We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice overall place to stay, with a few maintenance issue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in San Ignacio
New York, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice overall place to stay, with a few maintenance issue”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

This is a pretty good option in this area, outdoor dining area and bar are near the very nice pool, all with a nice sweeping view across the valley to the mountains. Several in our party had some room maintenance issues that staff did their best to promptly fix.

Room Tip: Cottage rooms away from the property fence, up the hill a little are quitter and have a slightly bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    212
    102
    54
    15
See reviews for
135
249
24
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver CO
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I am giving Cahal Pech five stars because if I were to return to San Ignacio I simply wouldn't do any research looking for anything else. The setting is stunning, the public areas delightful and the food excellent and very reasonably priced. Everyone we encountered on the staff - wait staff and front desk - was attentive, helpful and friendly. The resort is a 10-minute walk from the Cahal Pech Maya ruin site. We stayed six nights in one of the cabañas and it was quite comfortable. Actually came with a resident gecko in the ceiling thatch. The visitor needs to remember that San Ignacio is not New York City or San Francisco. There were details in our room that, while they hurt nothing, would have been graded down in other places. A chipped tile here. A screen door that didn't latch properly. (Although that was fixed promptly on request.) Spare furnishings. But they get my five stars!

Room Tip: Cahal Pech is gradually renovating rooms and cabanas. You might ask for one of the newer facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeneDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro, Belize
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I spent one night at Cahal Pech and had a great time. In fact, for the price, I don't think you can beat it. The restaurant is well priced and delicious. Try the chaya eggs in the morning with the super thick homemade corn tortillas. And say hi to the waiter Dodi for me. He was excellent.

From my room on the third floor, the views of the valley and of San Ignacio are SUPERB. Unbeatable. The very pretty Mayan site of Cahal Pech is right next door...you can throw a rock at the office from your balcony. They are a must visit.

Great central spot for exploring all the cool stuff in Cayo. I'd most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The cabanas are nice but for the VIEW, choose the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Apple123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

cant say enough good things about this place. lovely little bar, two pools and a restaurant that served up some very inventive and tasty meals. They booked us a trip into Guatemala to see Tikal and it all went off without a hitch. I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: ask for a room that overlooks town
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 530kelly530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Cajon, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We were there for four nights during the recent heavy rains. We stayed in two deluxe cabanas. The rooms were fine, despite a fair amount of climbing to access them. The hotel staff and restaurant staff was great and the food was much better than I expected. Unfortunately the heavy rains required that some of our tours be cancelled but the staff found us some great alternatives and adjusted the package price appropriately. Although they don't list it on their website, we really enjoyed the visit and lunch at the Mayan village of San Antonio.

I agree that the towels are inferior but none of the other criticisms I read in earlier reviews seem accurate. I would certainly not hesitate to stay there again during a less rainy time. My wife
(who is pretty particular) and my son and daughter-in-law ( who have traveled extensively) were all quite pleased.

Room Tip: If you have knee or other problems making walking/climbing difficult make sure you inform them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sralph48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We came to Belize for our honeymoon and spent half inland and half on the islands. Lenny from Cahal Pech worked with us months before our trip on booking tours, meals and everything we wanted to do in a package, complete with transportation and everything we would need. We were very excited to go!

We booked 4 nights at Cahal Pech in order to spend some time inland for jungle adventures. At first, as we were driving through the town and up the hill, I was worried that it would not be as we thought. However, once we got checked in, we saw that it was GORGEOUS. The views from the pool/restaurant/bar is amazing. The tropical plants and jungle atmosphere was just what we were looking for. We were in the "honeymoon cabana" which had a screened in front porch and a beautiful view. The room was great and they had champagne waiting for us. However, the towels and other small amenities in the room were sub par and needed some updating. We read about the towels on here and brought our own. We were very glad we did! The room wasnt super fancy but it was comfortable and had the type of vibe we were hoping for. It was great to open to shutters when there was a breeze and light rain. Very relaxing and romantic!

Due to the heavy rain right before our trip, some activities on our package were closed due to flooding. We were very disappointed but Lenny and other staff continuously worked with us on finding replacement activities. They were so flexible and easy to work with and the tours that we were booked on were wonderful. Everyone was so friendly! The food was amazing as well and well priced.

However, the town of San Ignacio was not a place you really want to spend time in so if you come to Cahal Pech, definitely plan on scheduling some tours and spending time relaxing at the resort. Walking around the town is not very pleasant and there is not much to see.

Room Tip: Book a thatched roof cabana. That is the place to be for the experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah_schwager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

After 3 days of heavy rain I checked out of what could be a 5 star hotel. When you make the long drive up the hill to the resort the initial impression is uh oh what did i book. All gravel and not very pleasing to the eye. However once you enter the Cahal Pech resort it does open up to a nice environment with an open concept area with restaurant, bar, and a 3 tiered pool overlooking one of the best views of the town on top of the hill. On the hillside are several cabanas they rent as well. The staff is very good and welcoming I enjoyed talking with them. It's very strange however the rooms were a big disappointment. It's as if ownership decided to cut costs on the basics in the rooms themselves. The towels were rough like sand paper' the TV s are from the 1980s with only local cable no satellite, and the kicker get ready for this...no shampoo at all is made available. Talk about cheaping out. I asked the front desk for some and they said they don't provide it. Most of the local sites were closed due to heavy rain so i spent more time in the room than I would have liked. There was an envelope in the room for tips to the maid service a little forward i thought perhaps that's all they get. There is a nice gift shop but it was closed the whole time, not even open for an hour. I would drop in for lunch to enjoy the view but would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Book on third floor, great view of town and mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northernlight55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
2.4 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
806 reviews
2.4 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
624 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 13 in San Ignacio
964 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#6 of 13 in San Ignacio
253 reviews
1.2 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#9 of 33 in San Ignacio
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cahal Pech Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cahal Pech Village Resort

Property: Cahal Pech Village Resort
Address: Cahal Pech Hill | P.O. Box 1, San Ignacio 00000, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#4 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cahal Pech Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cahal Pech Village Resort is located in the heart of the Mayan world, San Ignacio, Cayo District, Belize. We offer professionally guided tours of local and other Mayan ruins in English and Spanish, as well as access to Mayan Healing, Culture and Art. We also offer Eco-tours, Jungle Adventure, Horseback Riding, Reef Diving and more. Relax at our Pool, or see Belize’s Beaches and Caves, Waterfalls, Sink Holes and Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Cahal Pech Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cahal Pech Village Hotel San Ignacio
Hotel Cahal Pech Village
Cahal Pech Village Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing