We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabanas were mildly disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in San Ignacio
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Cabanas were mildly disappointing”
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Great staff, interesting location, excellent 'can do' attitude and good bars and restaurant are positives. We did however stay in the cabanas and while worthwhile for the experience I can safely say I'm glad we only stayed two nights. In searching for descriptive words to describe our cabana we came up with rustic, elderly, slightly shabby and disappointing. I'm sure that at some time in the past these would've been very nice but two nights of discomfort were enough. We didn't see the hotel rooms but imagine they're the better option. If you ignore the accommodation, every other aspect of this hotel, especially the staff, is above average.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank dooragan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    212
    102
    54
    15
See reviews for
135
249
24
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ketchikan, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We (all 4 of us) really enjoyed our stay at Cahal Pech (CP). We were so pleased that we had chosen CP over the other places we had considered in the San Ignacio area. All of the folks we met at CP and especially our guides and drivers were very nice and helpful, and knowledgeable about the tours they were leading. Your facilities were very nice we enjoyed our time in the pool and in the open air dining area, just what one would hope for when on a tropical vacation.

Also we especially appreciated your flexibility in adjusting our tours so we could attend the local market on Saturday morning. Also we appreciated the changes they made to adjust for the unfortunate travel delays that our companions encountered. All in all it was a great visit and we all enjoyed our stay. I will have to say that our visit to Tikal was a highlight for our trip and Elmer was a very good guide and fun to be with. It was obvious to us that he respects and cherishes his heritage and enjoys guiding folks through the ruins.

Room Tip: We stayed in and enjoyed the double Cabana with porch and a great view of San Ignacio and surroundin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san ignacio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2014

a friend of mine and myself went to have dinner there last week..the food was good and so were the drinks but there was only one waitress and about 10 tables filled with guests..most of them were couples but there were some with families..we had to go to the bar to order our drinks and also order our appetizer with the bartender..when asked for a menu they gave us a lunch menu although it was 6pm..the whole point of this review is basically to state that this is the peak season and if you are booked and have a restaurant thats open to the public outside as well at least be staffed enough to meet the needs of all the guests..

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank awake_189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

First things first, don't expect much from your room. This is a great base camp for seeing San Ignacio and going on cave and maya ruin tours. The staff is great (Oscar the bartender makes amazing drinks and has been there for years), the place is clean, the pool is pretty, and the view is stunning. The rooms are ok but the entire resort really needs updating. I think our AC was older than I am, the hot tub wasn't hot once during our week stay, and the fountain out front was empty and filled with mold. That said, it's a good stay for the price. Warm showers, laundry service, comfortable beds, and decent food. They did drop the ball on picking us up from the airport. We ended up taking a cab after waiting an hour. I would suggest finding your own tours and transportation and don't rely on the resort. Especially since weather can change tour availability.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms offer the best view. Don't spend more than you need to since this is more of a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kayo617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The website is very misleading. They picked us up at the airport, but there is another person arriving in a few hours, to be nice, we decided to wait. We asked he driver to take us around Belize city and we would pay him extra. He said there's not enough gas in the van and all gas stations are closed due to the holiday (1/1/14). That was a lie! We saw plenty gas stations opened with cars filling up. After a grueling 2 hrs trip on a barely paved road, we arrived in Cayo. We looked at each other in horror because of the slum appearance of the town. I have traveled to Belize twice before, but stayed at resort town like Placencia and Ambergris, so we did not expect a place that called themselves a resort to be in a slum. It's night time at this point so we hoped for the best. They escorted us to our cabana, which is ~150sqft at max. It was dirty, run down, TV that doesn't work. We immediately noticed the huge stains in the bed spread of both beds. I took the bedspread off to inspect further, and the sheets has dried spots of blood stain!!! Its late, and we were pretty much told there's no van out at this hour or would it be safe to drive in the dark unpaved road. We also thought its cute that the night stand is an actual chair! We slept on top of the towels that we brought from home that night. In the morning, we managed to book a hotel in Ambergris island trying to salvage the vacation at this point. We already paid for 1/2 of the cost of the stay at Cahal Pech, I really don't want to pay the rest due to false advertisement. This place is a nasty Motel 6 at best. They told us the vans are out picking up clients, none available until 6 pm, but they can call a taxi for $200, but it will be an hour. It doesn't look very positive at this point and we just want to leave, so I decided to pay the rest of the amount. As soon as she swiped my credit card, the van arrived within 5 min to pick us up (free of charge since transfer is part of the package). I asked the driver (different guy than the one that picked us up) how did he get here so fast, I was told there's no resort van available. He said he lives around the corner and there's no shortage of driver around Cayo. Oh boy, feeling even more ripped off at this point, but on the bright side, we escaped unharmed.

The rest of our trip in Ambergris Island is wonderful and relaxing. We kissed the sandy beach upon arrival and just so thankful to be in a safe and beautiful environment. I highly recommended The Palms resort, excellent customer service, clean, and delivered the resort promise.

Please stay away from Cahal Pech Village Resort.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hanh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Staying here for three nights enabled us to catch up on rest during our two-week tour of Belize.
Our room, IXPUHIL/604, was vast with huge, comfortable beds and there were balconies on two sides. The fun comes in trying to work the lighting as there is only one light for the whole room and the switch is hidden around a corner.
The hotel made a good base for exploring the area and the walk up from the town works up an appetite.
Do take the time to visit the Mayan site next door as it is both quiet and intimate.

Room Tip: Anything with a 6-- will be in the new wing which has vast rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FriskyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
976 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I would have to agree with one of the previous reviews that it really was a nice hotel at one time, but they have not kept up on maintenance. Like everyone has said, the view is great, they have a nice pool and a bar and restaurant area that is also fun to go to. The problem is that for what they charge, they have not kept up on maintenance. We rented several rooms and so we were aware of the fact that how well your TV worked and what channels your TV got depends on what room you have. We wanted to watch a football game and had to keep switching rooms to find a TV that got the right channel. In the morning when we got up there was no running water in any of our rooms. When we reported it we were surprised to find out that an hour and a half latter the head of maintenance still had come to fix it but instead kept trying to talk another employee how to fix it. When he did finally show up he had it fixed in just a few minutes, but by then it was too late for us as we had to leave for a tour and so we had to go without showers. If he had come when it was first reported it would have been a non-issue. They only have internet in one small corner of the hotel and do not have it in the rooms. With todays technology there is no reason for a hotel that charges over $100 US a night for a room to not have internet access. I have to believe that the 4 and 5 star reviews of the hotel are based on the view and location, not based upon the hotel itself.

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to the bar and you might get internet access in your room. However, if there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cubfaninco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
2.4 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
806 reviews
2.4 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
624 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 13 in San Ignacio
964 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#6 of 13 in San Ignacio
253 reviews
1.2 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#9 of 33 in San Ignacio
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cahal Pech Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cahal Pech Village Resort

Property: Cahal Pech Village Resort
Address: Cahal Pech Hill | P.O. Box 1, San Ignacio 00000, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#4 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cahal Pech Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cahal Pech Village Resort is located in the heart of the Mayan world, San Ignacio, Cayo District, Belize. We offer professionally guided tours of local and other Mayan ruins in English and Spanish, as well as access to Mayan Healing, Culture and Art. We also offer Eco-tours, Jungle Adventure, Horseback Riding, Reef Diving and more. Relax at our Pool, or see Belize’s Beaches and Caves, Waterfalls, Sink Holes and Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Cahal Pech Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cahal Pech Village Hotel San Ignacio
Hotel Cahal Pech Village
Cahal Pech Village Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing