We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There has to be better in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in San Ignacio
Houston
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“There has to be better in the area”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We were traveling with a small group- Natural Habitat. This was our first two nights in Belize on the formal trip. We were going to ATM cave and Cave Tubing so this was a close location to those adventures. Everyone seemed friendly. All rooms are not created equal except that they all need repair and to be cleaned better. A property doesn't have to be luxury to be clean. Towels were like rags. Sheets were old and dirty. Chairs outside on porch were rusty and mix matched. The ac unit worked but it's right next to your head. No one helped deliver bags up steep hill and steps. The restaurant was outside and had a nice view of the city lights. We ate as a group and the food was cold both nights. Service was ok at best. This is not a "resort". It's in the middle of a city on a hill. You overlook businesses. It's not charming. It did have a nice pool. It a quick walk to a archaeological site that is also nice to visit. I would not recommend this establishment. There has to be better in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuxuryLisaHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    215
    102
    54
    15
See reviews for
136
250
24
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merritt Island, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We were traveling with a group, so this location was picked and booked for us. The staff seemed friendly, if a bit overwhelmed with the amount of guests (end of December). We stayed in one of the cabanas. The room itself was standard, with a working a/c unit. The towels (we were given 2 towels and a washcloth) were threadbare. Cahal Pech promotes as a Eco Lodge, but it doesn't account for the lack of upkeep. We twice had dinner as a group. The meals might have been good, but you couldn't tell as they were cold. I don't know what the other options are in the area, but I can not recommend this property.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DINKSrUS_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

This is a pretty good option in this area, outdoor dining area and bar are near the very nice pool, all with a nice sweeping view across the valley to the mountains. Several in our party had some room maintenance issues that staff did their best to promptly fix.

Room Tip: Cottage rooms away from the property fence, up the hill a little are quitter and have a slightly bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver CO
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I am giving Cahal Pech five stars because if I were to return to San Ignacio I simply wouldn't do any research looking for anything else. The setting is stunning, the public areas delightful and the food excellent and very reasonably priced. Everyone we encountered on the staff - wait staff and front desk - was attentive, helpful and friendly. The resort is a 10-minute walk from the Cahal Pech Maya ruin site. We stayed six nights in one of the cabañas and it was quite comfortable. Actually came with a resident gecko in the ceiling thatch. The visitor needs to remember that San Ignacio is not New York City or San Francisco. There were details in our room that, while they hurt nothing, would have been graded down in other places. A chipped tile here. A screen door that didn't latch properly. (Although that was fixed promptly on request.) Spare furnishings. But they get my five stars!

Room Tip: Cahal Pech is gradually renovating rooms and cabanas. You might ask for one of the newer facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeneDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro, Belize
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I spent one night at Cahal Pech and had a great time. In fact, for the price, I don't think you can beat it. The restaurant is well priced and delicious. Try the chaya eggs in the morning with the super thick homemade corn tortillas. And say hi to the waiter Dodi for me. He was excellent.

From my room on the third floor, the views of the valley and of San Ignacio are SUPERB. Unbeatable. The very pretty Mayan site of Cahal Pech is right next door...you can throw a rock at the office from your balcony. They are a must visit.

Great central spot for exploring all the cool stuff in Cayo. I'd most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The cabanas are nice but for the VIEW, choose the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Apple123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

cant say enough good things about this place. lovely little bar, two pools and a restaurant that served up some very inventive and tasty meals. They booked us a trip into Guatemala to see Tikal and it all went off without a hitch. I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: ask for a room that overlooks town
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 530kelly530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Cajon, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We were there for four nights during the recent heavy rains. We stayed in two deluxe cabanas. The rooms were fine, despite a fair amount of climbing to access them. The hotel staff and restaurant staff was great and the food was much better than I expected. Unfortunately the heavy rains required that some of our tours be cancelled but the staff found us some great alternatives and adjusted the package price appropriately. Although they don't list it on their website, we really enjoyed the visit and lunch at the Mayan village of San Antonio.

I agree that the towels are inferior but none of the other criticisms I read in earlier reviews seem accurate. I would certainly not hesitate to stay there again during a less rainy time. My wife
(who is pretty particular) and my son and daughter-in-law ( who have traveled extensively) were all quite pleased.

Room Tip: If you have knee or other problems making walking/climbing difficult make sure you inform them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sralph48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
2.4 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
811 reviews
2.4 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
628 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 13 in San Ignacio
983 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#6 of 13 in San Ignacio
256 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cahal Pech Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cahal Pech Village Resort

Property: Cahal Pech Village Resort
Address: Cahal Pech Hill | P.O. Box 1, San Ignacio 00000, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#4 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cahal Pech Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cahal Pech Village Resort is located in the heart of the Mayan world, San Ignacio, Cayo District, Belize. We offer professionally guided tours of local and other Mayan ruins in English and Spanish, as well as access to Mayan Healing, Culture and Art. We also offer Eco-tours, Jungle Adventure, Horseback Riding, Reef Diving and more. Relax at our Pool, or see Belize’s Beaches and Caves, Waterfalls, Sink Holes and Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Cahal Pech Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cahal Pech Village Hotel San Ignacio
Hotel Cahal Pech Village
Cahal Pech Village Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing