We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like home....”
Review of Midas Belize

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Midas Belize
Ranked #8 of 32 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2010

We absolutely loved our time in San Ignacio. This was due in part to the wonderful staff at Midas! Marie, Michael and Matthew (the owners) make you feel right at home and bend over to make sure your stay is memorable for all the right reasons. Dorita, at the front desk and the one who answers the internet inquiries was so helpful and when you meet her be prepared for her sense of humor!
They provide internet access in the great room, so I didn't have to go looking for an internet cafe. We rented the La Casita Verde and it came fully stocked with all the equipment we needed as we wanted to try cooking with local ingredients from the market. (As it is our hope to move back to Belize) The Resort is located only a short walk from the market and the main part of town. It was close enough for convenience, yet far enough from the hussle and bussle of the downtown.
Sleeping was our only difficulty, only because of the roosters a couple of doors down and a few barking dogs! I guess when you are used to silence of a Canadian winter ...
But it still is likely one of the quietest in town since everyone has dogs and roosters!
I highly reccommend Midas-economical, location and staff make it worthwhile.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCBenedik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (656)
There are newer reviews for Midas Belize
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

514 - 520 of 656 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2010

We spent 6 nights at Midas Resort... and wished we'd come earlier! We were upgraded for free to their deluxe king suite... very plush and not what we (as budget travelers) are used to. The grounds are beautiful with lots of plants and animals to see. The resort is perfectly located - a quick walk to San Ignacio, but outside of the hectic city atmosphere, very close to the Saturday market, and a short walk to the river. The staff was friendly and helpful, and it is such a deep silence at night - amazing for sleeping. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhimsicalNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2010

Stayed for three days and nights. Michael the GM is great, he had us eating termites one night. Provided us Kayaks for paddling on the river one afternoon. Loved sitting on our little front porch each evening. A walk into downtown San Ignacio takes about 5 minutes.

The place looks just like the pictures, would recommend you stay here if your in San Ignacio , Belize.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skippy29201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

We stayed at the Midas Resort for 4 nights and loved every minute of it! The staff is phenomenal, everyone who works there is more than willing to do anything in their power to ensure that you have a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onlyinalaska_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

We stayed four nights at the Midas and it was a perfect base of operation. Breakfast was made every morning to order on a lovely terraced area. The food was wonderful! The staff are all expert at their jobs and will do what ever they can to ensure your best experience. Their referrals for tours, such as the Barton Creek Caves canoe trip with David Simpson (Dave's Adventure Tours), were spot on. This man was one of the original modern explorers of the cave and is working on protecting it.
The room was wonderful, the tile shower was marvelous, the big bay window seat a great place to rest and look at the surrounding jungle, yet within blocks you are at the market. There are Toucan's down at the river bank, on the property, early in the mornings. I'd go back to Midas again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ruthandvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2009

My husband and I spent four days at the Midas. We had a wonderful time. The location was great. The staff could not have been more helpful. Hodes next door is a great restaurant when you feel like staying close to the hotel. Our favorites though were the Serendid,Marthas and Hannahs. The most helpful person we met in San Igancio was Michael Simmons. Thanks to the Midas for introducing us to him. Had a great time. See you again. Dan and Trish from Washington State

Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank chicxulub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2009

This was our third trip to Belize and our first time at Midas Resort. We chose it based on other reviews on Trip Advisor, and on its proximity to the town centre.

Before making our final decision, we had sent several e-mails to the hotel with questions. They were always very promptly answered by Dorita (front desk manager) or Mike (hotel manager / owner). Dorita, Mike and Maria (Mike's mother) were very accomodating and helpful with any questions wer asked, requests for taxis, recommendations for restaurants, etc. while we were there.

We stayed in Cabana #8 and found it very quaint and comfortable. We had air conditioning (used only once), ceiling fan, lots of screened windows, TV, and a 3 piece bathroom with shower. We did have a problem with hot water one day but it was fixed very quickly after we reported it. Some days the water was lukewarm and other days very hot. Soap is supplied, but you wil need to bring your own shampoo, lotion, etc.

Our room was cleaned daily and we had fresh towels (and washcloths which was a nice touch) daily. Sometimes the towels came later in the day, but they were always replaced.

There are 3 dogs on the property who will quickly learn who you are. They bark when any strange dogs or people they don't know come on the property, but they never barked at us after our initial arrival. They are very friendly and do their job well !

Midas is a 5 minute walk from the market (open every day with a more extensive market & food vendors on Saturdays) and a 10 minute walk to town to the restaurants and stores.

Midas serves breakfast only and has some basic choices for reasonable prices. We ate here only once because there were so many choices in town that we wanted to try.

Hode's restaurant is right next door to Midas if you don't feel like walking into town. Some of our favourites in town are Glo's (only open a few weeks, across from the Mayor's office by the police station), Sanny's Grill (call a taxi because it is hard to find), Hannah's and Mincho's (little hole in the wall 2 doors down from Hannah's) for their fresh fruit juices and cheap lunches ($1 or $2 will fill you up). We also ate at Erva's, Martha's, Running W Steakhouse (at San Ignacio Hotel), Rolson's Cocina, , Marvili's, Cafe La Fonda (across from Cayo Twist) Mom's, Pop's (all day breakfast), and we went for dessert at Sweet Ting and Cayo Twist for soy ice cream. Another good spot for dessert was across the bridge in Santa Elena on the right hand side after the first supermarket (no name on the restaurant/bakery).

Midas Resort offers a night walk around the property with Thomas who is a true nature lover and very enthusiastic about his job. Although it started to rain at the beginning of our walk, he continued to try to find interesting things to show us - sleeping birds, chameleons / lizards, frogs, tree frogs,tarantulas (if you want to see them), termites, etc.

The river was very murky when we were there (the dam has opened or leaked) and we had quite a bit of rain during our stay, so swimming in the river and access to the river were not good. We would not suggest this hotel if you are looking for beach or swimming.

To sum it up, Midas Resort provides affordable, clean lodging that is quaint and comfortable. The staff very quickly know how to make you feel at home. If you are a budget traveller with reasonable expectations, then we would recommend Midas Resort for you.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeeBSarnia_ON_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
3.5 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
819 reviews
3.4 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
634 reviews
0.4 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#10 of 14 in San Ignacio
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#6 of 14 in San Ignacio
999 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Cahal Pech Village Resort
#8 of 14 in San Ignacio
594 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midas Belize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midas Belize

Address: Branch Mouth Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range: £30 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Midas Belize 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midas is the only 7 acre resort down town that can offer a tranquility of nature at its best, birds tweeting their musical charm squirrels jumping from tree to tree, river flowing by the resort, iguanas resting on the limbs of the trees, and freshness of the condensing air rising as morning breaks daylight, and yet only a 7 minute walk into the town center where you can meet the unique people of Central America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Midas Belize reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midas Hotel San Ignacio
Midas Tropical Hotel
Midas Tropical San Ignacio
Midas Belize San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing