were always replaced.

There are 3 dogs on the property who will quickly learn who you are. They bark when any strange dogs or people they don't know come on the property, but they never barked at us after our initial arrival. They are very friendly and do their job well !

Midas is a 5 minute walk from the market (open every day with a more extensive market & food vendors on Saturdays) and a 10 minute walk to town to the restaurants and stores.

Midas serves breakfast only and has some basic choices for reasonable prices. We ate here only once because there were so many choices in town that we wanted to try.

Hode's restaurant is right next door to Midas if you don't feel like walking into town. Some of our favourites in town are Glo's (only open a few weeks, across from the Mayor's office by the police station), Sanny's Grill (call a taxi because it is hard to find), Hannah's and Mincho's (little hole in the wall 2 doors down from Hannah's) for their fresh fruit juices and cheap lunches ($1 or $2 will fill you up). We also ate at Erva's, Martha's, Running W Steakhouse (at San Ignacio Hotel), Rolson's Cocina, , Marvili's, Cafe La Fonda (across from Cayo Twist) Mom's, Pop's (all day breakfast), and we went for dessert at Sweet Ting and Cayo Twist for soy ice cream. Another good spot for dessert was across the bridge in Santa Elena on the right hand side after the first supermarket (no name on the restaurant/bakery).

Midas Resort offers a night walk around the property with Thomas who is a true nature lover and very enthusiastic about his job. Although it started to rain at the beginning of our walk, he continued to try to find interesting things to show us - sleeping birds, chameleons / lizards, frogs, tree frogs,tarantulas (if you want to see them), termites, etc.

The river was very murky when we were there (the dam has opened or leaked) and we had quite a bit of rain during our stay, so swimming in the river and access to the river were not good. We would not suggest this hotel if you are looking for beach or swimming.

To sum it up, Midas Resort provides affordable, clean lodging that is quaint and comfortable. The staff very quickly know how to make you feel at home. If you are a budget traveller with reasonable expectations, then we would recommend Midas Resort for you.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeeBSarnia_ON_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everson, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2009

My wife and I decided on San Ignacio for our first trip to Belize. After much online research on the local accommodations, we felt the Midas was going to be the perfect fit, we were not disappointed. The owners and staff were friendly and helpful from the time we made reservations till the time we checked out. They were more than willing to help out with everything from tours, best places to eat, things to do and see and any other request we had. As for the resort itself, the rooms are very comfortable and clean. Set in a lush tropical setting, it would seem like you're in the middle of the jungle. A short 10 to 15 minute walk however, you find yourself in the middle of town. If you're looking for a place with a good price, great service and rustic elegance, the MIdas is the place to check out. We spent 8 nights at the MIdas and had the time of our lives, never to be forgotten. We felt like family by the time we left and wish we were still there. Thanks to everyone at Midas for a million memories.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ej-olson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2009

To describe the accommodation the rooms are self contained cabins spread throughout a wooded area. There were two types available although the newer cabins looked better than the older more rustic cabins we were in. We did however get a choice of 3 of the older cabins when we arrived.

The rooms are pretty basic with old air con units.

Given its location you may find a few unwanted guests in your room we had ants and gecko's almost other things. Although if you have no problems with these I'm sure you will be fine.

Due to the above we chose to leave, so not sure how the beds were. The owner did however find us alternative accommodation at gone 11.30pm so definitely very helpful. The accommodation just wasn't really what we were after, but can't fault the staff.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VEH80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SFbayarea
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

My wife and I were traveling with another couple that doesn't travel much. This was a very relaxed place, very clean, very quiet, with a very helpful staff. We were upgraded to a very beautiful room, but walls were paper thin, and could hear everything in the adjoining room. I think next time we would stay in a stand alone cabin.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stlsurgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin,Tx
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

Resort was very nice and clean. Rooms were great. Very clean. Nice bed and shower. No problem with Warm water at all. They booked all of our tours and didn't seem to upcharge at all from what list rates were. We did Tikal and ATM cave. ATM is a must do. TIkal was great if you like history and ruins. The staff at hotel went out of there way and were very friendly. Location was walking distance to downtown. Maybe a 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryanlut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
3.5 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
811 reviews
0.4 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#9 of 13 in San Ignacio
128 reviews
3.4 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 13 in San Ignacio
985 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#6 of 13 in San Ignacio
256 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Cahal Pech Village Resort
#7 of 13 in San Ignacio
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midas Belize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midas Belize

Property: Midas Belize
Address: Branch Mouth Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Midas Belize 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midas is the only 7 acre resort down town that can offer a tranquility of nature at its best, birds tweeting their musical charm squirrels jumping from tree to tree, river flowing by the resort, iguanas resting on the limbs of the trees, and freshness of the condensing air rising as morning breaks daylight, and yet only a 7 minute walk into the town center where you can meet the unique people of Central America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Midas Belize reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midas Hotel San Ignacio
Midas Tropical Hotel
Midas Tropical San Ignacio
Midas Belize San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing