We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendliest place to relax”
Review of Midas Belize

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Midas Belize
Ranked #8 of 34 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2010

Midas Lodge is a friendly, homey, close to town site.
The owners do their best to make you feel like family.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonja48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (662)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

517 - 523 of 662 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2010

original cabins are nice middle and back a little nicer, and the king deluxe is a 4 plex with very nice kings and interiors. The location is off downtown, close to teh market but far away fron the noise of the city. Can walk down to river. they have good local guide connections thought you will pay. Say Tikal and ATM, very professional and easy, nit mentioned is the 7-10 patio iwth breakfast available, and Belkin all those hours, though if you plan on lotsm, ask em to put it on ice. Wifi was great, only at the office and patio area.

Only complaint was the king deluxe had to ceiling from the bathroom to the bedroom, use your imagination.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laccudda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

Midas Resort is a great little complex. It consists of about 6--7 bungalos, most of which can then be divided into two rooms. Me, my girlfriend, and 3 other friends spent 4 nights in rooms 3 and 4 (One 2-room bungalo) in early February 2010. One room had a king and twin sized bed, the other had 2 fulls and a twin, so sleeping 8 is possible. Each room had a bathroom, and they were very clean.

Housekeeping came each day and didnt disturb any of our belongings (actually stacked our guide books).

There is a little common area with wifi, a kitchen for breakfast or drinks, and a good place to meet.

It is located about 10 minutes on foot to the main downtown of San Ignacio, whcih is perfect because the downtown can get a little noisy.

In terms of value, Midas resort is top notch. You get a gorgeous setting and comforatble rooms, We paid $500 or so for 4 nights, and we felt completely satisfied.

The rooms are relatively small, especially with a group, but if not spending much time in the rooms, this shouldnt be a problem.

Rooms had AC and were very nice to sleep in. Bugs didnt really get in either so there were no problems. Beds arent superior but nice.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mightykingmalard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2010

We absolutely loved our time in San Ignacio. This was due in part to the wonderful staff at Midas! Marie, Michael and Matthew (the owners) make you feel right at home and bend over to make sure your stay is memorable for all the right reasons. Dorita, at the front desk and the one who answers the internet inquiries was so helpful and when you meet her be prepared for her sense of humor!
They provide internet access in the great room, so I didn't have to go looking for an internet cafe. We rented the La Casita Verde and it came fully stocked with all the equipment we needed as we wanted to try cooking with local ingredients from the market. (As it is our hope to move back to Belize) The Resort is located only a short walk from the market and the main part of town. It was close enough for convenience, yet far enough from the hussle and bussle of the downtown.
Sleeping was our only difficulty, only because of the roosters a couple of doors down and a few barking dogs! I guess when you are used to silence of a Canadian winter ...
But it still is likely one of the quietest in town since everyone has dogs and roosters!
I highly reccommend Midas-economical, location and staff make it worthwhile.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCBenedik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2010

We spent 6 nights at Midas Resort... and wished we'd come earlier! We were upgraded for free to their deluxe king suite... very plush and not what we (as budget travelers) are used to. The grounds are beautiful with lots of plants and animals to see. The resort is perfectly located - a quick walk to San Ignacio, but outside of the hectic city atmosphere, very close to the Saturday market, and a short walk to the river. The staff was friendly and helpful, and it is such a deep silence at night - amazing for sleeping. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhimsicalNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2010

Stayed for three days and nights. Michael the GM is great, he had us eating termites one night. Provided us Kayaks for paddling on the river one afternoon. Loved sitting on our little front porch each evening. A walk into downtown San Ignacio takes about 5 minutes.

The place looks just like the pictures, would recommend you stay here if your in San Ignacio , Belize.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skippy29201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

We stayed at the Midas Resort for 4 nights and loved every minute of it! The staff is phenomenal, everyone who works there is more than willing to do anything in their power to ensure that you have a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onlyinalaska_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
3.5 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#3 of 14 in San Ignacio
850 reviews
4 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
1,243 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Cahal Pech Village Resort
#8 of 14 in San Ignacio
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#6 of 14 in San Ignacio
1,033 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
262 reviews
4.8 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midas Belize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midas Belize

Address: Branch Mouth Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range: £33 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Midas Belize 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 minute walk from the Farmers Market in San Ignacio. Midas has a large swimming pool 50x40ft with hidden entrance into a grotto pool is open from 11am to 11pm 7 days a week. Breakfast served from 7am to 10am Choice of rooms Cottage for couples, Cabana for couples or friends King Deluxe for the romantics Deluxe set up as a hotel complex Junior Suite for that additional space Family Cottage 4 to 8 persons Casita Verde 2 bedroom house Casa de Cahal Pech 3 bedroom luxury house Spare Room who don't mind sharing a bathroom. All our rooms have Air Conditioning, Fridgerator, Safe, Cable TV, Fans and Keyless Entry 7 acre property with Macal River at end of property attracts lots of wildlife Iguanas Otters, Gibnats, wildcats, Birds Toucans, Quetzal, Hummingbird and so much more. Bicycle, ATV and Golf Cart Rentals on site Tours are also offered the famous ATM Actun Tunchil Muknal, Mountain Pine Ridge, Cave Tubing, Horseback Riding and also our Neighbour Mayan Temple Tikal ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Midas Belize reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midas Hotel San Ignacio
Midas Tropical Hotel
Midas Tropical San Ignacio
Midas Belize San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing